tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2012 : THE NIGHTCHILD - The world unseen, the world unknown

THE NIGHTCHILD

The world unseen, the world unknown

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic Rock

[81/100]   

afmusic
11/12/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Finally a new album from these Ukrainian goths! The sound is still typical vampire gothic rock with the real Dracula voice behind the micro. It's clear that only somebody from Ukraine can sound like a real vampire and this music is just so fitting. I don't think anybody else could make this record and still come in public: it's all so real and true! The sound has improved a lot since they recorded their first song, which is very good: they confirm what I was expecting and that is always great (as even the biggest stars can have an epic fail).

It's nice to start with a musical intro that reminds directly of old Dracula movies and have 'Dreams' aka 'close your eyes and sleep' as second song: who would dare to go to sleep after this song?

'Dreammaster' is already one of these songs one can call typical The Nightchild: a cold Dracula voice with this typical Ukrainian twist and than Siouxsie and the Banshees as second voice (I love it: give us more songs like this, plz plz plz!). Great guitars and harmonica! Aha 'Dead Bride', I can see this song being performed on stage and I hope they can reproduce the same spooky sound and nice bass.

This one can count as a title for a song 'The Mischievous cat from Mars'. Could it be pointing out to mister David Bowie with 'The rise and fall of Ziggy Stardust and the spiders from Mars'? Seems very logically been followed by 'Theatre death'.'

The child of madness' gets full speed drive and sounds as if the four horse are coming to town to call out the end of the world: a raving and very powerful guitar going ahead of them. As I don't want to get all the story out I just leave the rest and tell you that there is also a song in German (sounds really great) and there is even a Russian version of 'The Mischievous cat from Mars'.

Can somebody plan a European tour for them? I want to see them on stage, somewhere close to my place?

https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Nightchild/111454725586441

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/12/2012


 

Next reviews
I-M-R • Letters from the Paper Garden
GOLDEN APES • Riot
ACCOLADE • FestivalliaS
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Animal Magic
THE BEAUTIFIL DISEASE • It's weeping time in Ghostly gardens
• The Lost Coast Tapes
SIMON BALESTRAZZI • The Sky Is Full Of Kites
CHRIS WATSON • El Tren Fantasma
LUYAS (CANADA), EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS (ESTONIA) AND I GOT YOU ON TAPE (DANMARK) • live at Club Trix, Antwerp, 8/12/2012
ADAM ANT • Review of the concert at Zappa in Antwerp on 7 December 2012

 

Other reviews from THE NIGHTCHILD
THE NIGHTCHILD • Some Stories And Thoughts

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • If Wormwood Falls

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem