tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : THE SPIRITUAL BAT - Cruel machine

THE SPIRITUAL BAT

Cruel machine

MusicCD
Death Rock / Batcave

[74/100]   

Danse Macabre
20/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe some of our readers will remember The Spiritual Bats but for some years this Italian band has been reduced to a duo and so it happens that Rosetta (aka Rosy) and Dario have decided that it was better to rock the world as The Spiritual Bat.

"Cruel machine" has become a flashback from things that happened over the last few years. Things that could have been, things that actually were and of course a glimpse into the future. The death of Claudio Mura, their friend and sound engineer has left its mark. This release, especially the track "Thunderstorm" seems like a personal tribute and is reminiscent of the Batcave movement's heydays.

Rosy's voice is similar to the one of Siouxsie or even Anne Marie Hurst (from Skeletal Family-fame), while those guitars are deathrock of the highest order. Just listen to the title track and you know why you once thought that Christian Death made the best deathrock ever and we're not saying this out of the blue. "Tormented Body" was once featured on the "The Unquiet Grave Volume 1"-compilation on Cleopatra Records. There is even a place for some synths on here, namely on "The other side" which features Tyves Oben from Place4Tears.

If you like bands who like flirt with tragic beauty then you'll love this deathrock release. No surprises, just quality and that makes "Cruel Machine" a release that has to be checked out.

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


NL

Lezers die de voetnoten van de goth geschiedenis beheersen zullen waarschijnlijk ooit wel van het Italiaans goth groepje The Spiritual Bats gehoord hebben. Jaren later zagen ze dat hun groep slechts twee leden telden en daarom vonden Rosetta (aka Rosy) en Dario dat het beter was om de toekomst in te gaan als The Spiritual Bat.

"Cruel machine" , dat op Danse Macabre werd uitgebracht, zou eigenlijk best kunnen doorgaan als een blik in het verleden van deze groep. Momenten van wat was, wat kon zijn en wie weet wat ook nog zou kunnen zijn.

Deze groep was vooral onthutst door het plotse overlijden van hun geluidsman Claudio Mura en net alsof het een belofte aan een zielgenoot betrof, maakten zij van een track als "Thunderstorm" iets wat zou kunnen vergeleken met wat wij enkel kennen van de Batcave hoogdagen.

Rosy's stem zal je zonder meer terug doen denken aan die van Siouxsie (of zelfs die van Anne-Marie Hurst van Skeletal Family) terwijl de gitaren zo uit een Christian Death plaat konden komen. Luister gewoon naar het titelnummer en je weet meteen waar we het over hebben!

Trouwens, het is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen want zo verscheen "Tormented Body" een paar jaar eerder op de compilatie "The Unquiet Grave Volume 1" die destijds op Cleopatra Records werd uitgebracht.

Op "The other side" waar Tyves Oben van Place4Tears op meespeelt horen we zelfs een synthje opduiken.

En inderdaad, we denken dat je het door hebt: wie schoonheid in de tragiek ziet en verliefd is op alles wat naar death rock ruikt, moet dit beslist eens uitchecken, zeg maar dat Peek-A-Boo het gezegd heeft.

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes