tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

12/08/2015 : THE NATIONAL - Trouble Will Find Me

THE NATIONAL

Trouble Will Find Me

MusicAlbum Classics
Indie

[80/100]   

4-AD
12/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Sensitive, sullen and superb - three words that perfectly describe the sixth album from Matt Beringer's atmospheric favourites, unlike the endless stream of superlatives already being bandied about in the music blogs and press. While lengthy accolades are rightful, perhaps the fuss about how 'deep' and 'literary' the band's isn't - after all, The National make fairly straight-forward indie-rock that's been churned out of the States for many decades. Don't they? No.

What sets them apart is simple - Beringer's sultry baritone, the band's musical catharsis and each album's overall emotive subsistence, enough to fill the hearts and minds of an ever-growing audience via radio, online and concert rotation. Not bad for a band that, just a few years ago prior to releasing the crossover album High Violet, had seemingly hit the ground in a creative coma - in short, nobody was prepared to buy into the band's gloom and doom. Now they are.

Trouble Will Find Me is a title that already points the listener towards a box of man-size and a bottomless bourbon bottle, finishing off he/she completely by the time side 1 of this sprawling double comes to an end. The familiar Demons broods, I Should Live in Salt wrestles with a conscious and the tense Fireproof melts hearts all in the space of 15 arduous minutes. Never mind the following three sides of gut-twisting melancholia waiting around the proverbial corner, The National's deft might is as subtle as it is prominent. 

For sheer trauma, head to sides 3 & 4. Between them, they dish out doleful treasures such as Pink Rabbits ("I couldn't find quiet, I went out in the rain/I was just soaking my head to un-rattle my brain"), Slipped ("I'm having trouble inside my skin/I'm having trouble keeping my skeletons in") and I Need My Girl ("There're some things that I should never laugh about in front of family"). The albums closer, Hard to Find, is perhaps the most lyrically simplistic example here - musically, it's funereal and dismissive and rather wonderful.

Beringer clearly has issues and, to coin the album's second song, demons to exorcise - thank the Lord he chose us to practice on.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
12/08/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)