tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE PHYSICISTS - My Love Is Dead

THE PHYSICISTS

My Love Is Dead

MusicCD
Industrial

[65/100]   

Inverse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Again a release from Finland. This is the second album by The Physicists, a band that is around for about ten years. Apparently, the band is known for its unpredictable gigs. I never saw them, so I can’t judge, but unpredictability is definitely something that can be said of the music. There are quite a few styles here that are mixed together, so you never know what will come next. After the solid opener Sundae with influences from NIN and Rammstein, we hear a very different style in Travel Song, early electro-goth à la Gary Numan.

The band makes industrial metal, but it all sounds rather breezy and sometimes a bit too much like a parody. The problem is that it sounds rather superficially. Listen for example to Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. It has different styles, but it lacks consistency. Sometimes it’s good though: Sundae and Girls of H & M are indeed nice songs. After ten regular songs, we hear three remix versions: Sundae, Babylon in an XMP mix and Fucked in an educational fashion mix.

Because of the various effects, you’ll never know if it’s a gimmick or not. There are some good songs here, but in my opinion it could have been a better record than this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Opnieuw een release uit Finland. Dit is het tweede album en de band is ondertussen zo'n tien jaar bezig. Blijkbaar is hij bekend om z'n onvoorspelbare optredens. Ik zou het niet weten, maar onvoorspelbaarheid is iets wat ook kan worden gezegd van deze muziek. Er wordt hier een flink aantal stijlen door elkaar gemixt, waardoor je na een track niet altijd weet wat je van de volgende kan verwachten. Na de stevige opener Sundae, met invloeden van NIN en Rammstein, horen we een heel ander invulling in Travel Song, eerder electro/gothic à la Gary Numan.

Ondanks het feit dat de band industrial metal maakt, klinkt alles eerder luchtig en soms een beetje als een parodie. Het probleem is een beetje dat het niet erg diepgaand is, maar eerder oppervlakkig, een spielerlei. Luister bijvoorbeeld naar Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. Er wordt stevig met stijlen en instrumenten gespeeld, maar het geheel mist een beetje samenhang. Het is niet dat het niet goed klinkt: Sundae en Girls of H&M zijn bijvoorbeeld aangename songs. Na de tien regulier songs staan er nog drie remixversies op het album, met name Sundae en Babylon in een XMP-mix en Fucked in een educational mode-mix. De mix van Sundae en Fucked vind ik niet erg geslaagd. Hij voegt weinig toe aan het origineel. De XMP-mix van Babylon mag er wel zijn.

Er wordt wat veel rondgestoeid met allerlei hipklinkende effecten en je weet niet of ze als gimmick of als ernst bedoeld zijn. Er zitten goede songs tussen, die in een uniformer jasje het album beter tot zijn recht zouden laten komen. Er zit volgens mij een betere plaat in dan deze.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat