tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/08/2011 : THE SHOES - Crack My Bones

THE SHOES

Crack My Bones

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

NEWS
16/08/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

While France isn’t exactly known for its Indie scene (I shamefully have to admit that right this minute only Phoenix springs to mind), French duo, Guillaume Briere and Benjamin Lebeau, or The Shoes, if you will, are on a mission to put it right there on the map again.
The first 3 tracks of their debut album ‘Crack My Bones’ are Indie in its most original form. A mixture of styles, a
party of instruments and strong vocals that holds the melee together and by the 5th track ‘Time To Dance’ everyone is officially invited to the dancefloor. And I strongly urge you to accept the invitation, because every song after that brings another surprise.

Although, in all honesty, that surprise sometimes turns out to be a bit too hard to swallow. ‘Bored’ sounds so very different, with a completely different feeling to it and seems to be a bit of a ‘misfit’ on the album.
The Shoes’ wide musical background jumps out immediately.
Between producing tracks for Shakira, to working with high-profile producer Lexxx (who worked with bands as Arcade Fire as well as Madonna), there can be no doubt this album was destined to become something really special. There are so many bands I recognize through the music and a dozen references spring to mind, but still the entire album manages to portray a canvas that hasn’t quite been seen before.
So in short, if you like highly danceable indie music, this is defo a must-have album!

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


NL

Ook al is Frankrijk niet echt bekend voor zijn indie muziek (ik moet met het schaamrood op de kaken toegeven dat Phoenix momenteel de enige naam is die spontaan bij me opkomt), is het Franse duo Guillaume Briere en Benjamin Lebeau, oftewel The Shoes, op een missie om hier verandering in te brengen.
De eerste 3 nummers van hun debuutalbum ‘Crack My Bones’ zijn indie in zijn zuiverste vorm. Een mengelmoes van verschillende invloeden, instrumenten en een indrukwekkende stem die het geheel bij elkaar houdt. En bij het vijfde nummer ‘Time To Dance’ is iedereen dan ook officieel uitgenodigd op de dansvloer. En ik kan u enkel aanraden om deze uitnodiging te aanvaarden, want elk nummer dat volgt is een verrassing.

Al moet ik eerlijkheidshalve toegeven dat die verrassingen niet altijd even aangenaam zijn. ‘Bored’ bijvoorbeeld komt een beetje uit de lucht vallen en voelt aan als een buitenbeentje op het album.
Het is meteen duidelijk dat de heren van The Shoes een heel brede muzikale achtergrond hebben. Tussen het producen van nummers voor Shakira en het samenwerken met producer Lexxx (die ondermeer al samenwerkte met zowel Arcade Fire als Madonna) door, kon het niet anders dan dat dit album iets bijzonders zou worden.
Je herkent onmiddellijk een dozijn verschillende bands in de muziek, maar toch slagen ze erin om met ‘Crack My Bones’ hun eigen verhaal te schrijven.
Kortom, als je een fan bent van indie muziek met een hoog dansbaarheidsgehalte, dan mag dit album zeker niet in je collectie ontbreken.

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)