tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/08/2011 : THE SHOES - Crack My Bones

THE SHOES

Crack My Bones

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

NEWS
16/08/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

While France isn’t exactly known for its Indie scene (I shamefully have to admit that right this minute only Phoenix springs to mind), French duo, Guillaume Briere and Benjamin Lebeau, or The Shoes, if you will, are on a mission to put it right there on the map again.
The first 3 tracks of their debut album ‘Crack My Bones’ are Indie in its most original form. A mixture of styles, a
party of instruments and strong vocals that holds the melee together and by the 5th track ‘Time To Dance’ everyone is officially invited to the dancefloor. And I strongly urge you to accept the invitation, because every song after that brings another surprise.

Although, in all honesty, that surprise sometimes turns out to be a bit too hard to swallow. ‘Bored’ sounds so very different, with a completely different feeling to it and seems to be a bit of a ‘misfit’ on the album.
The Shoes’ wide musical background jumps out immediately.
Between producing tracks for Shakira, to working with high-profile producer Lexxx (who worked with bands as Arcade Fire as well as Madonna), there can be no doubt this album was destined to become something really special. There are so many bands I recognize through the music and a dozen references spring to mind, but still the entire album manages to portray a canvas that hasn’t quite been seen before.
So in short, if you like highly danceable indie music, this is defo a must-have album!

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


NL

Ook al is Frankrijk niet echt bekend voor zijn indie muziek (ik moet met het schaamrood op de kaken toegeven dat Phoenix momenteel de enige naam is die spontaan bij me opkomt), is het Franse duo Guillaume Briere en Benjamin Lebeau, oftewel The Shoes, op een missie om hier verandering in te brengen.
De eerste 3 nummers van hun debuutalbum ‘Crack My Bones’ zijn indie in zijn zuiverste vorm. Een mengelmoes van verschillende invloeden, instrumenten en een indrukwekkende stem die het geheel bij elkaar houdt. En bij het vijfde nummer ‘Time To Dance’ is iedereen dan ook officieel uitgenodigd op de dansvloer. En ik kan u enkel aanraden om deze uitnodiging te aanvaarden, want elk nummer dat volgt is een verrassing.

Al moet ik eerlijkheidshalve toegeven dat die verrassingen niet altijd even aangenaam zijn. ‘Bored’ bijvoorbeeld komt een beetje uit de lucht vallen en voelt aan als een buitenbeentje op het album.
Het is meteen duidelijk dat de heren van The Shoes een heel brede muzikale achtergrond hebben. Tussen het producen van nummers voor Shakira en het samenwerken met producer Lexxx (die ondermeer al samenwerkte met zowel Arcade Fire als Madonna) door, kon het niet anders dan dat dit album iets bijzonders zou worden.
Je herkent onmiddellijk een dozijn verschillende bands in de muziek, maar toch slagen ze erin om met ‘Crack My Bones’ hun eigen verhaal te schrijven.
Kortom, als je een fan bent van indie muziek met een hoog dansbaarheidsgehalte, dan mag dit album zeker niet in je collectie ontbreken.

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu