tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

25/10/2015 : THE POODLES - Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)

THE POODLES

Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)

Concert
25/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Poodles are famous in Sweden. Their career really reached a peak when they participated in the selection for the Eurosong Festival. Years later, they are at De Kreun (Belgian venue-ed.) with a new album: Devil in Details, and with two bands as support.

Maverick, a band from Belfast, had the honor to open the evening. And it did it well. with a kind of traditional hard rock/heavy metal. The singer has a good voice and we heard nice guitar riffs and a excellent rhythm section. Unfortunately, they only had time for a quick and energetic set of six songs that was well received by the audience. The set ended with In Our Blood, which is a kind of live anthem. Definitely a band to keep an eye on.

The second band was a different matter. Rebellion Spirit proved to be nothing more than a strange hotchpotch formed by young guys, including a guitarist who looked like Justin Bieber. The tracks could not convince, and towards the end of the set, half the audience had gone to the bar. A performance to forget.

Finally, The Poodles gave a solid show of ninety minutes. The singer has a fine and impressive voice that is a mixture of Axl Rose and Joey Temptest. The sound was okay and everything sounded professional. They played some songs from their new album, like Before I Die (what a fantastic song live!), House of Cards, The Greatest (a song that sound great when brought livel), Crack in the Wall and Need To Believe.

The new songs did it well among the older (and more famous) stuff like Metal Will Stand Tall, Shut Up !, Like No Tomorrow, Caroline and of course Night Of Passion. The acoustic interlude with tracks like Cuts Like A Knife in the middle of the set, was a pleasant surprise. After sixteen songs, we could go home with the thought that we saw again two good performances.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


NL

The Poodles zijn beroemd in Zweden. Hun carrière nam een vlucht toen ze aan de selectie voor het Eurosongfestival deelnamen. Jaren later staan ze in De Kreun met een nieuwe plaat: Devil in Details met twee bands in het voorprogramma.

Maverick, een band uit Belfast, had de eer om de avond te openen. En die deed dat goed met een soort van traditionele hardrock/heavy metal. De zanger had een goede stem en we hoorden mooi riffwerk en een potige ritmesectie. De band kreeg jammer genoeg alleen maar de tijd voor een korte en energieke set van zes nummers die door het publiek goed werd onthaald. De set eindigde met In Our Blood, dat een soort livehymne is, beslist een groep om in de gaten te houden.

De tweede band was een andere zaak. Rebellion Spirit bleek niet meer dan een vreemd samenraapsel van jonge kerels met een gitarist die er als Justin Bieber uitziet. De nummers konden niet overtuigen en toen hun set bijna ten einde was, bleek de helft van het publiek al naar de bar naast de zaal te zijn getrokken. Een optreden om snel te vergeten.

Ten slotte The Poodles, die een degelijke show van negentig minuten gaven. De zanger heeft een fijne en straffe stem die het midden houdt tussen Axl Rose en Joey Temptest. Het geluid was goed en alles klonk professioneel. Ze speelden een aantal songs uit hun nieuwe album, zoals Before I Die (wat een fantastisch nummer live!), House of Cards, The Greatest (een song die het live erg goed doet), Crack in the Wall en Need To Believe.

De nummers deden het goed tussen het meer bekende en oudere werk, zoals Metal Will Stand Tall, Shut Up!, Like No Tomorrow, Caroline en natuurlijk Night Of Passion. Het akoestische intermezzo met o.a. Cuts Like A Knife halfweg de set was een aangename verrassing. Na zestien nummers, gebracht met het nodige entertainment, konden we naar huis met de gedachte dat we alweer twee goede optredens hadden gezien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now