tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

15/11/2015 : THE OBSCURE - Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

THE OBSCURE

Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

Concert
15/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Saturday 14th November. It is not a day like any other. The Western world still trembles as the day before music fans literally were hit in their hearts. It couldn’t be more sad than this, but despite panicky statements, a lot of concert organizers and musicians declared that music is a way of life, and no one can take this away from you!

A day after the sad terror, both Simple Minds and The Cure were on stage in Belgium. Or no, we mean the obsCURE: a band consisting of drummer Richard Scheeper, the two guitarists Roel Vekeman and Wim Kempenaers, bassist Benj, keyboard player Steph Van Uytvanck and singer Dirk Vreys. Indeed, expectations were high, as a friend from the music industry told me that if you close your eyes, you hear The Cure. And yes, the band can shout it out that in ashort time it has become the tribute band to follow. They already played plenty of gigs in Belgium and the Netherlands, and the words of praise were justified in a packed Charlatan (venue in Ghent-ed.)

You can say lots of scornfully things about a tribute band, but think how difficult it must be to do what top musicians like The Cure do! Meanwhile, perhaps the real band got its peak, but never forget that the group from Crawley invented cold wave, played post-punk, composed cuddly pop with toy instruments or wrote epic progrock-like pieces. In short, you have to be a perfect musician to handle all these various styles, and The obsCURE can!

The band plays on safe and just performs the well-known songs, but the way songs like A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This or Primary are played, is just phenomenal. It adorns the obsCURE that they play the songs in their time spirit, so you won’t hear decrepit own versions or modern adaptations, but they’re like a time machine that takes you to the years in which Robert Smith meant something. The crowd was enthusiastic, sometimes it was immensely beautiful (Charlotte Sometimes), occasionally experimental (Close To Me), and then again magisterial (Pictures Of You).

As they’re Cure enthusiasts they won’t like these words, but it's a damn shame that these days the real Cure doesn’t sound as good as these superior clones! The hype is true: this is the best tribute band Cure fans can dream of!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


NL

Zaterdag 14 november. Het is geen dag zoals een andere. De wereld beeft nog eventjes na, de dag ervoor werden muziekfans letterlijk in het hart getroffen. Op de sociale media schonk iedereen uit solidariteit zijn profielfoto de Franse driekleur, maar (en dat is misschien wel het belangrijkste) concertorganisatoren en muzikanten hadden ondertussen luidkeels de middelvinger opgestoken: muziek is een levenswijze, en niemand die dat kan afpakken!

Een dag na de terreur stonden zowel Simple Minds en als The Cure op het podium. Of neen, The obsCURE! De verwachtingen waren torenhoog, want een vriendin uit in de muziekindustrie wist me te vertellen dat, indien je je ogen sluit, The Cure hoort. Dirk Vreys en zijn gevolg kunnen inderdaad met trots vertellen dat zij op korte tijd de te volgen tributeband zijn. Er zijn volop optredens in België en Nederland, en de lovende woorden werden volop waar gemaakt in een bomvolle Charlatan.

Je kan wel smalend doen over een tributeband, maar sta er ook eens bij stil hoe moeilijk het is om het perfect te doen! The Cure is misschien al jaren lang over zijn hoogtepunt heen, maar de groep uit Crawley blijft wel nog altijd de uitvinder van de coldwave, ze hebben postpunk gespeeld, pop met speelgoedinstrumenten of epische stukken die schatplichtig zijn aan de progrock. Kortom, je moet heel wat in je mars hebben om al deze diverse stijlen aan te kunnen en dat kan The obsCURE.

De band speelt wel op veilig en brengt alleen maar overbekende nummers, maar de manier waarop ze nummers als A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This of Primary brengen is fenomenaal. Het siert The obsCURE dat ze de nummers in hun tijdsgeest brengen, dus geen aftandse eigen versies, maar een teletijdmachine die je naar de diverse jaren voert waarin Robert Smith iets had te betekenen. Het publiek reageerde laaiend enthousiast op de vele hits, soms ontroerend mooi (Charlotte Sometimes), soms experimenteel speels (Close To Me) en dan weer magistraal.

Als Curefanaten zullen ze het niet graag horen, maar verdomd jammer dat de echte Cure niet zo goed klinkt als deze superieure klonen! De hype is waar: dit is de allerbeste tributeband van The Cure die je maar dromen kan!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice