tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

THE RORSCHACH GARDEN

Tales Of A Fragile Mind

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth WaveSynthpop

[85/100]   

Bazooka Joe / Ant-Zen
29/01/2015, Fred GADGET

Sometimes a CD keeps ending up underneath my pile of ‘Still to listen to CDs’ for no other reason than lack of time and a chaotic desk. The same happened with this album of The Rorschach Garden. So let me begin to say Mea Culpa to musical centipede Phillipp Münch and his keyboard girls Babsi & Natascha. If only I knew there was a little pearl lying there, waiting to be discovered! TRG is not a ‘new’ band since they originated already in 1991 and have since released a whole bunch of albums and singles. This time it took them four years to complete the new album.

By listening to this album, you can tell that he time was well spent. All songs on this album, and yes we can call it ‘songs’, are well produced and elaborated. Even more, almost every song on this album has catchy synth melodies and vocal lines. In times that Minimal-Synth and Minimal-Wave seem to be the coolest thing to listen too, ‘Tales Of A Fragile Mind’ certainly deserves your attention. Many ‘minimal purists’ may have ignored the album because it was not released on vinyl and/or by the fact that the album kicks-off with the more Kraftwerk-in-the-mix ‘Radioactivity’ kind of song ‘Fun Tastica’. Still, a solid and good song in my opinion, if you are not getting a skin-rash from hearing a clubby 4/4 bass drum, but maybe not the best opener to convincing the purists. But they should have no fear, because after this track, the oyster opens and behold … a shimmering Minimal-Syth-Pop pearl emerges! I have heard a lot of so called Minimal-Synth releases the last years and I dare to say that all song on this album are way above average, when we talk about song writing skills, melodies and production. Well done The Rorschach Garden! Can’t wait to find the vinyl re-issue in my letterbox! 

Fred GADGET
29/01/2015


29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind 29/01/2015 : THE RORSCHACH GARDEN - Tales Of A Fragile Mind

 

Next reviews
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
• LOOKING SEASON 1
LIQUORICE RIVER • Russell
MARTIN HANNETT AND STEVE HOPKINS • The Invisible Girls
JOHAN TROCH • Enlightened
CHLOE ROBICHAUD • Sarah Prefers To Run
• LOW WINTER SUN
POPULARE MECHANIK • Kollektion 03 Compiled By Holger Hiller:
VARSOVIE • L'Heure Et La Trajectoire
PENELOPE ANTENA • Feel It Coming, You Keep, Come Home To Me

 

Other reviews from THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real