tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

23/10/2015 : THE SISTERS OF MERCY - The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

THE SISTERS OF MERCY

The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)

Concert
23/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last Sunday, I saw a punk legend on stage (John Lydon), and the day after, a goth legend, although I'm sure that Andrew Eldritch would not agree on that. During the last decades, I saw The Sisters Of Mercy several times, and often it was not good: concerts were invisible because of the smoke screen, Eldritch was often in a bad mood, songs were almost unrecognizable or the band sounded like a bad cover band. But if it was good, then the tracks proofed their worth and strength. The key question of this Monday was: will it be good or bad this time? The Trix venue was sold out, despite the reasonably priced tickets of 45 euros.

The support act was Black Moth, a band that makes a sort of hard rock/stoner music. The female singer did a fine job and songs like Looner or Honey Lung stayed in my memory.

The Sisters of Mercy started with More. In the beginning the singing was quiet, but that improved during each track. The sound was generally good and it also occurred to me that Andrew was not hiding behind the smoke screen. We heard some great versions of Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice and Dominion / Mother Russia.

Most of the songs got a Vision Thing version and made the band sound like a well-oiled rock machine. The atmosphere in the venue was pretty good. The Gift That Shines (a Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) was played, just like Jihad (from the Gift EP by The Sisterhood). Another Sisterhood song, Rain From Heaven, opened the encores, followed by Lucretia, My Reflection and Vision Thing. They returned with The Temple of Love, although this is not exactly the best version I ever heard, and finally there was This Corrosion. Andrew even urged the audience to sing the chorus, which is all in all a remarkable and unique event. Rumors at the bar about a new album next year, we better not discuss, because that kind of talk should be taken with a grain of salt. But the main question of the evening got an answer: the concert was good, and for once the absentees were wrong.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion / Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven , Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


NL

Afgelopen zondag zag ik nog een punklegende aan het werk (John Lydon) en de dag erna was het de beurt aan een gothlegende, alhoewel ik er zeker van ben dat Andrew Eldritch het niet eens zou zijn met deze uitspraak. In de voorbije decennia zag ik The Sisters Of Mercy verschillende keren aan het werk, en wat ze deden, was vaak niet goed: concerten waarop je alleen maar een rookgordijn zag, Eldritch in een humeurige beu, songs die zo goed als onherkenbaar waren of gewoon een band die als een slechte covergroep klonk. Maar als het goed was, dan bewezen de nummers hun waarde en sterkte. De hamvraag van deze maandagavond was dan ook: zal het deze keer goed of slecht zijn? De Trix was uitverkocht en dat ondanks de redelijk dure tickets van 45 euro.

De support act was Black Moth, dat een soort van hardrock-/stonermuziek bracht. De zangeres deed het met haar fijne stem prima, en de songs Looner en Honey Lung blijven mij het beste bij.

Kwart over negen begon The Sisters of Mercy met More. De zang was van in het begin wat stilletjes, maar dat verbeterde bij ieder nummer. Het geluid was meestal goed en het viel me ook op dat Andrew zich deze keer niet achter het rookgordijn verstopte. We hoorden enkele geslaagde versies van Crash and Burn, Marianne, Alice en Dominion/Mother Russia.

De meeste nummers werden in een Vision Thing-jasje gestoken en ze klonken als onderdeel van een goed geoliede rockmachine. De sfeer in de zaal was opperbest. The Gift That Shines ( een Red Lorry Yellow Lorry cover) passeerde de revue, net als Jihad (uit de Gift EP van The Sisterhood). Een ander Sisterhood-nummer, Rain From Heaven, opende de set bisnummers, gevolgd door Lucretia, My Reflection en Vision Thing. Daarna keerden ze nog terug met The Temple of Love, alhoewel dit niet meteen de beste versie is die ik al hoorde, en ten slotte was er nog This Corrosion. Andrew spoorde zelfs het publiek eventjes aan om mee te doen tijdens het refrein, wat al bij al toch een opmerkelijk en uniek feit is. Het gerucht dat achteraf de ronde deed aan de bar dat er volgend jaar een nieuw album zou verschijnen, laten we maar in het midden, cafépraat moet je nu eenmaal met het nodige zout nemen. Maar de belangrijkste vraag van de avond kreeg wel een antwoord: het concert was goed, en voor één keer hadden de afwezigen ongelijk.

Setlist: More, Ribbons, Crash and Burn, Body Electric, Amphetamine Logic, Alice, Arms, Marianne, Gift That Shines, Dominion/Mother Russia, Summer, First and Last and Always, Jihad, Valentine, Flood II Encore1: Rain From Heaven, Lucretia My Reflection, Vision Thing Encore 2: Temple of Love, This Corrosion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/10/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)