tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California

THE TRAIN SET

Never California

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[80/100]   

Firestation Records
14/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Smiths were a special band with a unique sound. When I heard the opening track Hold On by The Train Set, I immediately thought of them, and so you know how their music can be best described. Even more, this is a compilation of a band that comes from the same period as the one from Morrissey and his companions. Why some groups make it and others don't, depends on a lot of factors. In any case, this compilation includes indie rock and uptempo songs with a guitar sound à la Johnny Marr (The Smiths) and McIntosh (Pretenders).

They released two 12 "inches that reached the Indie Record Charts, toured with The Happy Mondays (they had the same manager) and their first single She's Gone was the NME single of the week. And yet, they did not reach the public. The members came together again to make a selection for this compilation.

It's a fine album full of nostalgia, one for lovers of indie rock of the late 80s.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/09/2015


NL

The Smiths waren een bijzondere band, met een uniek en tegendraads geluid. Meteen bij het openingsnummer Hold On van The Train Set moest ik meteen aan hun denken, en hiermee weet je ook in welke richting we hun muziek kunnen situeren. Sterker nog, dit is een compilatie van een band uit dezelfde periode als die van Morrissey en zijn kompanen. Waarom sommige groepen doorbreken en andere niet, hangt van heel veel factoren af. In ieder geval bevat deze verzamelaar indierock en uptempo liedjes met een gitaarspel à la Johnny Marr (The Smiths) en McIntosh (Pretenders).

Ze brachten twee 12” inches uit die de Indie Record Charts bereikten, gingen op tournee met The Happy Mondays (ze hadden trouwens dezelfde manager) en hun eerste single She ’s Gone werd in de NME de single van de week. En toch bereikten ze niet het grote publiek zoals sommige gelijksoortige groepen uit die tijd dat wel deden. De leden kwamen weer samen om een selectie te maken voor deze compilatie.

Het is een fijn album vol nostalgie en leuke liedjes, eentje voor liefhebbers van indierock uit de late 80s.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/09/2015


14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders