tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2012 : THE NIGHTCHILD - The world unseen, the world unknown

THE NIGHTCHILD

The world unseen, the world unknown

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic Rock

[81/100]   

afmusic
11/12/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Finally a new album from these Ukrainian goths! The sound is still typical vampire gothic rock with the real Dracula voice behind the micro. It's clear that only somebody from Ukraine can sound like a real vampire and this music is just so fitting. I don't think anybody else could make this record and still come in public: it's all so real and true! The sound has improved a lot since they recorded their first song, which is very good: they confirm what I was expecting and that is always great (as even the biggest stars can have an epic fail).

It's nice to start with a musical intro that reminds directly of old Dracula movies and have 'Dreams' aka 'close your eyes and sleep' as second song: who would dare to go to sleep after this song?

'Dreammaster' is already one of these songs one can call typical The Nightchild: a cold Dracula voice with this typical Ukrainian twist and than Siouxsie and the Banshees as second voice (I love it: give us more songs like this, plz plz plz!). Great guitars and harmonica! Aha 'Dead Bride', I can see this song being performed on stage and I hope they can reproduce the same spooky sound and nice bass.

This one can count as a title for a song 'The Mischievous cat from Mars'. Could it be pointing out to mister David Bowie with 'The rise and fall of Ziggy Stardust and the spiders from Mars'? Seems very logically been followed by 'Theatre death'.'

The child of madness' gets full speed drive and sounds as if the four horse are coming to town to call out the end of the world: a raving and very powerful guitar going ahead of them. As I don't want to get all the story out I just leave the rest and tell you that there is also a song in German (sounds really great) and there is even a Russian version of 'The Mischievous cat from Mars'.

Can somebody plan a European tour for them? I want to see them on stage, somewhere close to my place?

https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Nightchild/111454725586441

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/12/2012


 

Next reviews
I-M-R • Letters from the Paper Garden
GOLDEN APES • Riot
ACCOLADE • FestivalliaS
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Animal Magic
THE BEAUTIFIL DISEASE • It's weeping time in Ghostly gardens
• The Lost Coast Tapes
SIMON BALESTRAZZI • The Sky Is Full Of Kites
CHRIS WATSON • El Tren Fantasma
LUYAS (CANADA), EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS (ESTONIA) AND I GOT YOU ON TAPE (DANMARK) • live at Club Trix, Antwerp, 8/12/2012
ADAM ANT • Review of the concert at Zappa in Antwerp on 7 December 2012

 

Other reviews from THE NIGHTCHILD
THE NIGHTCHILD • Some Stories And Thoughts

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • If Wormwood Falls

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes