tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/03/2015 : THE TWILIGHT SAD - Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

THE TWILIGHT SAD

Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

MusicCD
Indie RockPost PunkPost Rock

[80/100]   

Fat Cat Records
10/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Twilight Sad is a Scottisch trio that produces mostly indie rock with influences from post punk and post rock. This is their fourth album and judging by this one, they could become a great band one day!

James Graham has a nice melancholic voice that is reminiscent to Morrissey, Tom Smith or Travis. He never sounds very happy, neither are his lyrics, but it i s always sung with a lot of emotion. Sound wise they are like the earlier Editors without being a copy.

I Could Give You All That You Don’ T Want is their recent single: an uptempo song with a sing-along chorus. It Never Was The Same could be the nice choice for a next one: a nice slowly built up song that is sung with a lot of emotion. The title track is more post rock with the guitar wall mixed to the background and that makes a nice contrast with Graham’s voice.

I don’t think that they will become hug with this album, but if their next album is better and made in the same style, it surely could happen for them.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


NL

The Twilight Sad is een Schots trio dat indierock met postpunk- en postrock-invloeden maakt. Dit is hun vierde album en je voelt dat ze weleens zeer groot zouden kunnen worden.

James Graham heeft een aangename stem die veel melancholie uitstraalt, een beetje zoals de treurwilgen Morrissey, Tom Smith of Travis. Erg vrolijk klinkt het nooit, net zoals de teksten, maarhet is met veel gevoel gezongen, met een geluid dat wat weg heeft van de vroegere Editors zonder daarom zo te klinken.

I Could Give You All That You Don’T Want is hun onlangs uitgebrachte single: een uptempo nummer met een meezingbaar refrein. It Never was The Same zou gerust de nieuwe single kunnen worden: traag opgebouwd en alweer gevoelig. Het titelnummer van de plaat neigt eerder naar postrock. De gitaarmuur wordt eerder naar de achtergrond gemixt en dat zorgt voor een mooi contrast met de weidse zangpartij van Graham. Het klinkt wat verrassend als je het met de voorgaande nummers vergelijkt.

Meteen groot worden met dit album, dat zie ik niet meteen gebeuren, maar als hun volgende album even goed is en tevens ook nog een herkenbaardere stijl heeft, dan zou dat toch wel eens kunnen gebeuren. Het geheel klinkt popachtiger en gepolijster dan hun vorig album. Heel aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere
MISCHA KAMP • Jongens (Boys)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK + POST ROCK
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline