tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

23/08/2011 : THE PRESENT MOMENT - Loyal To A Fault

THE PRESENT MOMENT

Loyal To A Fault

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[76/100]   

Mannequin Mailorder
23/08/2011, Didier BECU

It really took some time before this record got a grip on me but, as The Present Moon made the kind of disc from which you know that you might miss something if you haven't digged it, I gave it several chances.
Not in the least because the press talk said Asylum Party was an influence.
In all honesty did I return from some bare trip? Surely it's an record that has been touched by the flares of 80's coldwave and if you know that this band is fronted by both Scott Milton and Philipp Munch of The Rorschach Garden, you know that this is not that much of a surprise.
You really have to turn the record over and over as this could indeed have been made in 1983 as The Present Moment made such an album that could only have been released in that golden decade.
Indeed one of those records you could find back then in large numbers, not even mentioning the fact that you knew that you belonged to the handful people that actually bought it.
I couldn't stop thinking that I heard Blancmange in here and I'm quite convinced that some people actually might kill me for thinking The Present Moment are making synthpop.
But so what?
Did anyone said that synthpop is an equivalent for "sounding like Depeche Mode when you can't"? We think not.
Synthpop is pop made with synths, simple as that and The Present Moment are a more than an excellent example, showing that today there is talent in this genre.
So yes, a recommended one!

Didier BECU
23/08/2011


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)