tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Haunted

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Haunted

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
23/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes it seems like Peek-A-Boo has become the NME, as we come up with a band you better not miss every week (or is it every day?). Anyway, don’t blame us, as after all it is not our fault that so many good releases are out!

Take for example the fourth album by The Underground Youth. During 37 minutes you are immersed in a raging sea of ​​looming shoegaze noises, melancholic lyrics and beautiful melodies that stay in the head for a long time. Almost every track has the same elements: a dreamy (almost desperate) voice that sounds like Ian Curtis, the messy (but sublime) shoegaze noise of The Big Pink, the post-punk beat of B-Movie, the melodic noise from the early days of The Jesus & Mary Chain and a drum machine that probably once was used on some 4AD record.

The Underground Youth is a project of Craig Dyer from Manchester, who apparently has found his place at Fuzz Club (the shoegaze label par excellence). The CD (that is also available on limited vinyl) begins quite experimental, but immediately after the second number (Haunted) Craig drags you into an oasis of loud (but poppy) guitars. Sometimes it is a bit chaotic in a good way (Self Inflicted), and then it's a beautiful ballad or a daydreamer (Drown In Me or The Girl Behind, that even has a dark goth atmosphere).

Imagine what would happen if Interpol suddenly would sound like Pale Saints and you have Haunted in your hands. A sublime album, that should be in your record collection if you are keen on original shoegaze.

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


NL

Soms lijkt het wel alsof Peek-A-Boo de NME is waarin iedere week (of is het iedere dag?) één of andere band de hemel in wordt geprezen. Je mag ons van alles verwijten, maar hou er rekening mee dat het niet onze schuld is dat er zo veel goede releases uitkomen!

Neem nu de vierde plaat van The Underground Youth. 37 minuten lang word je ondergedompeld in een woeste zee van dreigende shoegazegeluiden, teksten vol weemoed en knappe melodieën die lang in het hoofd blijven nazinderen. Bijna ieder nummer heeft dezelfde kenmerken: een dromerige (bijna wanhopige) stem die verdraaid veel op die van Ian Curtis lijkt, het rommelige (maar sublieme) shoegazegeluid van The Big Pink, de post-punk van B Movie, het melodische lawaai uit de begindagen van The Jesus & Mary Chain en een drumcomputer die waarschijnlijk ooit eens op een of andere 4AD-plaat is gebruikt.

The Underground Youth is het eenmansproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester die blijkbaar op Fuzz Club (het shoegazelabel bij uitstek) zijn plek heeft gevonden. De cd (die trouwens ook op gelimiteerd vinyl verkrijgbaar is) begint vrij experimenteel, maar meteen na het tweede nummer (Haunted) sleurt Craig je mee in een oase van luide (maar al bij al poppy) gitaren. Soms is het wat chaotisch (Self Inflicted), en dan is het weer een wondermooie ballade van een dagdromer (Drown In Me of The Girl Behind, dat zelfs een donker gothsfeertje heeft).

Beeld je in wat er zou gebeuren mocht Interpol plots als Pale Saints klinken en je hebt Haunted in je handen. Een sublieme plaat die in je collectie moet als je weg bent van originele shoegaze.

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
DIIV • Is The Is Are
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)