tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

THE RORSCHACH GARDEN

Tales Of A Fragile Mind

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth WaveSynthpop

[85/100]   

Bazooka Joe / Ant-Zen
29/01/2015, Fred GADGET

Sometimes a CD keeps ending up underneath my pile of ‘Still to listen to CDs’ for no other reason than lack of time and a chaotic desk. The same happened with this album of The Rorschach Garden. So let me begin to say Mea Culpa to musical centipede Phillipp Münch and his keyboard girls Babsi & Natascha. If only I knew there was a little pearl lying there, waiting to be discovered! TRG is not a ‘new’ band since they originated already in 1991 and have since released a whole bunch of albums and singles. This time it took them four years to complete the new album.

By listening to this album, you can tell that he time was well spent. All songs on this album, and yes we can call it ‘songs’, are well produced and elaborated. Even more, almost every song on this album has catchy synth melodies and vocal lines. In times that Minimal-Synth and Minimal-Wave seem to be the coolest thing to listen too, ‘Tales Of A Fragile Mind’ certainly deserves your attention. Many ‘minimal purists’ may have ignored the album because it was not released on vinyl and/or by the fact that the album kicks-off with the more Kraftwerk-in-the-mix ‘Radioactivity’ kind of song ‘Fun Tastica’. Still, a solid and good song in my opinion, if you are not getting a skin-rash from hearing a clubby 4/4 bass drum, but maybe not the best opener to convincing the purists. But they should have no fear, because after this track, the oyster opens and behold … a shimmering Minimal-Syth-Pop pearl emerges! I have heard a lot of so called Minimal-Synth releases the last years and I dare to say that all song on this album are way above average, when we talk about song writing skills, melodies and production. Well done The Rorschach Garden! Can’t wait to find the vinyl re-issue in my letterbox! 

Fred GADGET
29/01/2015


29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind 29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

 

Next reviews
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
• LOOKING SEASON 1
LIQUORICE RIVER • Russell
MARTIN HANNETT AND STEVE HOPKINS • The Invisible Girls
JOHAN TROCH • Enlightened
CHLOE ROBICHAUD • Sarah Prefers To Run
• LOW WINTER SUN
POPULARE MECHANIK • Kollektion 03 Compiled By Holger Hiller:
VARSOVIE • L'Heure Et La Trajectoire
PENELOPE ANTENA • Feel It Coming, You Keep, Come Home To Me

 

Other reviews from THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall