tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/02/2016 : THE PUBLIC RADAR - A New Sunrise

THE PUBLIC RADAR

A New Sunrise

MusicCD


[60/100]   

RBL Music Italia
08/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Recently we reviewed many Italian bands on our pages, a stunning proof that the music scene is at its best there. The Public Radar is also a relatively young group, although you can’t say their radio-friendly synth pop is alternative. After a first EP that was released a few years ago, the band from Rome presents its debut album.

A New Sunrise is made in a professional way, but you can divide the CD into two unequal parts. There are just too many ballads on this record that are clearly intended to score on the radio, and of course that also implies the necessary clichés. Much better are the electro-pop songs like Standing On The Edge Of The Night , Why Not Me ? and the highly danceable Smoke And Mirrors, that is reminiscent of later Mesh material. A New Sunrise is a mediocre album, but if they drop the ballads on the next release, then everything might be good.

 

Didier BECU
08/02/2016


NL

De laatste maanden worden er op onze pagina’s heel wat Italiaanse bands besproken, een prachtig bewijs dat de muziekscène aldaar opperbest is. The Public Radar is ook een vrij jonge groep, alhoewel je hun radiovriendelijke synthpop in geen geval alternatief kan noemen. Na een eerste ep die een paar jaar geleden verscheen, is de band uit Rome er met z'n debuutplaat.

A New Sunrise is vakkundig gemaakt, maar eigenlijk kan je de plaat in twee ongelijke stukken opdelen. Er staan net iets te veel ballads op deze cd, die duidelijk bedoeld zijn om op de radio te scoren, en dat impliceert natuurlijk ook de nodige clichés. Veel beter zijn de elektropopnummers zoals Standing On The Edge Of The Night, Why Not Me? en het uiterst dansbare Smoke And Mirrors dat aan het latere werk van Mesh doet denken. A New Sunrise is een onevenwichtige cd, maar als men bij de volgende release de ballads wat achterwege laat, komt alles misschien nog goed.

Didier BECU
08/02/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser