tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

15/11/2015 : THE OBSCURE - Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

THE OBSCURE

Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

Concert
15/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Saturday 14th November. It is not a day like any other. The Western world still trembles as the day before music fans literally were hit in their hearts. It couldn’t be more sad than this, but despite panicky statements, a lot of concert organizers and musicians declared that music is a way of life, and no one can take this away from you!

A day after the sad terror, both Simple Minds and The Cure were on stage in Belgium. Or no, we mean the obsCURE: a band consisting of drummer Richard Scheeper, the two guitarists Roel Vekeman and Wim Kempenaers, bassist Benj, keyboard player Steph Van Uytvanck and singer Dirk Vreys. Indeed, expectations were high, as a friend from the music industry told me that if you close your eyes, you hear The Cure. And yes, the band can shout it out that in ashort time it has become the tribute band to follow. They already played plenty of gigs in Belgium and the Netherlands, and the words of praise were justified in a packed Charlatan (venue in Ghent-ed.)

You can say lots of scornfully things about a tribute band, but think how difficult it must be to do what top musicians like The Cure do! Meanwhile, perhaps the real band got its peak, but never forget that the group from Crawley invented cold wave, played post-punk, composed cuddly pop with toy instruments or wrote epic progrock-like pieces. In short, you have to be a perfect musician to handle all these various styles, and The obsCURE can!

The band plays on safe and just performs the well-known songs, but the way songs like A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This or Primary are played, is just phenomenal. It adorns the obsCURE that they play the songs in their time spirit, so you won’t hear decrepit own versions or modern adaptations, but they’re like a time machine that takes you to the years in which Robert Smith meant something. The crowd was enthusiastic, sometimes it was immensely beautiful (Charlotte Sometimes), occasionally experimental (Close To Me), and then again magisterial (Pictures Of You).

As they’re Cure enthusiasts they won’t like these words, but it's a damn shame that these days the real Cure doesn’t sound as good as these superior clones! The hype is true: this is the best tribute band Cure fans can dream of!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


NL

Zaterdag 14 november. Het is geen dag zoals een andere. De wereld beeft nog eventjes na, de dag ervoor werden muziekfans letterlijk in het hart getroffen. Op de sociale media schonk iedereen uit solidariteit zijn profielfoto de Franse driekleur, maar (en dat is misschien wel het belangrijkste) concertorganisatoren en muzikanten hadden ondertussen luidkeels de middelvinger opgestoken: muziek is een levenswijze, en niemand die dat kan afpakken!

Een dag na de terreur stonden zowel Simple Minds en als The Cure op het podium. Of neen, The obsCURE! De verwachtingen waren torenhoog, want een vriendin uit in de muziekindustrie wist me te vertellen dat, indien je je ogen sluit, The Cure hoort. Dirk Vreys en zijn gevolg kunnen inderdaad met trots vertellen dat zij op korte tijd de te volgen tributeband zijn. Er zijn volop optredens in België en Nederland, en de lovende woorden werden volop waar gemaakt in een bomvolle Charlatan.

Je kan wel smalend doen over een tributeband, maar sta er ook eens bij stil hoe moeilijk het is om het perfect te doen! The Cure is misschien al jaren lang over zijn hoogtepunt heen, maar de groep uit Crawley blijft wel nog altijd de uitvinder van de coldwave, ze hebben postpunk gespeeld, pop met speelgoedinstrumenten of epische stukken die schatplichtig zijn aan de progrock. Kortom, je moet heel wat in je mars hebben om al deze diverse stijlen aan te kunnen en dat kan The obsCURE.

De band speelt wel op veilig en brengt alleen maar overbekende nummers, maar de manier waarop ze nummers als A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This of Primary brengen is fenomenaal. Het siert The obsCURE dat ze de nummers in hun tijdsgeest brengen, dus geen aftandse eigen versies, maar een teletijdmachine die je naar de diverse jaren voert waarin Robert Smith iets had te betekenen. Het publiek reageerde laaiend enthousiast op de vele hits, soms ontroerend mooi (Charlotte Sometimes), soms experimenteel speels (Close To Me) en dan weer magistraal.

Als Curefanaten zullen ze het niet graag horen, maar verdomd jammer dat de echte Cure niet zo goed klinkt als deze superieure klonen! De hype is waar: dit is de allerbeste tributeband van The Cure die je maar dromen kan!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation