tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : THE SPIRITUAL BAT - Cruel machine

THE SPIRITUAL BAT

Cruel machine

MusicCD
Death Rock / Batcave

[74/100]   

Danse Macabre
20/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe some of our readers will remember The Spiritual Bats but for some years this Italian band has been reduced to a duo and so it happens that Rosetta (aka Rosy) and Dario have decided that it was better to rock the world as The Spiritual Bat.

"Cruel machine" has become a flashback from things that happened over the last few years. Things that could have been, things that actually were and of course a glimpse into the future. The death of Claudio Mura, their friend and sound engineer has left its mark. This release, especially the track "Thunderstorm" seems like a personal tribute and is reminiscent of the Batcave movement's heydays.

Rosy's voice is similar to the one of Siouxsie or even Anne Marie Hurst (from Skeletal Family-fame), while those guitars are deathrock of the highest order. Just listen to the title track and you know why you once thought that Christian Death made the best deathrock ever and we're not saying this out of the blue. "Tormented Body" was once featured on the "The Unquiet Grave Volume 1"-compilation on Cleopatra Records. There is even a place for some synths on here, namely on "The other side" which features Tyves Oben from Place4Tears.

If you like bands who like flirt with tragic beauty then you'll love this deathrock release. No surprises, just quality and that makes "Cruel Machine" a release that has to be checked out.

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


NL

Lezers die de voetnoten van de goth geschiedenis beheersen zullen waarschijnlijk ooit wel van het Italiaans goth groepje The Spiritual Bats gehoord hebben. Jaren later zagen ze dat hun groep slechts twee leden telden en daarom vonden Rosetta (aka Rosy) en Dario dat het beter was om de toekomst in te gaan als The Spiritual Bat.

"Cruel machine" , dat op Danse Macabre werd uitgebracht, zou eigenlijk best kunnen doorgaan als een blik in het verleden van deze groep. Momenten van wat was, wat kon zijn en wie weet wat ook nog zou kunnen zijn.

Deze groep was vooral onthutst door het plotse overlijden van hun geluidsman Claudio Mura en net alsof het een belofte aan een zielgenoot betrof, maakten zij van een track als "Thunderstorm" iets wat zou kunnen vergeleken met wat wij enkel kennen van de Batcave hoogdagen.

Rosy's stem zal je zonder meer terug doen denken aan die van Siouxsie (of zelfs die van Anne-Marie Hurst van Skeletal Family) terwijl de gitaren zo uit een Christian Death plaat konden komen. Luister gewoon naar het titelnummer en je weet meteen waar we het over hebben!

Trouwens, het is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen want zo verscheen "Tormented Body" een paar jaar eerder op de compilatie "The Unquiet Grave Volume 1" die destijds op Cleopatra Records werd uitgebracht.

Op "The other side" waar Tyves Oben van Place4Tears op meespeelt horen we zelfs een synthje opduiken.

En inderdaad, we denken dat je het door hebt: wie schoonheid in de tragiek ziet en verliefd is op alles wat naar death rock ruikt, moet dit beslist eens uitchecken, zeg maar dat Peek-A-Boo het gezegd heeft.

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein