tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

12/08/2015 : THE NATIONAL - Trouble Will Find Me

THE NATIONAL

Trouble Will Find Me

MusicAlbum Classics
Indie

[80/100]   

4-AD
12/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Sensitive, sullen and superb - three words that perfectly describe the sixth album from Matt Beringer's atmospheric favourites, unlike the endless stream of superlatives already being bandied about in the music blogs and press. While lengthy accolades are rightful, perhaps the fuss about how 'deep' and 'literary' the band's isn't - after all, The National make fairly straight-forward indie-rock that's been churned out of the States for many decades. Don't they? No.

What sets them apart is simple - Beringer's sultry baritone, the band's musical catharsis and each album's overall emotive subsistence, enough to fill the hearts and minds of an ever-growing audience via radio, online and concert rotation. Not bad for a band that, just a few years ago prior to releasing the crossover album High Violet, had seemingly hit the ground in a creative coma - in short, nobody was prepared to buy into the band's gloom and doom. Now they are.

Trouble Will Find Me is a title that already points the listener towards a box of man-size and a bottomless bourbon bottle, finishing off he/she completely by the time side 1 of this sprawling double comes to an end. The familiar Demons broods, I Should Live in Salt wrestles with a conscious and the tense Fireproof melts hearts all in the space of 15 arduous minutes. Never mind the following three sides of gut-twisting melancholia waiting around the proverbial corner, The National's deft might is as subtle as it is prominent. 

For sheer trauma, head to sides 3 & 4. Between them, they dish out doleful treasures such as Pink Rabbits ("I couldn't find quiet, I went out in the rain/I was just soaking my head to un-rattle my brain"), Slipped ("I'm having trouble inside my skin/I'm having trouble keeping my skeletons in") and I Need My Girl ("There're some things that I should never laugh about in front of family"). The albums closer, Hard to Find, is perhaps the most lyrically simplistic example here - musically, it's funereal and dismissive and rather wonderful.

Beringer clearly has issues and, to coin the album's second song, demons to exorcise - thank the Lord he chose us to practice on.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
12/08/2015


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love