tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/02/2016 : THE PUBLIC RADAR - A New Sunrise

THE PUBLIC RADAR

A New Sunrise

MusicCD


[60/100]   

RBL Music Italia
08/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Recently we reviewed many Italian bands on our pages, a stunning proof that the music scene is at its best there. The Public Radar is also a relatively young group, although you can’t say their radio-friendly synth pop is alternative. After a first EP that was released a few years ago, the band from Rome presents its debut album.

A New Sunrise is made in a professional way, but you can divide the CD into two unequal parts. There are just too many ballads on this record that are clearly intended to score on the radio, and of course that also implies the necessary clichés. Much better are the electro-pop songs like Standing On The Edge Of The Night , Why Not Me ? and the highly danceable Smoke And Mirrors, that is reminiscent of later Mesh material. A New Sunrise is a mediocre album, but if they drop the ballads on the next release, then everything might be good.

 

Didier BECU
08/02/2016


NL

De laatste maanden worden er op onze pagina’s heel wat Italiaanse bands besproken, een prachtig bewijs dat de muziekscène aldaar opperbest is. The Public Radar is ook een vrij jonge groep, alhoewel je hun radiovriendelijke synthpop in geen geval alternatief kan noemen. Na een eerste ep die een paar jaar geleden verscheen, is de band uit Rome er met z'n debuutplaat.

A New Sunrise is vakkundig gemaakt, maar eigenlijk kan je de plaat in twee ongelijke stukken opdelen. Er staan net iets te veel ballads op deze cd, die duidelijk bedoeld zijn om op de radio te scoren, en dat impliceert natuurlijk ook de nodige clichés. Veel beter zijn de elektropopnummers zoals Standing On The Edge Of The Night, Why Not Me? en het uiterst dansbare Smoke And Mirrors dat aan het latere werk van Mesh doet denken. A New Sunrise is een onevenwichtige cd, maar als men bij de volgende release de ballads wat achterwege laat, komt alles misschien nog goed.

Didier BECU
08/02/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses