tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/03/2012 : THE OUTSIDERS - Calling On Youth

THE OUTSIDERS

Calling On Youth

MusicCD
New wavePunk

[90/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/03/2012, Didier BECU

Everybody has their own Lennon and McCartney and in my humble case I think Adrian Borland is the one for me. Adrian simply had it all, both words and music and it's no wonder that he has been hailed with his post-punkband (or whatever it is): The Sound.

It always has been the man's dream to find some recognition with his solo-albums but sadly enough they seem to be like pearls for swines. A long time before The Sound released their Jeopardy-debut, Adrian shook the world with his punkoutfit The Outsiders. Especially hence the word "shock" as technically speaking The Outsiders released the 4th album in punkhistory and with a DIY-attitude they were more punk than Green Day or all those other MTV-punks will ever be.

So far you could find the albums by The Outsiders (Calling On Youth is the first one) on some blogs and in recordshop who asked a fortune for it, but Cherry Red Records was so kind to give them a proper release.

Still not convinced? Can't see why you should care about another lost punkalbum in 2012?
Well, this one's different. We don't include You Tube-movies for the sake of it, but just click below and listen for yourself. Have you ever heard such a heartbreaking punktune like "Weird"? We're sure you haven't, and apart from some Stooges-inspired punkanthems, all songs are like this one as this is the message from a youngster who knew at a very young age that he never would be like the others.

A song like "Walking Through A Storm" tells you in a nutshell what life is all about, a struggle indeed, at least if you dare to think different. Some songs sound as if Adrian's fronting The Doors or even Television and it's a delight and proof that music mattered back then.

So yes, this is 30 minutes of essential pop/rockhistory and if there is one punkband that had soul then it's them.

Due to a decision he made, we can't see him coming up some stage with his black leather jacket and performing a song by his beloved Iggy, but if angels read in heaven then we just have words for you: thank you.

And now click on that You Tube-song as it's...weird.

Didier BECU
29/03/2012


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht