tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE PHYSICISTS - My Love Is Dead

THE PHYSICISTS

My Love Is Dead

MusicCD
Industrial

[65/100]   

Inverse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Again a release from Finland. This is the second album by The Physicists, a band that is around for about ten years. Apparently, the band is known for its unpredictable gigs. I never saw them, so I can’t judge, but unpredictability is definitely something that can be said of the music. There are quite a few styles here that are mixed together, so you never know what will come next. After the solid opener Sundae with influences from NIN and Rammstein, we hear a very different style in Travel Song, early electro-goth à la Gary Numan.

The band makes industrial metal, but it all sounds rather breezy and sometimes a bit too much like a parody. The problem is that it sounds rather superficially. Listen for example to Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. It has different styles, but it lacks consistency. Sometimes it’s good though: Sundae and Girls of H & M are indeed nice songs. After ten regular songs, we hear three remix versions: Sundae, Babylon in an XMP mix and Fucked in an educational fashion mix.

Because of the various effects, you’ll never know if it’s a gimmick or not. There are some good songs here, but in my opinion it could have been a better record than this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Opnieuw een release uit Finland. Dit is het tweede album en de band is ondertussen zo'n tien jaar bezig. Blijkbaar is hij bekend om z'n onvoorspelbare optredens. Ik zou het niet weten, maar onvoorspelbaarheid is iets wat ook kan worden gezegd van deze muziek. Er wordt hier een flink aantal stijlen door elkaar gemixt, waardoor je na een track niet altijd weet wat je van de volgende kan verwachten. Na de stevige opener Sundae, met invloeden van NIN en Rammstein, horen we een heel ander invulling in Travel Song, eerder electro/gothic à la Gary Numan.

Ondanks het feit dat de band industrial metal maakt, klinkt alles eerder luchtig en soms een beetje als een parodie. Het probleem is een beetje dat het niet erg diepgaand is, maar eerder oppervlakkig, een spielerlei. Luister bijvoorbeeld naar Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. Er wordt stevig met stijlen en instrumenten gespeeld, maar het geheel mist een beetje samenhang. Het is niet dat het niet goed klinkt: Sundae en Girls of H&M zijn bijvoorbeeld aangename songs. Na de tien regulier songs staan er nog drie remixversies op het album, met name Sundae en Babylon in een XMP-mix en Fucked in een educational mode-mix. De mix van Sundae en Fucked vind ik niet erg geslaagd. Hij voegt weinig toe aan het origineel. De XMP-mix van Babylon mag er wel zijn.

Er wordt wat veel rondgestoeid met allerlei hipklinkende effecten en je weet niet of ze als gimmick of als ernst bedoeld zijn. Er zitten goede songs tussen, die in een uniformer jasje het album beter tot zijn recht zouden laten komen. Er zit volgens mij een betere plaat in dan deze.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent