tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Haunted

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Haunted

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
23/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes it seems like Peek-A-Boo has become the NME, as we come up with a band you better not miss every week (or is it every day?). Anyway, don’t blame us, as after all it is not our fault that so many good releases are out!

Take for example the fourth album by The Underground Youth. During 37 minutes you are immersed in a raging sea of ​​looming shoegaze noises, melancholic lyrics and beautiful melodies that stay in the head for a long time. Almost every track has the same elements: a dreamy (almost desperate) voice that sounds like Ian Curtis, the messy (but sublime) shoegaze noise of The Big Pink, the post-punk beat of B-Movie, the melodic noise from the early days of The Jesus & Mary Chain and a drum machine that probably once was used on some 4AD record.

The Underground Youth is a project of Craig Dyer from Manchester, who apparently has found his place at Fuzz Club (the shoegaze label par excellence). The CD (that is also available on limited vinyl) begins quite experimental, but immediately after the second number (Haunted) Craig drags you into an oasis of loud (but poppy) guitars. Sometimes it is a bit chaotic in a good way (Self Inflicted), and then it's a beautiful ballad or a daydreamer (Drown In Me or The Girl Behind, that even has a dark goth atmosphere).

Imagine what would happen if Interpol suddenly would sound like Pale Saints and you have Haunted in your hands. A sublime album, that should be in your record collection if you are keen on original shoegaze.

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


NL

Soms lijkt het wel alsof Peek-A-Boo de NME is waarin iedere week (of is het iedere dag?) één of andere band de hemel in wordt geprezen. Je mag ons van alles verwijten, maar hou er rekening mee dat het niet onze schuld is dat er zo veel goede releases uitkomen!

Neem nu de vierde plaat van The Underground Youth. 37 minuten lang word je ondergedompeld in een woeste zee van dreigende shoegazegeluiden, teksten vol weemoed en knappe melodieën die lang in het hoofd blijven nazinderen. Bijna ieder nummer heeft dezelfde kenmerken: een dromerige (bijna wanhopige) stem die verdraaid veel op die van Ian Curtis lijkt, het rommelige (maar sublieme) shoegazegeluid van The Big Pink, de post-punk van B Movie, het melodische lawaai uit de begindagen van The Jesus & Mary Chain en een drumcomputer die waarschijnlijk ooit eens op een of andere 4AD-plaat is gebruikt.

The Underground Youth is het eenmansproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester die blijkbaar op Fuzz Club (het shoegazelabel bij uitstek) zijn plek heeft gevonden. De cd (die trouwens ook op gelimiteerd vinyl verkrijgbaar is) begint vrij experimenteel, maar meteen na het tweede nummer (Haunted) sleurt Craig je mee in een oase van luide (maar al bij al poppy) gitaren. Soms is het wat chaotisch (Self Inflicted), en dan is het weer een wondermooie ballade van een dagdromer (Drown In Me of The Girl Behind, dat zelfs een donker gothsfeertje heeft).

Beeld je in wat er zou gebeuren mocht Interpol plots als Pale Saints klinken en je hebt Haunted in je handen. Een sublieme plaat die in je collectie moet als je weg bent van originele shoegaze.

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
DIIV • Is The Is Are
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love