tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE SCARLET FEVER - Collider

THE SCARLET FEVER

Collider

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveIndie

[76/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is certainly no coincidence that The Scarlet Fever played as support act for Sex Gang Children in 2013, because even though this Canadian band doesn’t really sound as pure death rock, the influences of the genre on this second album are noticeable.

The main asset of The Scarlet Fever is without any doubt the extravagant (but impressive ) voice of singer Jay Draper, that you can compare with both Nico and Marc Bolan. A good example is the cover of The Chauffeur by Duran Duran, in which drama joins decadent glam rock.

The band is proud that it is unique in the Toronto music scene, and of course every artist will say that, but it is quite right. The sound is modern and therefore can be described as indie, but because of the dark atmosphere the name of Christian Death also slips through your head. Toronto is already convinced, now the rest, and with such a strong sound they should succeed in doing so!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is zeker geen toeval dat The Scarlet Fever in 2013 in het voorprogramma van Sex Gang Children stond, want ook al klinkt deze Canadese band niet echt als pure deathrock, zijn de invloeden van dit genre op deze tweede plaat meer dan merkbaar.

De belangrijkste troef van The Scarlet Fever is zonder twijfel de extravagante (maar imponerende) stem van zanger Jay Draper die je zowel met Nico als Marc Bolan kan vergelijken. Een mooi voorbeeld is de cover van The Chauffeur van Duran Duran, waarin dramatiek mooi hand in hand gaat met decadente glamrock.

De band gaat er prat op dat hij uniek is in de muziekscène van Toronto, en ook zal iedere artiest dat wel van zichzelf zeggen, klopt het als een bus. Het geluid is modern en dus kan je het als indie omschrijven, maar door het donkere sfeertje huppelt evengoed de naam van Christian Death door je hoofd. Toronto is al overtuigd, nu de rest nog, en met zo’n sterk geluid zou dat best kunnen lukken!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis