tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE SCARLET FEVER - Collider

THE SCARLET FEVER

Collider

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveIndie

[76/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is certainly no coincidence that The Scarlet Fever played as support act for Sex Gang Children in 2013, because even though this Canadian band doesn’t really sound as pure death rock, the influences of the genre on this second album are noticeable.

The main asset of The Scarlet Fever is without any doubt the extravagant (but impressive ) voice of singer Jay Draper, that you can compare with both Nico and Marc Bolan. A good example is the cover of The Chauffeur by Duran Duran, in which drama joins decadent glam rock.

The band is proud that it is unique in the Toronto music scene, and of course every artist will say that, but it is quite right. The sound is modern and therefore can be described as indie, but because of the dark atmosphere the name of Christian Death also slips through your head. Toronto is already convinced, now the rest, and with such a strong sound they should succeed in doing so!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is zeker geen toeval dat The Scarlet Fever in 2013 in het voorprogramma van Sex Gang Children stond, want ook al klinkt deze Canadese band niet echt als pure deathrock, zijn de invloeden van dit genre op deze tweede plaat meer dan merkbaar.

De belangrijkste troef van The Scarlet Fever is zonder twijfel de extravagante (maar imponerende) stem van zanger Jay Draper die je zowel met Nico als Marc Bolan kan vergelijken. Een mooi voorbeeld is de cover van The Chauffeur van Duran Duran, waarin dramatiek mooi hand in hand gaat met decadente glamrock.

De band gaat er prat op dat hij uniek is in de muziekscène van Toronto, en ook zal iedere artiest dat wel van zichzelf zeggen, klopt het als een bus. Het geluid is modern en dus kan je het als indie omschrijven, maar door het donkere sfeertje huppelt evengoed de naam van Christian Death door je hoofd. Toronto is al overtuigd, nu de rest nog, en met zo’n sterk geluid zou dat best kunnen lukken!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)