tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2014 : THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT - Holdrejtek

THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT

Holdrejtek

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[85/100]   

Auerbach Tonträger
16/09/2014, Ron SCHOONWATER

The Hungarian duo consisting of singer/ multi instrumentalist Ágnes Tóth and lyricist/ multi instrumentalist Mihály Sabó, brought to life in 2003, is back with their fifth studio album; Holdrejtek.

THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT is known from their melancholic, but also danceable (medieval) folk. Their strength is that they can mix both wonderfully in one song and keep it balanced throughout a whole album. Centrepiece in the music is (mostly) the lovely voice of Ágnes and her violin, but she can only shine as long as Mihály is playing his acoustic guitar and sometimes whispers in the background (like in Álomszovo or Mikrokozmosz pt. 1). If you compare Holdrejtek with their earlier albums the progression is in the details.

The songs sound more compact, the atmosphere sparkle a bit more and the production is great. In fact, it’s good that THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT hasn’t changed much. For them it’s better not to change a winning team. No concessions, but doing what you are good at. Holdrejtek is again a great THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT album.

http://themoonandthenightspirit.com/

Ron SCHOONWATER
16/09/2014


 

Next reviews
RICHARD LINKLATER • Bernie
ELLIOT GOLDNER • FILM: The Borderlands
DEN ARKAISKA RĂ–STEN • ◯▲
ZODIAC • Sonic Child
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom
MICHAEL APTED • The World Is Not Enough
MERCHANDISE • After The End
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES • Sorority Party Massacre

 

Other reviews from THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Mohalepte

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & CĂ©sair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • IvankovĂ  EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
​

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel