tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : THE SAINT PAUL - Days Without Rain

THE SAINT PAUL

Days Without Rain

MusicCD
EBMElectroElectro PopFuture Pop

[75/100]   

Infacted Recordings
02/02/2016, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

For inexplicable reasons, it takes some effort and time to discover why The Saint Paul is actually better than you think it is. The singing isn’t bad, but it takes some time before you appreciate it. The music needs time too, but that actually has more to do with the variety and the fact that The Saint Paul, even though it sounds accessible, dares to experiment.

Opener Grey is a good example. It is built up slowly, with a nice change of pace in the second half. It's a wonderfully detailed track. Reality Distortion Field contains the same contrarian rhythm that made :Wumpscut: famous. The Saint Paul offers its music in an electro pop way. It is not extreme and violent as Rudy Ratzinger’s project. White Unicorn is fine, accessible electro pop with a nice drive. The same can be said of T1 and Unemphatic V2. But He Will is again a proof of the recalcitrant attitude of the band. After an impressive, quirky start, the song has some great EBM rhythms.

Unfortunately, the CD has some downsides. Not Tonight and Neon Night are just mediocre EBM-oriented tracks, just like What Do You Want. The ballad Dead End, that includes singing children, sounds nice, but it has been done before. Days Without Rain is above average. However, the courage to sound different, is appreciated.

Ron SCHOONWATER
02/02/2016


NL

Om onverklaarbare redenen kost het enige moeite en tijd om te ontdekken waarom The Saint Paul eigenlijk beter is dan je op basis van de eerste beluistering zou besluiten. De zang, zonder dat die overigens slecht is, vraagt enige gewenning. Ook de muziek is even wennen, maar dat heeft eigenlijk meer te maken met de variatie en het feit dat The Saint Paul ondanks een toegankelijk geluid, toch durft experimenteren.

Opener Grey is daar een goed voorbeeld van: langzaam opgebouwd met in de tweede helft een mooie tempowisseling. Het is een heerlijk uitgewerkte track. Het daaropvolgende Reality Distortion Field heeft het tegendraadse ritme dat :Wumpscut: bekend maakte. The Saint Paul brengt het wel op de electropopmanier: veel minder extreem of heftig. White Unicorn is prima en toegankelijke elektropop met een lekkere drive. Datzelfde geldt voor T1 en Unemphatic V2But He Will geeft het tegendraadse van de band weer. Na een imposant, eigenzinnig begin, komt dde track pas later op gang met een EBM-ritme.

Helaas zijn er ook minpuntjes. Zo zijn Not Tonight en Neon Night niet meer dan EBM-georiënteerde middelmaat en kabbelt What Do You Want een beetje doelloos voort. Ook de ballad met kinderzang, Dead End, klinkt leuk, maar het is al zo vaak gedaan. Days Without Rain stijgt, als geheel echter boven de middelmaat uit. De durf om regelmatig anders te klinken zonder het veilige pad van electropop te verlaten wordt gewaardeerd.

Ron SCHOONWATER
02/02/2016


 

Next reviews
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect
METROLAND • Things Will Never Sound The Same Again
ZA! • Loloismo
TOUCHING THE VOID • Love, Longing and Loss
LIZARD SMILE, 1919 • Eernegem, B52 (29/01/16)
FRONT242 • Detox Static EP
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • IRIS VON GUL

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design