tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

23/10/2015 : THE SISTERS OF MERCY - The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

THE SISTERS OF MERCY

The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

Concert
23/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last Sunday, I saw a punk legend on stage (John Lydon), and the day after, a goth legend, although I'm sure that Andrew Eldritch would not agree on that. During the last decades, I saw The Sisters Of Mercy several times, and often it was not good: concerts were invisible because of the smoke screen, Eldritch was often in a bad mood, songs were almost unrecognizable or the band sounded like a bad cover band. But if it was good, then the tracks proofed their worth and strength. The key question of this Monday was: will it be good or bad this time? The Trix venue was sold out, despite the reasonably priced tickets of 45 euros.

The support act was Black Moth, a band that makes a sort of hard rock/stoner music. The female singer did a fine job and songs like Looner or Honey Lung stayed in my memory.

The Sisters of Mercy started with More. In the beginning the singing was quiet, but that improved during each track. The sound was generally good and it also occurred to me that Andrew was not hiding behind the smoke screen. We heard some great versions of Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice and Dominion / Mother Russia.

Most of the songs got a Vision Thing version and made the band sound like a well-oiled rock machine. The atmosphere in the venue was pretty good. The Gift That Shines (a Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) was played, just like Jihad (from the Gift EP by The Sisterhood). Another Sisterhood song, Rain From Heaven, opened the encores, followed by Lucretia, My Reflection and Vision Thing. They returned with The Temple of Love, although this is not exactly the best version I ever heard, and finally there was This Corrosion. Andrew even urged the audience to sing the chorus, which is all in all a remarkable and unique event. Rumors at the bar about a new album next year, we better not discuss, because that kind of talk should be taken with a grain of salt. But the main question of the evening got an answer: the concert was good, and for once the absentees were wrong.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion / Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven , Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


NL

Afgelopen zondag zag ik nog een punklegende aan het werk (John Lydon) en de dag erna was het de beurt aan een gothlegende, alhoewel ik er zeker van ben dat Andrew Eldritch het niet eens zou zijn met deze uitspraak. In de voorbije decennia zag ik The Sisters Of Mercy verschillende keren aan het werk, en wat ze deden, was vaak niet goed: concerten waarop je alleen maar een rookgordijn zag, Eldritch in een humeurige beu, songs die zo goed als onherkenbaar waren of gewoon een band die als een slechte covergroep klonk. Maar als het goed was, dan bewezen de nummers hun waarde en sterkte. De hamvraag van deze maandagavond was dan ook: zal het deze keer goed of slecht zijn? De Trix was uitverkocht en dat ondanks de redelijk dure tickets van 45 euro.

De support act was Black Moth, dat een soort van hardrock-/stonermuziek bracht. De zangeres deed het met haar fijne stem prima, en de songs Looner en Honey Lung blijven mij het beste bij.

Kwart over negen begon The Sisters of Mercy met More. De zang was van in het begin wat stilletjes, maar dat verbeterde bij ieder nummer. Het geluid was meestal goed en het viel me ook op dat Andrew zich deze keer niet achter het rookgordijn verstopte. We hoorden enkele geslaagde versies van Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice en Dominion/Mother Russia.

De meeste nummers werden in een Vision Thing-jasje gestoken en ze klonken als onderdeel van een goed geoliede rockmachine. De sfeer in de zaal was opperbest. The Gift That Shines ( een Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) passeerde de revue, net als Jihad (uit de Gift EP van The Sisterhood). Een ander Sisterhood-nummer, Rain From Heaven, opende de set bisnummers, gevolgd door Lucretia, My Reflection en Vision Thing. Daarna keerden ze nog terug met The Temple of Love, alhoewel dit niet meteen de beste versie is die ik al hoorde, en ten slotte was er nog This Corrosion. Andrew spoorde zelfs het publiek eventjes aan om mee te doen tijdens het refrein, wat al bij al toch een opmerkelijk en uniek feit is. Het gerucht dat achteraf de ronde deed aan de bar dat er volgend jaar een nieuw album zou verschijnen, laten we maar in het midden, cafépraat moet je nu eenmaal met het nodige zout nemen. Maar de belangrijkste vraag van de avond kreeg wel een antwoord: het concert was goed, en voor één keer hadden de afwezigen ongelijk.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion/Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven, Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell