tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

25/10/2015 : THE POODLES - Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)

THE POODLES

Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)

Concert
25/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Poodles are famous in Sweden. Their career really reached a peak when they participated in the selection for the Eurosong Festival. Years later, they are at De Kreun (Belgian venue-ed.) with a new album: Devil in Details, and with two bands as support.

Maverick, a band from Belfast, had the honor to open the evening. And it did it well. with a kind of traditional hard rock/heavy metal. The singer has a good voice and we heard nice guitar riffs and a excellent rhythm section. Unfortunately, they only had time for a quick and energetic set of six songs that was well received by the audience. The set ended with In Our Blood, which is a kind of live anthem. Definitely a band to keep an eye on.

The second band was a different matter. Rebellion Spirit proved to be nothing more than a strange hotchpotch formed by young guys, including a guitarist who looked like Justin Bieber. The tracks could not convince, and towards the end of the set, half the audience had gone to the bar. A performance to forget.

Finally, The Poodles gave a solid show of ninety minutes. The singer has a fine and impressive voice that is a mixture of Axl Rose and Joey Temptest. The sound was okay and everything sounded professional. They played some songs from their new album, like Before I Die (what a fantastic song live!), House of Cards, The Greatest (a song that sound great when brought livel), Crack in the Wall and Need To Believe.

The new songs did it well among the older (and more famous) stuff like Metal Will Stand Tall, Shut Up !, Like No Tomorrow, Caroline and of course Night Of Passion. The acoustic interlude with tracks like Cuts Like A Knife in the middle of the set, was a pleasant surprise. After sixteen songs, we could go home with the thought that we saw again two good performances.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


NL

The Poodles zijn beroemd in Zweden. Hun carrière nam een vlucht toen ze aan de selectie voor het Eurosongfestival deelnamen. Jaren later staan ze in De Kreun met een nieuwe plaat: Devil in Details met twee bands in het voorprogramma.

Maverick, een band uit Belfast, had de eer om de avond te openen. En die deed dat goed met een soort van traditionele hardrock/heavy metal. De zanger had een goede stem en we hoorden mooi riffwerk en een potige ritmesectie. De band kreeg jammer genoeg alleen maar de tijd voor een korte en energieke set van zes nummers die door het publiek goed werd onthaald. De set eindigde met In Our Blood, dat een soort livehymne is, beslist een groep om in de gaten te houden.

De tweede band was een andere zaak. Rebellion Spirit bleek niet meer dan een vreemd samenraapsel van jonge kerels met een gitarist die er als Justin Bieber uitziet. De nummers konden niet overtuigen en toen hun set bijna ten einde was, bleek de helft van het publiek al naar de bar naast de zaal te zijn getrokken. Een optreden om snel te vergeten.

Ten slotte The Poodles, die een degelijke show van negentig minuten gaven. De zanger heeft een fijne en straffe stem die het midden houdt tussen Axl Rose en Joey Temptest. Het geluid was goed en alles klonk professioneel. Ze speelden een aantal songs uit hun nieuwe album, zoals Before I Die (wat een fantastisch nummer live!), House of Cards, The Greatest (een song die het live erg goed doet), Crack in the Wall en Need To Believe.

De nummers deden het goed tussen het meer bekende en oudere werk, zoals Metal Will Stand Tall, Shut Up!, Like No Tomorrow, Caroline en natuurlijk Night Of Passion. Het akoestische intermezzo met o.a. Cuts Like A Knife halfweg de set was een aangename verrassing. Na zestien nummers, gebracht met het nodige entertainment, konden we naar huis met de gedachte dat we alweer twee goede optredens hadden gezien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


Music reviews

08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
02
08
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast