tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Haunted

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Haunted

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
23/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes it seems like Peek-A-Boo has become the NME, as we come up with a band you better not miss every week (or is it every day?). Anyway, don’t blame us, as after all it is not our fault that so many good releases are out!

Take for example the fourth album by The Underground Youth. During 37 minutes you are immersed in a raging sea of ​​looming shoegaze noises, melancholic lyrics and beautiful melodies that stay in the head for a long time. Almost every track has the same elements: a dreamy (almost desperate) voice that sounds like Ian Curtis, the messy (but sublime) shoegaze noise of The Big Pink, the post-punk beat of B-Movie, the melodic noise from the early days of The Jesus & Mary Chain and a drum machine that probably once was used on some 4AD record.

The Underground Youth is a project of Craig Dyer from Manchester, who apparently has found his place at Fuzz Club (the shoegaze label par excellence). The CD (that is also available on limited vinyl) begins quite experimental, but immediately after the second number (Haunted) Craig drags you into an oasis of loud (but poppy) guitars. Sometimes it is a bit chaotic in a good way (Self Inflicted), and then it's a beautiful ballad or a daydreamer (Drown In Me or The Girl Behind, that even has a dark goth atmosphere).

Imagine what would happen if Interpol suddenly would sound like Pale Saints and you have Haunted in your hands. A sublime album, that should be in your record collection if you are keen on original shoegaze.

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


NL

Soms lijkt het wel alsof Peek-A-Boo de NME is waarin iedere week (of is het iedere dag?) één of andere band de hemel in wordt geprezen. Je mag ons van alles verwijten, maar hou er rekening mee dat het niet onze schuld is dat er zo veel goede releases uitkomen!

Neem nu de vierde plaat van The Underground Youth. 37 minuten lang word je ondergedompeld in een woeste zee van dreigende shoegazegeluiden, teksten vol weemoed en knappe melodieën die lang in het hoofd blijven nazinderen. Bijna ieder nummer heeft dezelfde kenmerken: een dromerige (bijna wanhopige) stem die verdraaid veel op die van Ian Curtis lijkt, het rommelige (maar sublieme) shoegazegeluid van The Big Pink, de post-punk van B Movie, het melodische lawaai uit de begindagen van The Jesus & Mary Chain en een drumcomputer die waarschijnlijk ooit eens op een of andere 4AD-plaat is gebruikt.

The Underground Youth is het eenmansproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester die blijkbaar op Fuzz Club (het shoegazelabel bij uitstek) zijn plek heeft gevonden. De cd (die trouwens ook op gelimiteerd vinyl verkrijgbaar is) begint vrij experimenteel, maar meteen na het tweede nummer (Haunted) sleurt Craig je mee in een oase van luide (maar al bij al poppy) gitaren. Soms is het wat chaotisch (Self Inflicted), en dan is het weer een wondermooie ballade van een dagdromer (Drown In Me of The Girl Behind, dat zelfs een donker gothsfeertje heeft).

Beeld je in wat er zou gebeuren mocht Interpol plots als Pale Saints klinken en je hebt Haunted in je handen. Een sublieme plaat die in je collectie moet als je weg bent van originele shoegaze.

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
DIIV • Is The Is Are
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence