tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE SCARLET FEVER - Collider

THE SCARLET FEVER

Collider

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveIndie

[76/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is certainly no coincidence that The Scarlet Fever played as support act for Sex Gang Children in 2013, because even though this Canadian band doesn’t really sound as pure death rock, the influences of the genre on this second album are noticeable.

The main asset of The Scarlet Fever is without any doubt the extravagant (but impressive ) voice of singer Jay Draper, that you can compare with both Nico and Marc Bolan. A good example is the cover of The Chauffeur by Duran Duran, in which drama joins decadent glam rock.

The band is proud that it is unique in the Toronto music scene, and of course every artist will say that, but it is quite right. The sound is modern and therefore can be described as indie, but because of the dark atmosphere the name of Christian Death also slips through your head. Toronto is already convinced, now the rest, and with such a strong sound they should succeed in doing so!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is zeker geen toeval dat The Scarlet Fever in 2013 in het voorprogramma van Sex Gang Children stond, want ook al klinkt deze Canadese band niet echt als pure deathrock, zijn de invloeden van dit genre op deze tweede plaat meer dan merkbaar.

De belangrijkste troef van The Scarlet Fever is zonder twijfel de extravagante (maar imponerende) stem van zanger Jay Draper die je zowel met Nico als Marc Bolan kan vergelijken. Een mooi voorbeeld is de cover van The Chauffeur van Duran Duran, waarin dramatiek mooi hand in hand gaat met decadente glamrock.

De band gaat er prat op dat hij uniek is in de muziekscène van Toronto, en ook zal iedere artiest dat wel van zichzelf zeggen, klopt het als een bus. Het geluid is modern en dus kan je het als indie omschrijven, maar door het donkere sfeertje huppelt evengoed de naam van Christian Death door je hoofd. Toronto is al overtuigd, nu de rest nog, en met zo’n sterk geluid zou dat best kunnen lukken!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

22
02
ERNEST MOON
Ba-Jesus
20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
02
Today, it’s 41 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
22
02
HOT PINK SATAN Release Official Music Video for 'Breathe'
22
02
Blutengel releases new album UN:GOT!
18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
02
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO - BEAUTY IN CHAOS
'I am forever indebted to everyone involved in Beauty In Chaos. We are friends, and now family with what we all created'.
19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
NICHOLAS GUNN
Material, Under the Influence of Music
22
02
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
21
02
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling