tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014

THE RESIDENTS

'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014

Concert
Experimental

[92/100]   
04/05/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The American avant-garde group The Residents began their (short) European tour in the extremely cosy concert hall De Vooruit in Ghent. "Shadowland" is the third and final part of the trilogy, the third tour to celebrate their 40th anniversary.

Living in Belgium, I am very fortunate. With performances in Brussels (AB, 2010) and Kortrijk (De Kreun, 2010) , Leuven (Het Depot, 2013) and now in Ghent (De Vooruit), I had the privilege to experience the entire trilogy, in which Randy, Chuck and Bob Life aspire to examine life in reverse. Part 1 of the trilogy, "The Talking Light" was a study about death and ghosts. Part 2, "Wonder of Weird" was focussing on love and sex. And today, in the third part, "Shadowland": birth and rebirth were examined.

"Shadowland" is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy. A magical scenery awaited us, black and white checkered banners, vertical light bars and a huge white ball formed the setting against these gentlemen were performing.

Ingenious lighting and intriguing films about birth, rebirth, near-death experiences and reincarnation, which were projected on the giant white ball, gave that extra touch, but it was mostly their music (as in each tour) that charmed me once again. With an extensive catalogue, it is of course not difficult to fill a show and their quirky, new interpretations of their own songs makes this even more intriguing.

Randy stumbled and staggered as usual on the stage, and with his conjuring trembling fingers and vigorous gestures all compositions, masterly played by Bob & Chuck, got the necessary visual support to present us one highlight after another.

Their music varies enormously, partly because of their bizarre, quirky combinations of electronics, deconstructed rock 'n' roll and even a touch of avant-garde jazz, all graced with surreal visuals and freaky stories.

It is therefore impossible to discuss all the songs but with superb and wayward versions including opener "Rabbit Habit" (The Bunny Boy) , "Harry The Head" (Freak Show) , "Blue Rosebuds " (Duck Stab) , "Fever Dream" (The Bunny Boy) and "Easter Woman" (Commercial album) The Residents managed to convince me (once again) of their genius!

In 2010 The Residents began this trilogy to celebrate their 40th anniversary. If I count correctly, next year they may celebrate their 45 years of existence. Hopefully they do that again with a smashing trilogy. Looking forward!

 

Photos © Creepking Mac Kroki.

Extra photos by Creeping Mac Kroki through this link, or this link (MusicZine).

Ward DE PRINS
04/05/2014




NL

Het Amerikaanse avant-garde gezelschap The Residents startte zijn (korte) Europese tour in de uiterst gezellige concertzaal van De Vooruit in Gent. “Shadowland” is het derde en laatste deel van de trilogie, waarmee de heren met 3 tournees hun 40 jarig jubileum vierde.

Als Belg mag ik me gelukkig prijzen, want met tussenstops in Brussel (AB, 2010) & Kortrijk (De Kreun,2010), Leuven (Het Depot, 2013) en nu Gent (De Vooruit) had ik het privilege de volwaardige trilogie mee te maken, waarbij Randy, Chuck & Bob Het Leven in omgekeerde volgorde trachtten te doorgronden. Deel 1 van de trilogie, “The Talking Light” was een studie over de dood & geesten. In deel 2, “Wonder of Weird” werd er gefocussed op liefde en seks. En vandaag, in het derde deel, “Shadowland”, werden geboorte en wedergeboorte onder de loep genomen.

“Shadowland” is een waardige afsluiter van de trilogie. Een schitterend decor wachtte ons op, zwartwitte geruite banners, verticale staaflampen en een reusachtige witte bal op een pied-de-stal vormden het decor waarin de heren optraden.

Vernuftige belichting en intrigerende filmpjes over geboorte, wedergeboorte,bijna-dood-ervaringen en reïncarnatie, die geprojecteerd werden op de reusachtige witte bal, gaven die extra touch, maar het was toch vooral hun muziek die me (zoals bij elke passage) weer wist te bekoren. Met een oeuvre als dat van deze heren is het natuurlijk niet moeilijk om een show te vullen, en hun eigenzinnige, nieuwe interpretaties van hun eigen songs maakt dit alles nog meer intrigerend.

Randy zwenkte en zwalpte zoals vanouds over het podium, en met zijn bezwerende trillende vingertjes en krachtdadige gebaren kreeg elke compositie, overigens magistraal vertolkt door Bob & Chuck, de nodige visuele ondersteuning om ons zo op het ene na het andere hoogtepunt te trakteren.

Hun muziek varieert ontzettend, mede door hun bizarre, eiegnzinnige combinaties van electronica, gedeconstrueerde rock-’n-roll en zelfs een vleugje avant-garde jazz, opgeluisterd met surrealistische visuals en verhaaltjes.

Het is dan ook onmogelijk alle nummers te bespreken maar met superbe én eigenzinnige versies van onder andere opener “Rabbit Habit” (The Bunny Boy), “Harry The Head” (Freakshow), “Blue Rosebuds” (Duck Stab), “Fever Dream” (The Bunny Boy) en “Easter Woman” (Commercial album) wisten de heren mij wederom te overtuigen van hun genialiteit !

In 2010 begonnen The Residents aan deze trilogie om hun 40 jarig jubileum te vieren. Als ik dan goed tel kunnen ze volgend jaar hun 45 jaar bestaan vieren. Hopelijk doen ze dat dan terug met een straffe trilogie. Ik kijk er naar uit!

 

Foto's © Creepking Mac Kroki.

Bekijk meer schitterende foto’s van Creeping Mac Kroki via deze link, of deze link (MusicZine).

Ward DE PRINS
04/05/2014




04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)