tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

THE RORSCHACH GARDEN

Tales Of A Fragile Mind

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth WaveSynthpop

[85/100]   

Bazooka Joe / Ant-Zen
29/01/2015, Fred GADGET

Sometimes a CD keeps ending up underneath my pile of ‘Still to listen to CDs’ for no other reason than lack of time and a chaotic desk. The same happened with this album of The Rorschach Garden. So let me begin to say Mea Culpa to musical centipede Phillipp Münch and his keyboard girls Babsi & Natascha. If only I knew there was a little pearl lying there, waiting to be discovered! TRG is not a ‘new’ band since they originated already in 1991 and have since released a whole bunch of albums and singles. This time it took them four years to complete the new album.

By listening to this album, you can tell that he time was well spent. All songs on this album, and yes we can call it ‘songs’, are well produced and elaborated. Even more, almost every song on this album has catchy synth melodies and vocal lines. In times that Minimal-Synth and Minimal-Wave seem to be the coolest thing to listen too, ‘Tales Of A Fragile Mind’ certainly deserves your attention. Many ‘minimal purists’ may have ignored the album because it was not released on vinyl and/or by the fact that the album kicks-off with the more Kraftwerk-in-the-mix ‘Radioactivity’ kind of song ‘Fun Tastica’. Still, a solid and good song in my opinion, if you are not getting a skin-rash from hearing a clubby 4/4 bass drum, but maybe not the best opener to convincing the purists. But they should have no fear, because after this track, the oyster opens and behold … a shimmering Minimal-Syth-Pop pearl emerges! I have heard a lot of so called Minimal-Synth releases the last years and I dare to say that all song on this album are way above average, when we talk about song writing skills, melodies and production. Well done The Rorschach Garden! Can’t wait to find the vinyl re-issue in my letterbox! 

Fred GADGET
29/01/2015


29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind 29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

 

Next reviews
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
• LOOKING SEASON 1
LIQUORICE RIVER • Russell
MARTIN HANNETT AND STEVE HOPKINS • The Invisible Girls
JOHAN TROCH • Enlightened
CHLOE ROBICHAUD • Sarah Prefers To Run
• LOW WINTER SUN
POPULARE MECHANIK • Kollektion 03 Compiled By Holger Hiller:
VARSOVIE • L'Heure Et La Trajectoire
PENELOPE ANTENA • Feel It Coming, You Keep, Come Home To Me

 

Other reviews from THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)