tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE PHYSICISTS - My Love Is Dead

THE PHYSICISTS

My Love Is Dead

MusicCD
Industrial

[65/100]   

Inverse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Again a release from Finland. This is the second album by The Physicists, a band that is around for about ten years. Apparently, the band is known for its unpredictable gigs. I never saw them, so I can’t judge, but unpredictability is definitely something that can be said of the music. There are quite a few styles here that are mixed together, so you never know what will come next. After the solid opener Sundae with influences from NIN and Rammstein, we hear a very different style in Travel Song, early electro-goth à la Gary Numan.

The band makes industrial metal, but it all sounds rather breezy and sometimes a bit too much like a parody. The problem is that it sounds rather superficially. Listen for example to Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. It has different styles, but it lacks consistency. Sometimes it’s good though: Sundae and Girls of H & M are indeed nice songs. After ten regular songs, we hear three remix versions: Sundae, Babylon in an XMP mix and Fucked in an educational fashion mix.

Because of the various effects, you’ll never know if it’s a gimmick or not. There are some good songs here, but in my opinion it could have been a better record than this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Opnieuw een release uit Finland. Dit is het tweede album en de band is ondertussen zo'n tien jaar bezig. Blijkbaar is hij bekend om z'n onvoorspelbare optredens. Ik zou het niet weten, maar onvoorspelbaarheid is iets wat ook kan worden gezegd van deze muziek. Er wordt hier een flink aantal stijlen door elkaar gemixt, waardoor je na een track niet altijd weet wat je van de volgende kan verwachten. Na de stevige opener Sundae, met invloeden van NIN en Rammstein, horen we een heel ander invulling in Travel Song, eerder electro/gothic à la Gary Numan.

Ondanks het feit dat de band industrial metal maakt, klinkt alles eerder luchtig en soms een beetje als een parodie. Het probleem is een beetje dat het niet erg diepgaand is, maar eerder oppervlakkig, een spielerlei. Luister bijvoorbeeld naar Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. Er wordt stevig met stijlen en instrumenten gespeeld, maar het geheel mist een beetje samenhang. Het is niet dat het niet goed klinkt: Sundae en Girls of H&M zijn bijvoorbeeld aangename songs. Na de tien regulier songs staan er nog drie remixversies op het album, met name Sundae en Babylon in een XMP-mix en Fucked in een educational mode-mix. De mix van Sundae en Fucked vind ik niet erg geslaagd. Hij voegt weinig toe aan het origineel. De XMP-mix van Babylon mag er wel zijn.

Er wordt wat veel rondgestoeid met allerlei hipklinkende effecten en je weet niet of ze als gimmick of als ernst bedoeld zijn. Er zitten goede songs tussen, die in een uniformer jasje het album beter tot zijn recht zouden laten komen. Er zit volgens mij een betere plaat in dan deze.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)