tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

23/10/2015 : THE SISTERS OF MERCY - The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

THE SISTERS OF MERCY

The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

Concert
23/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last Sunday, I saw a punk legend on stage (John Lydon), and the day after, a goth legend, although I'm sure that Andrew Eldritch would not agree on that. During the last decades, I saw The Sisters Of Mercy several times, and often it was not good: concerts were invisible because of the smoke screen, Eldritch was often in a bad mood, songs were almost unrecognizable or the band sounded like a bad cover band. But if it was good, then the tracks proofed their worth and strength. The key question of this Monday was: will it be good or bad this time? The Trix venue was sold out, despite the reasonably priced tickets of 45 euros.

The support act was Black Moth, a band that makes a sort of hard rock/stoner music. The female singer did a fine job and songs like Looner or Honey Lung stayed in my memory.

The Sisters of Mercy started with More. In the beginning the singing was quiet, but that improved during each track. The sound was generally good and it also occurred to me that Andrew was not hiding behind the smoke screen. We heard some great versions of Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice and Dominion / Mother Russia.

Most of the songs got a Vision Thing version and made the band sound like a well-oiled rock machine. The atmosphere in the venue was pretty good. The Gift That Shines (a Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) was played, just like Jihad (from the Gift EP by The Sisterhood). Another Sisterhood song, Rain From Heaven, opened the encores, followed by Lucretia, My Reflection and Vision Thing. They returned with The Temple of Love, although this is not exactly the best version I ever heard, and finally there was This Corrosion. Andrew even urged the audience to sing the chorus, which is all in all a remarkable and unique event. Rumors at the bar about a new album next year, we better not discuss, because that kind of talk should be taken with a grain of salt. But the main question of the evening got an answer: the concert was good, and for once the absentees were wrong.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion / Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven , Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


NL

Afgelopen zondag zag ik nog een punklegende aan het werk (John Lydon) en de dag erna was het de beurt aan een gothlegende, alhoewel ik er zeker van ben dat Andrew Eldritch het niet eens zou zijn met deze uitspraak. In de voorbije decennia zag ik The Sisters Of Mercy verschillende keren aan het werk, en wat ze deden, was vaak niet goed: concerten waarop je alleen maar een rookgordijn zag, Eldritch in een humeurige beu, songs die zo goed als onherkenbaar waren of gewoon een band die als een slechte covergroep klonk. Maar als het goed was, dan bewezen de nummers hun waarde en sterkte. De hamvraag van deze maandagavond was dan ook: zal het deze keer goed of slecht zijn? De Trix was uitverkocht en dat ondanks de redelijk dure tickets van 45 euro.

De support act was Black Moth, dat een soort van hardrock-/stonermuziek bracht. De zangeres deed het met haar fijne stem prima, en de songs Looner en Honey Lung blijven mij het beste bij.

Kwart over negen begon The Sisters of Mercy met More. De zang was van in het begin wat stilletjes, maar dat verbeterde bij ieder nummer. Het geluid was meestal goed en het viel me ook op dat Andrew zich deze keer niet achter het rookgordijn verstopte. We hoorden enkele geslaagde versies van Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice en Dominion/Mother Russia.

De meeste nummers werden in een Vision Thing-jasje gestoken en ze klonken als onderdeel van een goed geoliede rockmachine. De sfeer in de zaal was opperbest. The Gift That Shines ( een Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) passeerde de revue, net als Jihad (uit de Gift EP van The Sisterhood). Een ander Sisterhood-nummer, Rain From Heaven, opende de set bisnummers, gevolgd door Lucretia, My Reflection en Vision Thing. Daarna keerden ze nog terug met The Temple of Love, alhoewel dit niet meteen de beste versie is die ik al hoorde, en ten slotte was er nog This Corrosion. Andrew spoorde zelfs het publiek eventjes aan om mee te doen tijdens het refrein, wat al bij al toch een opmerkelijk en uniek feit is. Het gerucht dat achteraf de ronde deed aan de bar dat er volgend jaar een nieuw album zou verschijnen, laten we maar in het midden, cafépraat moet je nu eenmaal met het nodige zout nemen. Maar de belangrijkste vraag van de avond kreeg wel een antwoord: het concert was goed, en voor één keer hadden de afwezigen ongelijk.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion/Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven, Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods