tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/11/2013 : THE PRIMITIVES - Everything’s Shining Bright – The Lazy Recordings 1985-1987

THE PRIMITIVES

Everything’s Shining Bright – The Lazy Recordings 1985-1987

MusicCD
GaragerockIndiePop

[83/100]   

Cherry Red Records
18/11/2013, Didier BECU

Some time ago we were talking about the reissue of the debut album by The Darling Buds on Cherry Red. A perfect opportunity to go back to the roots of this band which are definitely The Primitives. And look, it's surely no coincidence that this same label has reissued two albums by this Coventry-based band as well.

Apart from the reissue of their highly praised debut Lovely, there’s also a compilation out which gathers their recordings for their own indielabel Lazy Recordings during 1985 and 1987. In these two years Tracy Tracy and her gang recorded four singles: Thru The Flowers, Stop Killing Me, Really Stupid and Ocean Blue/Shadow. This last single was a real collector as it was handed out to fans during a London-concert. Some of these songs like Thru The Flowers, Stop Killing Me, Ocean Blue and Buzz Buzz Buzz were later included on Lovely.

It’s difficult to describe their genre as with the so-called C86-sound they created in fact their own style, but still you can definitely hear that they’ve been influenced by bands like The Velvet Underground (The Primitives were the first band Lou Reed and John Cale played in) or The Jesus & Mary Chain. There’s the irresistible voice of Tracy Tracy and they know very well the golden rule that says a good rocktune isn’t longer as 3 minutes.

This album consists of two discs that contain 42 tracks in total, including a gig that’s been recorded at the London, ICA. In 2013 most people have probably forgotten the importance of this band, but for old indiekids like me this is nothing but a gem….

Didier BECU
18/11/2013


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem