tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

23/10/2015 : THE SISTERS OF MERCY - The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

THE SISTERS OF MERCY

The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

Concert
23/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last Sunday, I saw a punk legend on stage (John Lydon), and the day after, a goth legend, although I'm sure that Andrew Eldritch would not agree on that. During the last decades, I saw The Sisters Of Mercy several times, and often it was not good: concerts were invisible because of the smoke screen, Eldritch was often in a bad mood, songs were almost unrecognizable or the band sounded like a bad cover band. But if it was good, then the tracks proofed their worth and strength. The key question of this Monday was: will it be good or bad this time? The Trix venue was sold out, despite the reasonably priced tickets of 45 euros.

The support act was Black Moth, a band that makes a sort of hard rock/stoner music. The female singer did a fine job and songs like Looner or Honey Lung stayed in my memory.

The Sisters of Mercy started with More. In the beginning the singing was quiet, but that improved during each track. The sound was generally good and it also occurred to me that Andrew was not hiding behind the smoke screen. We heard some great versions of Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice and Dominion / Mother Russia.

Most of the songs got a Vision Thing version and made the band sound like a well-oiled rock machine. The atmosphere in the venue was pretty good. The Gift That Shines (a Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) was played, just like Jihad (from the Gift EP by The Sisterhood). Another Sisterhood song, Rain From Heaven, opened the encores, followed by Lucretia, My Reflection and Vision Thing. They returned with The Temple of Love, although this is not exactly the best version I ever heard, and finally there was This Corrosion. Andrew even urged the audience to sing the chorus, which is all in all a remarkable and unique event. Rumors at the bar about a new album next year, we better not discuss, because that kind of talk should be taken with a grain of salt. But the main question of the evening got an answer: the concert was good, and for once the absentees were wrong.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion / Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven , Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


NL

Afgelopen zondag zag ik nog een punklegende aan het werk (John Lydon) en de dag erna was het de beurt aan een gothlegende, alhoewel ik er zeker van ben dat Andrew Eldritch het niet eens zou zijn met deze uitspraak. In de voorbije decennia zag ik The Sisters Of Mercy verschillende keren aan het werk, en wat ze deden, was vaak niet goed: concerten waarop je alleen maar een rookgordijn zag, Eldritch in een humeurige beu, songs die zo goed als onherkenbaar waren of gewoon een band die als een slechte covergroep klonk. Maar als het goed was, dan bewezen de nummers hun waarde en sterkte. De hamvraag van deze maandagavond was dan ook: zal het deze keer goed of slecht zijn? De Trix was uitverkocht en dat ondanks de redelijk dure tickets van 45 euro.

De support act was Black Moth, dat een soort van hardrock-/stonermuziek bracht. De zangeres deed het met haar fijne stem prima, en de songs Looner en Honey Lung blijven mij het beste bij.

Kwart over negen begon The Sisters of Mercy met More. De zang was van in het begin wat stilletjes, maar dat verbeterde bij ieder nummer. Het geluid was meestal goed en het viel me ook op dat Andrew zich deze keer niet achter het rookgordijn verstopte. We hoorden enkele geslaagde versies van Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice en Dominion/Mother Russia.

De meeste nummers werden in een Vision Thing-jasje gestoken en ze klonken als onderdeel van een goed geoliede rockmachine. De sfeer in de zaal was opperbest. The Gift That Shines ( een Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) passeerde de revue, net als Jihad (uit de Gift EP van The Sisterhood). Een ander Sisterhood-nummer, Rain From Heaven, opende de set bisnummers, gevolgd door Lucretia, My Reflection en Vision Thing. Daarna keerden ze nog terug met The Temple of Love, alhoewel dit niet meteen de beste versie is die ik al hoorde, en ten slotte was er nog This Corrosion. Andrew spoorde zelfs het publiek eventjes aan om mee te doen tijdens het refrein, wat al bij al toch een opmerkelijk en uniek feit is. Het gerucht dat achteraf de ronde deed aan de bar dat er volgend jaar een nieuw album zou verschijnen, laten we maar in het midden, cafépraat moet je nu eenmaal met het nodige zout nemen. Maar de belangrijkste vraag van de avond kreeg wel een antwoord: het concert was goed, en voor één keer hadden de afwezigen ongelijk.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion/Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven, Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face