tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/03/2015 : THE TWILIGHT SAD - Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

THE TWILIGHT SAD

Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

MusicCD
Indie RockPost PunkPost Rock

[80/100]   

Fat Cat Records
10/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Twilight Sad is a Scottisch trio that produces mostly indie rock with influences from post punk and post rock. This is their fourth album and judging by this one, they could become a great band one day!

James Graham has a nice melancholic voice that is reminiscent to Morrissey, Tom Smith or Travis. He never sounds very happy, neither are his lyrics, but it i s always sung with a lot of emotion. Sound wise they are like the earlier Editors without being a copy.

I Could Give You All That You Don’ T Want is their recent single: an uptempo song with a sing-along chorus. It Never Was The Same could be the nice choice for a next one: a nice slowly built up song that is sung with a lot of emotion. The title track is more post rock with the guitar wall mixed to the background and that makes a nice contrast with Graham’s voice.

I don’t think that they will become hug with this album, but if their next album is better and made in the same style, it surely could happen for them.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


NL

The Twilight Sad is een Schots trio dat indierock met postpunk- en postrock-invloeden maakt. Dit is hun vierde album en je voelt dat ze weleens zeer groot zouden kunnen worden.

James Graham heeft een aangename stem die veel melancholie uitstraalt, een beetje zoals de treurwilgen Morrissey, Tom Smith of Travis. Erg vrolijk klinkt het nooit, net zoals de teksten, maarhet is met veel gevoel gezongen, met een geluid dat wat weg heeft van de vroegere Editors zonder daarom zo te klinken.

I Could Give You All That You Don’T Want is hun onlangs uitgebrachte single: een uptempo nummer met een meezingbaar refrein. It Never was The Same zou gerust de nieuwe single kunnen worden: traag opgebouwd en alweer gevoelig. Het titelnummer van de plaat neigt eerder naar postrock. De gitaarmuur wordt eerder naar de achtergrond gemixt en dat zorgt voor een mooi contrast met de weidse zangpartij van Graham. Het klinkt wat verrassend als je het met de voorgaande nummers vergelijkt.

Meteen groot worden met dit album, dat zie ik niet meteen gebeuren, maar als hun volgende album even goed is en tevens ook nog een herkenbaardere stijl heeft, dan zou dat toch wel eens kunnen gebeuren. Het geheel klinkt popachtiger en gepolijster dan hun vorig album. Heel aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere
MISCHA KAMP • Jongens (Boys)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK + POST ROCK
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive