tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : THE SHOES - Chemicals

THE SHOES

Chemicals

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[81/100]   

PIAS
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Since their school days Guillaume Brière and Benjamin Lebeau always made music together. Music was their passion and after having played in many bands, they did some producer and remix work for celebrities like Lana Del Rey and Shakira for a while. However, the two guys from Reims want to play music, and so The Shoes were born. Their debut from 2009, Scandal, immediately became a stunner, and in the clip of Time to Dance (from their second album Crack My Bones) they featured Jake Gyllenhaal. It took another four years before the two French dance gods could come up with a third one, but today Chemicals is finally in the stores.

The intent of Guillaume Brière and Benjamin Lebeau is making a hybrid of many styles (cold wave, new wave, UK trance) and to sound like (at least in their own words) as a mixture of Frankie Goes To Hollywood and Aphex Twin. How strange this combination may sound, you tend to believe them after hearing the ten tracks on Chemicals, as the music of The Shoes is in any case something unique!

On the opening track Submarine, we immediately hear the guest vocals of Blaine Harrison of Mystery Jets. The music is weird contemporary psychedelica that sounds like LCD Soundsystem because of the distorted voice. Made For You is something different though, emotional pop with a melody that has Arcade Fire qualities. No, it’s not a dance song, although you can dance to it (if you want to), but this is just wonderful indie pop. Or maybe not, because Drifted now blasts out of the speakers with its fat beats. Lost In London sounds like Propaganda (yes, you read that right!) and that probably are those new wave influences of which Guillaume and Benjamin were talking! Vortex Of Love again features Blaine Harrison, it is an anthem like you only can expect of Editors, while Us & I is almost pure techno. Whistle is IDM, and 15 Instead & Brown is well…rap.

Yes, Chemicals is a very abstract record (just like the cover), but it is so varied and adventurous, that you continue to look for new things. And even if it is pure recycling, you find plenty of it on this release!

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

Guillaume Brière en Benjamin Lebeau zijn al sinds de schoolbanken dikke maatjes. Muziek was hun grote passie en na in talrijke bandjes te hebben gespeeld, deden ze een tijdje produceer- en remixwerk voor beroemdheden zoals Lana Del Rey en Shakira. De twee kerels uit Reims hadden echter zin om opnieuw instrumenten te bespelen en zo werd The Shoes geboren. Hun debuut uit 2009, Scandal was meteen een knaller van formaat, en voor de clip van Time to Dance (uit hun tweede plaat Crack My Bones) konden ze zelfs Jake Gyllenhaal strikken. Het duurde uiteindelijk toch nog vier jaar vooraleer de twee Franse dansgoden met een derde plaat voor de dag kwamen, maar vandaag ligt Chemicals eindelijk in de winkels.

De bedoeling van Guillaume Brière en Benjamin Lebeau is om allerlei stijlen (cold wave, new wave, UK trance) door elkaar te mengen en om zo (naar eigen zeggen toch) te klinken als een mengsel van Frankie Goes To Hollywood en Aphex Twin. Hoe vreemd zo’n combinatie ook klinkt, zou een mens het nog gaan geloven eens je de tien nummers van Chemicals hebt doorworsteld, want apart is de muziek van The Shoes in ieder geval!

In de openingstrack Submarine worden we meteen getrakteerd op de gastvocalen van Blaine Harrison van Mystery Jets. Vreemde eigentijdse psychedelica die door de stemvervormingen klinkt zoals LCD Soundsystem. Made For You is uit heel ander hout gesneden, emotionele pop met een melodietje dat Arcade Fire-kwaliteiten bezit. Neen, een dansnummer kan je dit noemen, ofschoon je er heerlijk kan op dansen, maar dit is gewoon heerlijke indiepop. Of toch niet, want daar knalt Drifted uit de speakers met zijn vette beats. Lost In Londen klinkt dan weer als Propaganda (jawel, je leest het goed!) en dat zijn wellicht die new wave-invloeden waarover Guillaume en Benjamin het hadden! Vortex Of Love, met alweer die Blaine Harrison, is een meebruller zoals je ze alleen maar van Editors kan verwachten, terwijl Us & I bijna pure techno is. Whistle is dan weer IDM, terwijl 15 Instead & Brown de raptoer opgaat.

Jawel, The Shoes heeft met Chemicals een zeer abstracte plaat (net zoals de hoes) afgeleverd, maar ze is zo gevarieerd en avontuurlijk dat je steeds maar blijft zoeken naar nieuwe dingen. En ook al is het pure recyclage, vind je ze in overvloed op deze release!

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)

 

Other reviews from THE SHOES
THE SHOES • Crack My Bones

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion