tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

25/10/2015 : THE POODLES - Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)

THE POODLES

Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)

Concert
25/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Poodles are famous in Sweden. Their career really reached a peak when they participated in the selection for the Eurosong Festival. Years later, they are at De Kreun (Belgian venue-ed.) with a new album: Devil in Details, and with two bands as support.

Maverick, a band from Belfast, had the honor to open the evening. And it did it well. with a kind of traditional hard rock/heavy metal. The singer has a good voice and we heard nice guitar riffs and a excellent rhythm section. Unfortunately, they only had time for a quick and energetic set of six songs that was well received by the audience. The set ended with In Our Blood, which is a kind of live anthem. Definitely a band to keep an eye on.

The second band was a different matter. Rebellion Spirit proved to be nothing more than a strange hotchpotch formed by young guys, including a guitarist who looked like Justin Bieber. The tracks could not convince, and towards the end of the set, half the audience had gone to the bar. A performance to forget.

Finally, The Poodles gave a solid show of ninety minutes. The singer has a fine and impressive voice that is a mixture of Axl Rose and Joey Temptest. The sound was okay and everything sounded professional. They played some songs from their new album, like Before I Die (what a fantastic song live!), House of Cards, The Greatest (a song that sound great when brought livel), Crack in the Wall and Need To Believe.

The new songs did it well among the older (and more famous) stuff like Metal Will Stand Tall, Shut Up !, Like No Tomorrow, Caroline and of course Night Of Passion. The acoustic interlude with tracks like Cuts Like A Knife in the middle of the set, was a pleasant surprise. After sixteen songs, we could go home with the thought that we saw again two good performances.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


NL

The Poodles zijn beroemd in Zweden. Hun carrière nam een vlucht toen ze aan de selectie voor het Eurosongfestival deelnamen. Jaren later staan ze in De Kreun met een nieuwe plaat: Devil in Details met twee bands in het voorprogramma.

Maverick, een band uit Belfast, had de eer om de avond te openen. En die deed dat goed met een soort van traditionele hardrock/heavy metal. De zanger had een goede stem en we hoorden mooi riffwerk en een potige ritmesectie. De band kreeg jammer genoeg alleen maar de tijd voor een korte en energieke set van zes nummers die door het publiek goed werd onthaald. De set eindigde met In Our Blood, dat een soort livehymne is, beslist een groep om in de gaten te houden.

De tweede band was een andere zaak. Rebellion Spirit bleek niet meer dan een vreemd samenraapsel van jonge kerels met een gitarist die er als Justin Bieber uitziet. De nummers konden niet overtuigen en toen hun set bijna ten einde was, bleek de helft van het publiek al naar de bar naast de zaal te zijn getrokken. Een optreden om snel te vergeten.

Ten slotte The Poodles, die een degelijke show van negentig minuten gaven. De zanger heeft een fijne en straffe stem die het midden houdt tussen Axl Rose en Joey Temptest. Het geluid was goed en alles klonk professioneel. Ze speelden een aantal songs uit hun nieuwe album, zoals Before I Die (wat een fantastisch nummer live!), House of Cards, The Greatest (een song die het live erg goed doet), Crack in the Wall en Need To Believe.

De nummers deden het goed tussen het meer bekende en oudere werk, zoals Metal Will Stand Tall, Shut Up!, Like No Tomorrow, Caroline en natuurlijk Night Of Passion. Het akoestische intermezzo met o.a. Cuts Like A Knife halfweg de set was een aangename verrassing. Na zestien nummers, gebracht met het nodige entertainment, konden we naar huis met de gedachte dat we alweer twee goede optredens hadden gezien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995