tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE PHYSICISTS - My Love Is Dead

THE PHYSICISTS

My Love Is Dead

MusicCD
Industrial

[65/100]   

Inverse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Again a release from Finland. This is the second album by The Physicists, a band that is around for about ten years. Apparently, the band is known for its unpredictable gigs. I never saw them, so I can’t judge, but unpredictability is definitely something that can be said of the music. There are quite a few styles here that are mixed together, so you never know what will come next. After the solid opener Sundae with influences from NIN and Rammstein, we hear a very different style in Travel Song, early electro-goth à la Gary Numan.

The band makes industrial metal, but it all sounds rather breezy and sometimes a bit too much like a parody. The problem is that it sounds rather superficially. Listen for example to Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. It has different styles, but it lacks consistency. Sometimes it’s good though: Sundae and Girls of H & M are indeed nice songs. After ten regular songs, we hear three remix versions: Sundae, Babylon in an XMP mix and Fucked in an educational fashion mix.

Because of the various effects, you’ll never know if it’s a gimmick or not. There are some good songs here, but in my opinion it could have been a better record than this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Opnieuw een release uit Finland. Dit is het tweede album en de band is ondertussen zo'n tien jaar bezig. Blijkbaar is hij bekend om z'n onvoorspelbare optredens. Ik zou het niet weten, maar onvoorspelbaarheid is iets wat ook kan worden gezegd van deze muziek. Er wordt hier een flink aantal stijlen door elkaar gemixt, waardoor je na een track niet altijd weet wat je van de volgende kan verwachten. Na de stevige opener Sundae, met invloeden van NIN en Rammstein, horen we een heel ander invulling in Travel Song, eerder electro/gothic à la Gary Numan.

Ondanks het feit dat de band industrial metal maakt, klinkt alles eerder luchtig en soms een beetje als een parodie. Het probleem is een beetje dat het niet erg diepgaand is, maar eerder oppervlakkig, een spielerlei. Luister bijvoorbeeld naar Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. Er wordt stevig met stijlen en instrumenten gespeeld, maar het geheel mist een beetje samenhang. Het is niet dat het niet goed klinkt: Sundae en Girls of H&M zijn bijvoorbeeld aangename songs. Na de tien regulier songs staan er nog drie remixversies op het album, met name Sundae en Babylon in een XMP-mix en Fucked in een educational mode-mix. De mix van Sundae en Fucked vind ik niet erg geslaagd. Hij voegt weinig toe aan het origineel. De XMP-mix van Babylon mag er wel zijn.

Er wordt wat veel rondgestoeid met allerlei hipklinkende effecten en je weet niet of ze als gimmick of als ernst bedoeld zijn. Er zitten goede songs tussen, die in een uniformer jasje het album beter tot zijn recht zouden laten komen. Er zit volgens mij een betere plaat in dan deze.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury