tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

15/11/2015 : THE OBSCURE - Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

THE OBSCURE

Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

Concert
15/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Saturday 14th November. It is not a day like any other. The Western world still trembles as the day before music fans literally were hit in their hearts. It couldn’t be more sad than this, but despite panicky statements, a lot of concert organizers and musicians declared that music is a way of life, and no one can take this away from you!

A day after the sad terror, both Simple Minds and The Cure were on stage in Belgium. Or no, we mean the obsCURE: a band consisting of drummer Richard Scheeper, the two guitarists Roel Vekeman and Wim Kempenaers, bassist Benj, keyboard player Steph Van Uytvanck and singer Dirk Vreys. Indeed, expectations were high, as a friend from the music industry told me that if you close your eyes, you hear The Cure. And yes, the band can shout it out that in ashort time it has become the tribute band to follow. They already played plenty of gigs in Belgium and the Netherlands, and the words of praise were justified in a packed Charlatan (venue in Ghent-ed.)

You can say lots of scornfully things about a tribute band, but think how difficult it must be to do what top musicians like The Cure do! Meanwhile, perhaps the real band got its peak, but never forget that the group from Crawley invented cold wave, played post-punk, composed cuddly pop with toy instruments or wrote epic progrock-like pieces. In short, you have to be a perfect musician to handle all these various styles, and The obsCURE can!

The band plays on safe and just performs the well-known songs, but the way songs like A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This or Primary are played, is just phenomenal. It adorns the obsCURE that they play the songs in their time spirit, so you won’t hear decrepit own versions or modern adaptations, but they’re like a time machine that takes you to the years in which Robert Smith meant something. The crowd was enthusiastic, sometimes it was immensely beautiful (Charlotte Sometimes), occasionally experimental (Close To Me), and then again magisterial (Pictures Of You).

As they’re Cure enthusiasts they won’t like these words, but it's a damn shame that these days the real Cure doesn’t sound as good as these superior clones! The hype is true: this is the best tribute band Cure fans can dream of!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


NL

Zaterdag 14 november. Het is geen dag zoals een andere. De wereld beeft nog eventjes na, de dag ervoor werden muziekfans letterlijk in het hart getroffen. Op de sociale media schonk iedereen uit solidariteit zijn profielfoto de Franse driekleur, maar (en dat is misschien wel het belangrijkste) concertorganisatoren en muzikanten hadden ondertussen luidkeels de middelvinger opgestoken: muziek is een levenswijze, en niemand die dat kan afpakken!

Een dag na de terreur stonden zowel Simple Minds en als The Cure op het podium. Of neen, The obsCURE! De verwachtingen waren torenhoog, want een vriendin uit in de muziekindustrie wist me te vertellen dat, indien je je ogen sluit, The Cure hoort. Dirk Vreys en zijn gevolg kunnen inderdaad met trots vertellen dat zij op korte tijd de te volgen tributeband zijn. Er zijn volop optredens in België en Nederland, en de lovende woorden werden volop waar gemaakt in een bomvolle Charlatan.

Je kan wel smalend doen over een tributeband, maar sta er ook eens bij stil hoe moeilijk het is om het perfect te doen! The Cure is misschien al jaren lang over zijn hoogtepunt heen, maar de groep uit Crawley blijft wel nog altijd de uitvinder van de coldwave, ze hebben postpunk gespeeld, pop met speelgoedinstrumenten of epische stukken die schatplichtig zijn aan de progrock. Kortom, je moet heel wat in je mars hebben om al deze diverse stijlen aan te kunnen en dat kan The obsCURE.

De band speelt wel op veilig en brengt alleen maar overbekende nummers, maar de manier waarop ze nummers als A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This of Primary brengen is fenomenaal. Het siert The obsCURE dat ze de nummers in hun tijdsgeest brengen, dus geen aftandse eigen versies, maar een teletijdmachine die je naar de diverse jaren voert waarin Robert Smith iets had te betekenen. Het publiek reageerde laaiend enthousiast op de vele hits, soms ontroerend mooi (Charlotte Sometimes), soms experimenteel speels (Close To Me) en dan weer magistraal.

Als Curefanaten zullen ze het niet graag horen, maar verdomd jammer dat de echte Cure niet zo goed klinkt als deze superieure klonen! De hype is waar: dit is de allerbeste tributeband van The Cure die je maar dromen kan!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid