tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : THE SHOES - Chemicals

THE SHOES

Chemicals

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[81/100]   

PIAS
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Since their school days Guillaume Brière and Benjamin Lebeau always made music together. Music was their passion and after having played in many bands, they did some producer and remix work for celebrities like Lana Del Rey and Shakira for a while. However, the two guys from Reims want to play music, and so The Shoes were born. Their debut from 2009, Scandal, immediately became a stunner, and in the clip of Time to Dance (from their second album Crack My Bones) they featured Jake Gyllenhaal. It took another four years before the two French dance gods could come up with a third one, but today Chemicals is finally in the stores.

The intent of Guillaume Brière and Benjamin Lebeau is making a hybrid of many styles (cold wave, new wave, UK trance) and to sound like (at least in their own words) as a mixture of Frankie Goes To Hollywood and Aphex Twin. How strange this combination may sound, you tend to believe them after hearing the ten tracks on Chemicals, as the music of The Shoes is in any case something unique!

On the opening track Submarine, we immediately hear the guest vocals of Blaine Harrison of Mystery Jets. The music is weird contemporary psychedelica that sounds like LCD Soundsystem because of the distorted voice. Made For You is something different though, emotional pop with a melody that has Arcade Fire qualities. No, it’s not a dance song, although you can dance to it (if you want to), but this is just wonderful indie pop. Or maybe not, because Drifted now blasts out of the speakers with its fat beats. Lost In London sounds like Propaganda (yes, you read that right!) and that probably are those new wave influences of which Guillaume and Benjamin were talking! Vortex Of Love again features Blaine Harrison, it is an anthem like you only can expect of Editors, while Us & I is almost pure techno. Whistle is IDM, and 15 Instead & Brown is well…rap.

Yes, Chemicals is a very abstract record (just like the cover), but it is so varied and adventurous, that you continue to look for new things. And even if it is pure recycling, you find plenty of it on this release!

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

Guillaume Brière en Benjamin Lebeau zijn al sinds de schoolbanken dikke maatjes. Muziek was hun grote passie en na in talrijke bandjes te hebben gespeeld, deden ze een tijdje produceer- en remixwerk voor beroemdheden zoals Lana Del Rey en Shakira. De twee kerels uit Reims hadden echter zin om opnieuw instrumenten te bespelen en zo werd The Shoes geboren. Hun debuut uit 2009, Scandal was meteen een knaller van formaat, en voor de clip van Time to Dance (uit hun tweede plaat Crack My Bones) konden ze zelfs Jake Gyllenhaal strikken. Het duurde uiteindelijk toch nog vier jaar vooraleer de twee Franse dansgoden met een derde plaat voor de dag kwamen, maar vandaag ligt Chemicals eindelijk in de winkels.

De bedoeling van Guillaume Brière en Benjamin Lebeau is om allerlei stijlen (cold wave, new wave, UK trance) door elkaar te mengen en om zo (naar eigen zeggen toch) te klinken als een mengsel van Frankie Goes To Hollywood en Aphex Twin. Hoe vreemd zo’n combinatie ook klinkt, zou een mens het nog gaan geloven eens je de tien nummers van Chemicals hebt doorworsteld, want apart is de muziek van The Shoes in ieder geval!

In de openingstrack Submarine worden we meteen getrakteerd op de gastvocalen van Blaine Harrison van Mystery Jets. Vreemde eigentijdse psychedelica die door de stemvervormingen klinkt zoals LCD Soundsystem. Made For You is uit heel ander hout gesneden, emotionele pop met een melodietje dat Arcade Fire-kwaliteiten bezit. Neen, een dansnummer kan je dit noemen, ofschoon je er heerlijk kan op dansen, maar dit is gewoon heerlijke indiepop. Of toch niet, want daar knalt Drifted uit de speakers met zijn vette beats. Lost In Londen klinkt dan weer als Propaganda (jawel, je leest het goed!) en dat zijn wellicht die new wave-invloeden waarover Guillaume en Benjamin het hadden! Vortex Of Love, met alweer die Blaine Harrison, is een meebruller zoals je ze alleen maar van Editors kan verwachten, terwijl Us & I bijna pure techno is. Whistle is dan weer IDM, terwijl 15 Instead & Brown de raptoer opgaat.

Jawel, The Shoes heeft met Chemicals een zeer abstracte plaat (net zoals de hoes) afgeleverd, maar ze is zo gevarieerd en avontuurlijk dat je steeds maar blijft zoeken naar nieuwe dingen. En ook al is het pure recyclage, vind je ze in overvloed op deze release!

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

 

Other reviews from THE SHOES
THE SHOES • Crack My Bones

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr