tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/08/2011 : THE SHOES - Crack My Bones

THE SHOES

Crack My Bones

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

NEWS
16/08/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

While France isn’t exactly known for its Indie scene (I shamefully have to admit that right this minute only Phoenix springs to mind), French duo, Guillaume Briere and Benjamin Lebeau, or The Shoes, if you will, are on a mission to put it right there on the map again.
The first 3 tracks of their debut album ‘Crack My Bones’ are Indie in its most original form. A mixture of styles, a
party of instruments and strong vocals that holds the melee together and by the 5th track ‘Time To Dance’ everyone is officially invited to the dancefloor. And I strongly urge you to accept the invitation, because every song after that brings another surprise.

Although, in all honesty, that surprise sometimes turns out to be a bit too hard to swallow. ‘Bored’ sounds so very different, with a completely different feeling to it and seems to be a bit of a ‘misfit’ on the album.
The Shoes’ wide musical background jumps out immediately.
Between producing tracks for Shakira, to working with high-profile producer Lexxx (who worked with bands as Arcade Fire as well as Madonna), there can be no doubt this album was destined to become something really special. There are so many bands I recognize through the music and a dozen references spring to mind, but still the entire album manages to portray a canvas that hasn’t quite been seen before.
So in short, if you like highly danceable indie music, this is defo a must-have album!

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


NL

Ook al is Frankrijk niet echt bekend voor zijn indie muziek (ik moet met het schaamrood op de kaken toegeven dat Phoenix momenteel de enige naam is die spontaan bij me opkomt), is het Franse duo Guillaume Briere en Benjamin Lebeau, oftewel The Shoes, op een missie om hier verandering in te brengen.
De eerste 3 nummers van hun debuutalbum ‘Crack My Bones’ zijn indie in zijn zuiverste vorm. Een mengelmoes van verschillende invloeden, instrumenten en een indrukwekkende stem die het geheel bij elkaar houdt. En bij het vijfde nummer ‘Time To Dance’ is iedereen dan ook officieel uitgenodigd op de dansvloer. En ik kan u enkel aanraden om deze uitnodiging te aanvaarden, want elk nummer dat volgt is een verrassing.

Al moet ik eerlijkheidshalve toegeven dat die verrassingen niet altijd even aangenaam zijn. ‘Bored’ bijvoorbeeld komt een beetje uit de lucht vallen en voelt aan als een buitenbeentje op het album.
Het is meteen duidelijk dat de heren van The Shoes een heel brede muzikale achtergrond hebben. Tussen het producen van nummers voor Shakira en het samenwerken met producer Lexxx (die ondermeer al samenwerkte met zowel Arcade Fire als Madonna) door, kon het niet anders dan dat dit album iets bijzonders zou worden.
Je herkent onmiddellijk een dozijn verschillende bands in de muziek, maar toch slagen ze erin om met ‘Crack My Bones’ hun eigen verhaal te schrijven.
Kortom, als je een fan bent van indie muziek met een hoog dansbaarheidsgehalte, dan mag dit album zeker niet in je collectie ontbreken.

Melissa BAUWENS
16/08/2011


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis