tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California

THE TRAIN SET

Never California

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[80/100]   

Firestation Records
14/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Smiths were a special band with a unique sound. When I heard the opening track Hold On by The Train Set, I immediately thought of them, and so you know how their music can be best described. Even more, this is a compilation of a band that comes from the same period as the one from Morrissey and his companions. Why some groups make it and others don't, depends on a lot of factors. In any case, this compilation includes indie rock and uptempo songs with a guitar sound à la Johnny Marr (The Smiths) and McIntosh (Pretenders).

They released two 12 "inches that reached the Indie Record Charts, toured with The Happy Mondays (they had the same manager) and their first single She's Gone was the NME single of the week. And yet, they did not reach the public. The members came together again to make a selection for this compilation.

It's a fine album full of nostalgia, one for lovers of indie rock of the late 80s.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/09/2015


NL

The Smiths waren een bijzondere band, met een uniek en tegendraads geluid. Meteen bij het openingsnummer Hold On van The Train Set moest ik meteen aan hun denken, en hiermee weet je ook in welke richting we hun muziek kunnen situeren. Sterker nog, dit is een compilatie van een band uit dezelfde periode als die van Morrissey en zijn kompanen. Waarom sommige groepen doorbreken en andere niet, hangt van heel veel factoren af. In ieder geval bevat deze verzamelaar indierock en uptempo liedjes met een gitaarspel à la Johnny Marr (The Smiths) en McIntosh (Pretenders).

Ze brachten twee 12” inches uit die de Indie Record Charts bereikten, gingen op tournee met The Happy Mondays (ze hadden trouwens dezelfde manager) en hun eerste single She ’s Gone werd in de NME de single van de week. En toch bereikten ze niet het grote publiek zoals sommige gelijksoortige groepen uit die tijd dat wel deden. De leden kwamen weer samen om een selectie te maken voor deze compilatie.

Het is een fijn album vol nostalgie en leuke liedjes, eentje voor liefhebbers van indierock uit de late 80s.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/09/2015


14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect