tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

THE RORSCHACH GARDEN

Tales Of A Fragile Mind

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth WaveSynthpop

[85/100]   

Bazooka Joe / Ant-Zen
29/01/2015, Fred GADGET

Sometimes a CD keeps ending up underneath my pile of ‘Still to listen to CDs’ for no other reason than lack of time and a chaotic desk. The same happened with this album of The Rorschach Garden. So let me begin to say Mea Culpa to musical centipede Phillipp Münch and his keyboard girls Babsi & Natascha. If only I knew there was a little pearl lying there, waiting to be discovered! TRG is not a ‘new’ band since they originated already in 1991 and have since released a whole bunch of albums and singles. This time it took them four years to complete the new album.

By listening to this album, you can tell that he time was well spent. All songs on this album, and yes we can call it ‘songs’, are well produced and elaborated. Even more, almost every song on this album has catchy synth melodies and vocal lines. In times that Minimal-Synth and Minimal-Wave seem to be the coolest thing to listen too, ‘Tales Of A Fragile Mind’ certainly deserves your attention. Many ‘minimal purists’ may have ignored the album because it was not released on vinyl and/or by the fact that the album kicks-off with the more Kraftwerk-in-the-mix ‘Radioactivity’ kind of song ‘Fun Tastica’. Still, a solid and good song in my opinion, if you are not getting a skin-rash from hearing a clubby 4/4 bass drum, but maybe not the best opener to convincing the purists. But they should have no fear, because after this track, the oyster opens and behold … a shimmering Minimal-Syth-Pop pearl emerges! I have heard a lot of so called Minimal-Synth releases the last years and I dare to say that all song on this album are way above average, when we talk about song writing skills, melodies and production. Well done The Rorschach Garden! Can’t wait to find the vinyl re-issue in my letterbox! 

Fred GADGET
29/01/2015


29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind 29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

 

Next reviews
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
• LOOKING SEASON 1
LIQUORICE RIVER • Russell
MARTIN HANNETT AND STEVE HOPKINS • The Invisible Girls
JOHAN TROCH • Enlightened
CHLOE ROBICHAUD • Sarah Prefers To Run
• LOW WINTER SUN
POPULARE MECHANIK • Kollektion 03 Compiled By Holger Hiller:
VARSOVIE • L'Heure Et La Trajectoire
PENELOPE ANTENA • Feel It Coming, You Keep, Come Home To Me

 

Other reviews from THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day