tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/03/2015 : THE TWILIGHT SAD - Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

THE TWILIGHT SAD

Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave

MusicCD
Indie RockPost PunkPost Rock

[80/100]   

Fat Cat Records
10/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Twilight Sad is a Scottisch trio that produces mostly indie rock with influences from post punk and post rock. This is their fourth album and judging by this one, they could become a great band one day!

James Graham has a nice melancholic voice that is reminiscent to Morrissey, Tom Smith or Travis. He never sounds very happy, neither are his lyrics, but it i s always sung with a lot of emotion. Sound wise they are like the earlier Editors without being a copy.

I Could Give You All That You Don’ T Want is their recent single: an uptempo song with a sing-along chorus. It Never Was The Same could be the nice choice for a next one: a nice slowly built up song that is sung with a lot of emotion. The title track is more post rock with the guitar wall mixed to the background and that makes a nice contrast with Graham’s voice.

I don’t think that they will become hug with this album, but if their next album is better and made in the same style, it surely could happen for them.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


NL

The Twilight Sad is een Schots trio dat indierock met postpunk- en postrock-invloeden maakt. Dit is hun vierde album en je voelt dat ze weleens zeer groot zouden kunnen worden.

James Graham heeft een aangename stem die veel melancholie uitstraalt, een beetje zoals de treurwilgen Morrissey, Tom Smith of Travis. Erg vrolijk klinkt het nooit, net zoals de teksten, maarhet is met veel gevoel gezongen, met een geluid dat wat weg heeft van de vroegere Editors zonder daarom zo te klinken.

I Could Give You All That You Don’T Want is hun onlangs uitgebrachte single: een uptempo nummer met een meezingbaar refrein. It Never was The Same zou gerust de nieuwe single kunnen worden: traag opgebouwd en alweer gevoelig. Het titelnummer van de plaat neigt eerder naar postrock. De gitaarmuur wordt eerder naar de achtergrond gemixt en dat zorgt voor een mooi contrast met de weidse zangpartij van Graham. Het klinkt wat verrassend als je het met de voorgaande nummers vergelijkt.

Meteen groot worden met dit album, dat zie ik niet meteen gebeuren, maar als hun volgende album even goed is en tevens ook nog een herkenbaardere stijl heeft, dan zou dat toch wel eens kunnen gebeuren. Het geheel klinkt popachtiger en gepolijster dan hun vorig album. Heel aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/03/2015


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL CURTIZ • Mildred Pierce
KODALINE • The One
G.F. HAENDEL • Messiah (Muzikaal Ensemble Alegría, Antwerpen, Sint-Andrieskerk, 7/03/2015)
• 1864
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere
MISCHA KAMP • Jongens (Boys)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK + POST ROCK
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed