tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014

THE RESIDENTS

'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014

Concert
Experimental

[92/100]   
04/05/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The American avant-garde group The Residents began their (short) European tour in the extremely cosy concert hall De Vooruit in Ghent. "Shadowland" is the third and final part of the trilogy, the third tour to celebrate their 40th anniversary.

Living in Belgium, I am very fortunate. With performances in Brussels (AB, 2010) and Kortrijk (De Kreun, 2010) , Leuven (Het Depot, 2013) and now in Ghent (De Vooruit), I had the privilege to experience the entire trilogy, in which Randy, Chuck and Bob Life aspire to examine life in reverse. Part 1 of the trilogy, "The Talking Light" was a study about death and ghosts. Part 2, "Wonder of Weird" was focussing on love and sex. And today, in the third part, "Shadowland": birth and rebirth were examined.

"Shadowland" is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy. A magical scenery awaited us, black and white checkered banners, vertical light bars and a huge white ball formed the setting against these gentlemen were performing.

Ingenious lighting and intriguing films about birth, rebirth, near-death experiences and reincarnation, which were projected on the giant white ball, gave that extra touch, but it was mostly their music (as in each tour) that charmed me once again. With an extensive catalogue, it is of course not difficult to fill a show and their quirky, new interpretations of their own songs makes this even more intriguing.

Randy stumbled and staggered as usual on the stage, and with his conjuring trembling fingers and vigorous gestures all compositions, masterly played by Bob & Chuck, got the necessary visual support to present us one highlight after another.

Their music varies enormously, partly because of their bizarre, quirky combinations of electronics, deconstructed rock 'n' roll and even a touch of avant-garde jazz, all graced with surreal visuals and freaky stories.

It is therefore impossible to discuss all the songs but with superb and wayward versions including opener "Rabbit Habit" (The Bunny Boy) , "Harry The Head" (Freak Show) , "Blue Rosebuds " (Duck Stab) , "Fever Dream" (The Bunny Boy) and "Easter Woman" (Commercial album) The Residents managed to convince me (once again) of their genius!

In 2010 The Residents began this trilogy to celebrate their 40th anniversary. If I count correctly, next year they may celebrate their 45 years of existence. Hopefully they do that again with a smashing trilogy. Looking forward!

 

Photos © Creepking Mac Kroki.

Extra photos by Creeping Mac Kroki through this link, or this link (MusicZine).

Ward DE PRINS
04/05/2014




NL

Het Amerikaanse avant-garde gezelschap The Residents startte zijn (korte) Europese tour in de uiterst gezellige concertzaal van De Vooruit in Gent. “Shadowland” is het derde en laatste deel van de trilogie, waarmee de heren met 3 tournees hun 40 jarig jubileum vierde.

Als Belg mag ik me gelukkig prijzen, want met tussenstops in Brussel (AB, 2010) & Kortrijk (De Kreun,2010), Leuven (Het Depot, 2013) en nu Gent (De Vooruit) had ik het privilege de volwaardige trilogie mee te maken, waarbij Randy, Chuck & Bob Het Leven in omgekeerde volgorde trachtten te doorgronden. Deel 1 van de trilogie, “The Talking Light” was een studie over de dood & geesten. In deel 2, “Wonder of Weird” werd er gefocussed op liefde en seks. En vandaag, in het derde deel, “Shadowland”, werden geboorte en wedergeboorte onder de loep genomen.

“Shadowland” is een waardige afsluiter van de trilogie. Een schitterend decor wachtte ons op, zwartwitte geruite banners, verticale staaflampen en een reusachtige witte bal op een pied-de-stal vormden het decor waarin de heren optraden.

Vernuftige belichting en intrigerende filmpjes over geboorte, wedergeboorte,bijna-dood-ervaringen en reïncarnatie, die geprojecteerd werden op de reusachtige witte bal, gaven die extra touch, maar het was toch vooral hun muziek die me (zoals bij elke passage) weer wist te bekoren. Met een oeuvre als dat van deze heren is het natuurlijk niet moeilijk om een show te vullen, en hun eigenzinnige, nieuwe interpretaties van hun eigen songs maakt dit alles nog meer intrigerend.

Randy zwenkte en zwalpte zoals vanouds over het podium, en met zijn bezwerende trillende vingertjes en krachtdadige gebaren kreeg elke compositie, overigens magistraal vertolkt door Bob & Chuck, de nodige visuele ondersteuning om ons zo op het ene na het andere hoogtepunt te trakteren.

Hun muziek varieert ontzettend, mede door hun bizarre, eiegnzinnige combinaties van electronica, gedeconstrueerde rock-’n-roll en zelfs een vleugje avant-garde jazz, opgeluisterd met surrealistische visuals en verhaaltjes.

Het is dan ook onmogelijk alle nummers te bespreken maar met superbe én eigenzinnige versies van onder andere opener “Rabbit Habit” (The Bunny Boy), “Harry The Head” (Freakshow), “Blue Rosebuds” (Duck Stab), “Fever Dream” (The Bunny Boy) en “Easter Woman” (Commercial album) wisten de heren mij wederom te overtuigen van hun genialiteit !

In 2010 begonnen The Residents aan deze trilogie om hun 40 jarig jubileum te vieren. Als ik dan goed tel kunnen ze volgend jaar hun 45 jaar bestaan vieren. Hopelijk doen ze dat dan terug met een straffe trilogie. Ik kijk er naar uit!

 

Foto's © Creepking Mac Kroki.

Bekijk meer schitterende foto’s van Creeping Mac Kroki via deze link, of deze link (MusicZine).

Ward DE PRINS
04/05/2014




04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014 04/05/2014 : THE RESIDENTS - 'Shadowland' Tour, De Vooruit, Ghent, 02/05/2014

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi