tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/03/2015 : THE TWILIGHT SAD - Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

THE TWILIGHT SAD

Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

MusicCD
Indie RockPost PunkPost Rock

[80/100]   

Fat Cat Records
10/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Twilight Sad is a Scottisch trio that produces mostly indie rock with influences from post punk and post rock. This is their fourth album and judging by this one, they could become a great band one day!

James Graham has a nice melancholic voice that is reminiscent to Morrissey, Tom Smith or Travis. He never sounds very happy, neither are his lyrics, but it i s always sung with a lot of emotion. Sound wise they are like the earlier Editors without being a copy.

I Could Give You All That You Don’ T Want is their recent single: an uptempo song with a sing-along chorus. It Never Was The Same could be the nice choice for a next one: a nice slowly built up song that is sung with a lot of emotion. The title track is more post rock with the guitar wall mixed to the background and that makes a nice contrast with Graham’s voice.

I don’t think that they will become hug with this album, but if their next album is better and made in the same style, it surely could happen for them.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


NL

The Twilight Sad is een Schots trio dat indierock met postpunk- en postrock-invloeden maakt. Dit is hun vierde album en je voelt dat ze weleens zeer groot zouden kunnen worden.

James Graham heeft een aangename stem die veel melancholie uitstraalt, een beetje zoals de treurwilgen Morrissey, Tom Smith of Travis. Erg vrolijk klinkt het nooit, net zoals de teksten, maarhet is met veel gevoel gezongen, met een geluid dat wat weg heeft van de vroegere Editors zonder daarom zo te klinken.

I Could Give You All That You Don’T Want is hun onlangs uitgebrachte single: een uptempo nummer met een meezingbaar refrein. It Never was The Same zou gerust de nieuwe single kunnen worden: traag opgebouwd en alweer gevoelig. Het titelnummer van de plaat neigt eerder naar postrock. De gitaarmuur wordt eerder naar de achtergrond gemixt en dat zorgt voor een mooi contrast met de weidse zangpartij van Graham. Het klinkt wat verrassend als je het met de voorgaande nummers vergelijkt.

Meteen groot worden met dit album, dat zie ik niet meteen gebeuren, maar als hun volgende album even goed is en tevens ook nog een herkenbaardere stijl heeft, dan zou dat toch wel eens kunnen gebeuren. Het geheel klinkt popachtiger en gepolijster dan hun vorig album. Heel aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere
MISCHA KAMP • Jongens (Boys)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK + POST ROCK
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
XXXYEARXXX years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)