tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE SCARLET FEVER - Collider

THE SCARLET FEVER

Collider

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveIndie

[76/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is certainly no coincidence that The Scarlet Fever played as support act for Sex Gang Children in 2013, because even though this Canadian band doesn’t really sound as pure death rock, the influences of the genre on this second album are noticeable.

The main asset of The Scarlet Fever is without any doubt the extravagant (but impressive ) voice of singer Jay Draper, that you can compare with both Nico and Marc Bolan. A good example is the cover of The Chauffeur by Duran Duran, in which drama joins decadent glam rock.

The band is proud that it is unique in the Toronto music scene, and of course every artist will say that, but it is quite right. The sound is modern and therefore can be described as indie, but because of the dark atmosphere the name of Christian Death also slips through your head. Toronto is already convinced, now the rest, and with such a strong sound they should succeed in doing so!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is zeker geen toeval dat The Scarlet Fever in 2013 in het voorprogramma van Sex Gang Children stond, want ook al klinkt deze Canadese band niet echt als pure deathrock, zijn de invloeden van dit genre op deze tweede plaat meer dan merkbaar.

De belangrijkste troef van The Scarlet Fever is zonder twijfel de extravagante (maar imponerende) stem van zanger Jay Draper die je zowel met Nico als Marc Bolan kan vergelijken. Een mooi voorbeeld is de cover van The Chauffeur van Duran Duran, waarin dramatiek mooi hand in hand gaat met decadente glamrock.

De band gaat er prat op dat hij uniek is in de muziekscène van Toronto, en ook zal iedere artiest dat wel van zichzelf zeggen, klopt het als een bus. Het geluid is modern en dus kan je het als indie omschrijven, maar door het donkere sfeertje huppelt evengoed de naam van Christian Death door je hoofd. Toronto is al overtuigd, nu de rest nog, en met zo’n sterk geluid zou dat best kunnen lukken!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination