tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

15/11/2015 : THE OBSCURE - Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

THE OBSCURE

Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

Concert
15/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Saturday 14th November. It is not a day like any other. The Western world still trembles as the day before music fans literally were hit in their hearts. It couldn’t be more sad than this, but despite panicky statements, a lot of concert organizers and musicians declared that music is a way of life, and no one can take this away from you!

A day after the sad terror, both Simple Minds and The Cure were on stage in Belgium. Or no, we mean the obsCURE: a band consisting of drummer Richard Scheeper, the two guitarists Roel Vekeman and Wim Kempenaers, bassist Benj, keyboard player Steph Van Uytvanck and singer Dirk Vreys. Indeed, expectations were high, as a friend from the music industry told me that if you close your eyes, you hear The Cure. And yes, the band can shout it out that in ashort time it has become the tribute band to follow. They already played plenty of gigs in Belgium and the Netherlands, and the words of praise were justified in a packed Charlatan (venue in Ghent-ed.)

You can say lots of scornfully things about a tribute band, but think how difficult it must be to do what top musicians like The Cure do! Meanwhile, perhaps the real band got its peak, but never forget that the group from Crawley invented cold wave, played post-punk, composed cuddly pop with toy instruments or wrote epic progrock-like pieces. In short, you have to be a perfect musician to handle all these various styles, and The obsCURE can!

The band plays on safe and just performs the well-known songs, but the way songs like A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This or Primary are played, is just phenomenal. It adorns the obsCURE that they play the songs in their time spirit, so you won’t hear decrepit own versions or modern adaptations, but they’re like a time machine that takes you to the years in which Robert Smith meant something. The crowd was enthusiastic, sometimes it was immensely beautiful (Charlotte Sometimes), occasionally experimental (Close To Me), and then again magisterial (Pictures Of You).

As they’re Cure enthusiasts they won’t like these words, but it's a damn shame that these days the real Cure doesn’t sound as good as these superior clones! The hype is true: this is the best tribute band Cure fans can dream of!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


NL

Zaterdag 14 november. Het is geen dag zoals een andere. De wereld beeft nog eventjes na, de dag ervoor werden muziekfans letterlijk in het hart getroffen. Op de sociale media schonk iedereen uit solidariteit zijn profielfoto de Franse driekleur, maar (en dat is misschien wel het belangrijkste) concertorganisatoren en muzikanten hadden ondertussen luidkeels de middelvinger opgestoken: muziek is een levenswijze, en niemand die dat kan afpakken!

Een dag na de terreur stonden zowel Simple Minds en als The Cure op het podium. Of neen, The obsCURE! De verwachtingen waren torenhoog, want een vriendin uit in de muziekindustrie wist me te vertellen dat, indien je je ogen sluit, The Cure hoort. Dirk Vreys en zijn gevolg kunnen inderdaad met trots vertellen dat zij op korte tijd de te volgen tributeband zijn. Er zijn volop optredens in België en Nederland, en de lovende woorden werden volop waar gemaakt in een bomvolle Charlatan.

Je kan wel smalend doen over een tributeband, maar sta er ook eens bij stil hoe moeilijk het is om het perfect te doen! The Cure is misschien al jaren lang over zijn hoogtepunt heen, maar de groep uit Crawley blijft wel nog altijd de uitvinder van de coldwave, ze hebben postpunk gespeeld, pop met speelgoedinstrumenten of epische stukken die schatplichtig zijn aan de progrock. Kortom, je moet heel wat in je mars hebben om al deze diverse stijlen aan te kunnen en dat kan The obsCURE.

De band speelt wel op veilig en brengt alleen maar overbekende nummers, maar de manier waarop ze nummers als A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This of Primary brengen is fenomenaal. Het siert The obsCURE dat ze de nummers in hun tijdsgeest brengen, dus geen aftandse eigen versies, maar een teletijdmachine die je naar de diverse jaren voert waarin Robert Smith iets had te betekenen. Het publiek reageerde laaiend enthousiast op de vele hits, soms ontroerend mooi (Charlotte Sometimes), soms experimenteel speels (Close To Me) en dan weer magistraal.

Als Curefanaten zullen ze het niet graag horen, maar verdomd jammer dat de echte Cure niet zo goed klinkt als deze superieure klonen! De hype is waar: dit is de allerbeste tributeband van The Cure die je maar dromen kan!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet