tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/08/2011 : THE SHOES - Crack My Bones

THE SHOES

Crack My Bones

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

NEWS
16/08/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

While France isn’t exactly known for its Indie scene (I shamefully have to admit that right this minute only Phoenix springs to mind), French duo, Guillaume Briere and Benjamin Lebeau, or The Shoes, if you will, are on a mission to put it right there on the map again.
The first 3 tracks of their debut album ‘Crack My Bones’ are Indie in its most original form. A mixture of styles, a
party of instruments and strong vocals that holds the melee together and by the 5th track ‘Time To Dance’ everyone is officially invited to the dancefloor. And I strongly urge you to accept the invitation, because every song after that brings another surprise.

Although, in all honesty, that surprise sometimes turns out to be a bit too hard to swallow. ‘Bored’ sounds so very different, with a completely different feeling to it and seems to be a bit of a ‘misfit’ on the album.
The Shoes’ wide musical background jumps out immediately.
Between producing tracks for Shakira, to working with high-profile producer Lexxx (who worked with bands as Arcade Fire as well as Madonna), there can be no doubt this album was destined to become something really special. There are so many bands I recognize through the music and a dozen references spring to mind, but still the entire album manages to portray a canvas that hasn’t quite been seen before.
So in short, if you like highly danceable indie music, this is defo a must-have album!

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


NL

Ook al is Frankrijk niet echt bekend voor zijn indie muziek (ik moet met het schaamrood op de kaken toegeven dat Phoenix momenteel de enige naam is die spontaan bij me opkomt), is het Franse duo Guillaume Briere en Benjamin Lebeau, oftewel The Shoes, op een missie om hier verandering in te brengen.
De eerste 3 nummers van hun debuutalbum ‘Crack My Bones’ zijn indie in zijn zuiverste vorm. Een mengelmoes van verschillende invloeden, instrumenten en een indrukwekkende stem die het geheel bij elkaar houdt. En bij het vijfde nummer ‘Time To Dance’ is iedereen dan ook officieel uitgenodigd op de dansvloer. En ik kan u enkel aanraden om deze uitnodiging te aanvaarden, want elk nummer dat volgt is een verrassing.

Al moet ik eerlijkheidshalve toegeven dat die verrassingen niet altijd even aangenaam zijn. ‘Bored’ bijvoorbeeld komt een beetje uit de lucht vallen en voelt aan als een buitenbeentje op het album.
Het is meteen duidelijk dat de heren van The Shoes een heel brede muzikale achtergrond hebben. Tussen het producen van nummers voor Shakira en het samenwerken met producer Lexxx (die ondermeer al samenwerkte met zowel Arcade Fire als Madonna) door, kon het niet anders dan dat dit album iets bijzonders zou worden.
Je herkent onmiddellijk een dozijn verschillende bands in de muziek, maar toch slagen ze erin om met ‘Crack My Bones’ hun eigen verhaal te schrijven.
Kortom, als je een fan bent van indie muziek met een hoog dansbaarheidsgehalte, dan mag dit album zeker niet in je collectie ontbreken.

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque