tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/08/2011 : THE SHOES - Crack My Bones

THE SHOES

Crack My Bones

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

NEWS
16/08/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

While France isn’t exactly known for its Indie scene (I shamefully have to admit that right this minute only Phoenix springs to mind), French duo, Guillaume Briere and Benjamin Lebeau, or The Shoes, if you will, are on a mission to put it right there on the map again.
The first 3 tracks of their debut album ‘Crack My Bones’ are Indie in its most original form. A mixture of styles, a
party of instruments and strong vocals that holds the melee together and by the 5th track ‘Time To Dance’ everyone is officially invited to the dancefloor. And I strongly urge you to accept the invitation, because every song after that brings another surprise.

Although, in all honesty, that surprise sometimes turns out to be a bit too hard to swallow. ‘Bored’ sounds so very different, with a completely different feeling to it and seems to be a bit of a ‘misfit’ on the album.
The Shoes’ wide musical background jumps out immediately.
Between producing tracks for Shakira, to working with high-profile producer Lexxx (who worked with bands as Arcade Fire as well as Madonna), there can be no doubt this album was destined to become something really special. There are so many bands I recognize through the music and a dozen references spring to mind, but still the entire album manages to portray a canvas that hasn’t quite been seen before.
So in short, if you like highly danceable indie music, this is defo a must-have album!

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


NL

Ook al is Frankrijk niet echt bekend voor zijn indie muziek (ik moet met het schaamrood op de kaken toegeven dat Phoenix momenteel de enige naam is die spontaan bij me opkomt), is het Franse duo Guillaume Briere en Benjamin Lebeau, oftewel The Shoes, op een missie om hier verandering in te brengen.
De eerste 3 nummers van hun debuutalbum ‘Crack My Bones’ zijn indie in zijn zuiverste vorm. Een mengelmoes van verschillende invloeden, instrumenten en een indrukwekkende stem die het geheel bij elkaar houdt. En bij het vijfde nummer ‘Time To Dance’ is iedereen dan ook officieel uitgenodigd op de dansvloer. En ik kan u enkel aanraden om deze uitnodiging te aanvaarden, want elk nummer dat volgt is een verrassing.

Al moet ik eerlijkheidshalve toegeven dat die verrassingen niet altijd even aangenaam zijn. ‘Bored’ bijvoorbeeld komt een beetje uit de lucht vallen en voelt aan als een buitenbeentje op het album.
Het is meteen duidelijk dat de heren van The Shoes een heel brede muzikale achtergrond hebben. Tussen het producen van nummers voor Shakira en het samenwerken met producer Lexxx (die ondermeer al samenwerkte met zowel Arcade Fire als Madonna) door, kon het niet anders dan dat dit album iets bijzonders zou worden.
Je herkent onmiddellijk een dozijn verschillende bands in de muziek, maar toch slagen ze erin om met ‘Crack My Bones’ hun eigen verhaal te schrijven.
Kortom, als je een fan bent van indie muziek met een hoog dansbaarheidsgehalte, dan mag dit album zeker niet in je collectie ontbreken.

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets