tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/03/2015 : THE TWILIGHT SAD - Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

THE TWILIGHT SAD

Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

MusicCD
Indie RockPost PunkPost Rock

[80/100]   

Fat Cat Records
10/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Twilight Sad is a Scottisch trio that produces mostly indie rock with influences from post punk and post rock. This is their fourth album and judging by this one, they could become a great band one day!

James Graham has a nice melancholic voice that is reminiscent to Morrissey, Tom Smith or Travis. He never sounds very happy, neither are his lyrics, but it i s always sung with a lot of emotion. Sound wise they are like the earlier Editors without being a copy.

I Could Give You All That You Don’ T Want is their recent single: an uptempo song with a sing-along chorus. It Never Was The Same could be the nice choice for a next one: a nice slowly built up song that is sung with a lot of emotion. The title track is more post rock with the guitar wall mixed to the background and that makes a nice contrast with Graham’s voice.

I don’t think that they will become hug with this album, but if their next album is better and made in the same style, it surely could happen for them.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


NL

The Twilight Sad is een Schots trio dat indierock met postpunk- en postrock-invloeden maakt. Dit is hun vierde album en je voelt dat ze weleens zeer groot zouden kunnen worden.

James Graham heeft een aangename stem die veel melancholie uitstraalt, een beetje zoals de treurwilgen Morrissey, Tom Smith of Travis. Erg vrolijk klinkt het nooit, net zoals de teksten, maarhet is met veel gevoel gezongen, met een geluid dat wat weg heeft van de vroegere Editors zonder daarom zo te klinken.

I Could Give You All That You Don’T Want is hun onlangs uitgebrachte single: een uptempo nummer met een meezingbaar refrein. It Never was The Same zou gerust de nieuwe single kunnen worden: traag opgebouwd en alweer gevoelig. Het titelnummer van de plaat neigt eerder naar postrock. De gitaarmuur wordt eerder naar de achtergrond gemixt en dat zorgt voor een mooi contrast met de weidse zangpartij van Graham. Het klinkt wat verrassend als je het met de voorgaande nummers vergelijkt.

Meteen groot worden met dit album, dat zie ik niet meteen gebeuren, maar als hun volgende album even goed is en tevens ook nog een herkenbaardere stijl heeft, dan zou dat toch wel eens kunnen gebeuren. Het geheel klinkt popachtiger en gepolijster dan hun vorig album. Heel aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere
MISCHA KAMP • Jongens (Boys)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK + POST ROCK
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl