tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE PHYSICISTS - My Love Is Dead

THE PHYSICISTS

My Love Is Dead

MusicCD
Industrial

[65/100]   

Inverse Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Again a release from Finland. This is the second album by The Physicists, a band that is around for about ten years. Apparently, the band is known for its unpredictable gigs. I never saw them, so I can’t judge, but unpredictability is definitely something that can be said of the music. There are quite a few styles here that are mixed together, so you never know what will come next. After the solid opener Sundae with influences from NIN and Rammstein, we hear a very different style in Travel Song, early electro-goth à la Gary Numan.

The band makes industrial metal, but it all sounds rather breezy and sometimes a bit too much like a parody. The problem is that it sounds rather superficially. Listen for example to Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. It has different styles, but it lacks consistency. Sometimes it’s good though: Sundae and Girls of H & M are indeed nice songs. After ten regular songs, we hear three remix versions: Sundae, Babylon in an XMP mix and Fucked in an educational fashion mix.

Because of the various effects, you’ll never know if it’s a gimmick or not. There are some good songs here, but in my opinion it could have been a better record than this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Opnieuw een release uit Finland. Dit is het tweede album en de band is ondertussen zo'n tien jaar bezig. Blijkbaar is hij bekend om z'n onvoorspelbare optredens. Ik zou het niet weten, maar onvoorspelbaarheid is iets wat ook kan worden gezegd van deze muziek. Er wordt hier een flink aantal stijlen door elkaar gemixt, waardoor je na een track niet altijd weet wat je van de volgende kan verwachten. Na de stevige opener Sundae, met invloeden van NIN en Rammstein, horen we een heel ander invulling in Travel Song, eerder electro/gothic à la Gary Numan.

Ondanks het feit dat de band industrial metal maakt, klinkt alles eerder luchtig en soms een beetje als een parodie. Het probleem is een beetje dat het niet erg diepgaand is, maar eerder oppervlakkig, een spielerlei. Luister bijvoorbeeld naar Wayne Newton Hullaballoo. Er wordt stevig met stijlen en instrumenten gespeeld, maar het geheel mist een beetje samenhang. Het is niet dat het niet goed klinkt: Sundae en Girls of H&M zijn bijvoorbeeld aangename songs. Na de tien regulier songs staan er nog drie remixversies op het album, met name Sundae en Babylon in een XMP-mix en Fucked in een educational mode-mix. De mix van Sundae en Fucked vind ik niet erg geslaagd. Hij voegt weinig toe aan het origineel. De XMP-mix van Babylon mag er wel zijn.

Er wordt wat veel rondgestoeid met allerlei hipklinkende effecten en je weet niet of ze als gimmick of als ernst bedoeld zijn. Er zitten goede songs tussen, die in een uniformer jasje het album beter tot zijn recht zouden laten komen. Er zit volgens mij een betere plaat in dan deze.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses