tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

15/11/2015 : THE OBSCURE - Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

THE OBSCURE

Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015

Concert
15/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Saturday 14th November. It is not a day like any other. The Western world still trembles as the day before music fans literally were hit in their hearts. It couldn’t be more sad than this, but despite panicky statements, a lot of concert organizers and musicians declared that music is a way of life, and no one can take this away from you!

A day after the sad terror, both Simple Minds and The Cure were on stage in Belgium. Or no, we mean the obsCURE: a band consisting of drummer Richard Scheeper, the two guitarists Roel Vekeman and Wim Kempenaers, bassist Benj, keyboard player Steph Van Uytvanck and singer Dirk Vreys. Indeed, expectations were high, as a friend from the music industry told me that if you close your eyes, you hear The Cure. And yes, the band can shout it out that in ashort time it has become the tribute band to follow. They already played plenty of gigs in Belgium and the Netherlands, and the words of praise were justified in a packed Charlatan (venue in Ghent-ed.)

You can say lots of scornfully things about a tribute band, but think how difficult it must be to do what top musicians like The Cure do! Meanwhile, perhaps the real band got its peak, but never forget that the group from Crawley invented cold wave, played post-punk, composed cuddly pop with toy instruments or wrote epic progrock-like pieces. In short, you have to be a perfect musician to handle all these various styles, and The obsCURE can!

The band plays on safe and just performs the well-known songs, but the way songs like A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This or Primary are played, is just phenomenal. It adorns the obsCURE that they play the songs in their time spirit, so you won’t hear decrepit own versions or modern adaptations, but they’re like a time machine that takes you to the years in which Robert Smith meant something. The crowd was enthusiastic, sometimes it was immensely beautiful (Charlotte Sometimes), occasionally experimental (Close To Me), and then again magisterial (Pictures Of You).

As they’re Cure enthusiasts they won’t like these words, but it's a damn shame that these days the real Cure doesn’t sound as good as these superior clones! The hype is true: this is the best tribute band Cure fans can dream of!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


NL

Zaterdag 14 november. Het is geen dag zoals een andere. De wereld beeft nog eventjes na, de dag ervoor werden muziekfans letterlijk in het hart getroffen. Op de sociale media schonk iedereen uit solidariteit zijn profielfoto de Franse driekleur, maar (en dat is misschien wel het belangrijkste) concertorganisatoren en muzikanten hadden ondertussen luidkeels de middelvinger opgestoken: muziek is een levenswijze, en niemand die dat kan afpakken!

Een dag na de terreur stonden zowel Simple Minds en als The Cure op het podium. Of neen, The obsCURE! De verwachtingen waren torenhoog, want een vriendin uit in de muziekindustrie wist me te vertellen dat, indien je je ogen sluit, The Cure hoort. Dirk Vreys en zijn gevolg kunnen inderdaad met trots vertellen dat zij op korte tijd de te volgen tributeband zijn. Er zijn volop optredens in België en Nederland, en de lovende woorden werden volop waar gemaakt in een bomvolle Charlatan.

Je kan wel smalend doen over een tributeband, maar sta er ook eens bij stil hoe moeilijk het is om het perfect te doen! The Cure is misschien al jaren lang over zijn hoogtepunt heen, maar de groep uit Crawley blijft wel nog altijd de uitvinder van de coldwave, ze hebben postpunk gespeeld, pop met speelgoedinstrumenten of epische stukken die schatplichtig zijn aan de progrock. Kortom, je moet heel wat in je mars hebben om al deze diverse stijlen aan te kunnen en dat kan The obsCURE.

De band speelt wel op veilig en brengt alleen maar overbekende nummers, maar de manier waarop ze nummers als A Strange Day, A Hundred Years, A Night Like This of Primary brengen is fenomenaal. Het siert The obsCURE dat ze de nummers in hun tijdsgeest brengen, dus geen aftandse eigen versies, maar een teletijdmachine die je naar de diverse jaren voert waarin Robert Smith iets had te betekenen. Het publiek reageerde laaiend enthousiast op de vele hits, soms ontroerend mooi (Charlotte Sometimes), soms experimenteel speels (Close To Me) en dan weer magistraal.

Als Curefanaten zullen ze het niet graag horen, maar verdomd jammer dat de echte Cure niet zo goed klinkt als deze superieure klonen! De hype is waar: dit is de allerbeste tributeband van The Cure die je maar dromen kan!

Didier BECU
15/11/2015


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa