tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE SCARLET FEVER - Collider

THE SCARLET FEVER

Collider

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveIndie

[76/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is certainly no coincidence that The Scarlet Fever played as support act for Sex Gang Children in 2013, because even though this Canadian band doesn’t really sound as pure death rock, the influences of the genre on this second album are noticeable.

The main asset of The Scarlet Fever is without any doubt the extravagant (but impressive ) voice of singer Jay Draper, that you can compare with both Nico and Marc Bolan. A good example is the cover of The Chauffeur by Duran Duran, in which drama joins decadent glam rock.

The band is proud that it is unique in the Toronto music scene, and of course every artist will say that, but it is quite right. The sound is modern and therefore can be described as indie, but because of the dark atmosphere the name of Christian Death also slips through your head. Toronto is already convinced, now the rest, and with such a strong sound they should succeed in doing so!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is zeker geen toeval dat The Scarlet Fever in 2013 in het voorprogramma van Sex Gang Children stond, want ook al klinkt deze Canadese band niet echt als pure deathrock, zijn de invloeden van dit genre op deze tweede plaat meer dan merkbaar.

De belangrijkste troef van The Scarlet Fever is zonder twijfel de extravagante (maar imponerende) stem van zanger Jay Draper die je zowel met Nico als Marc Bolan kan vergelijken. Een mooi voorbeeld is de cover van The Chauffeur van Duran Duran, waarin dramatiek mooi hand in hand gaat met decadente glamrock.

De band gaat er prat op dat hij uniek is in de muziekscène van Toronto, en ook zal iedere artiest dat wel van zichzelf zeggen, klopt het als een bus. Het geluid is modern en dus kan je het als indie omschrijven, maar door het donkere sfeertje huppelt evengoed de naam van Christian Death door je hoofd. Toronto is al overtuigd, nu de rest nog, en met zo’n sterk geluid zou dat best kunnen lukken!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp