tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Mademoiselle

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Mademoiselle

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth is the solo project of Craig Dyer from Manchester. The musician strongly believes in the DIY ethic, and he likes to do all things by himself. Of course that’s not such an obvious thing to do on stage, where he is assisted by a few musicians such as his wife, Frankie Franke of (the underrated) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer and Max James, who has collaborated with Johnny Marr.

According to Dyer, you don’t need the music industry. The Underground Youth is on the shoegaze label Fuzz Club now, but Craig proved with Mademoiselle that you can reach two million people without the support of a label: a collection of songs, composed in 2010 and only available on YouTube.

The fans kept on asking to release this wonderful work on CD and vinyl and that has happened now. Craig describes Mademoiselle as a 46-minute ode to music, film, literature and people who have inspired him.

The CD contains 11 tracks (including the cover Lord Can You Hear Me? By Spacemen 3), alternately played on an electric and acoustic guitar, and it all sounds a tad different from the current The Underground Youth. Nevertheless, it remains beautiful and you’ll hear shreds of shoegaze, but also indie (especially Sophia).

But let's not make too many comparisons. It is clear that Craig has a passion for indie bands with a dark atmosphere. The quality of Mademoiselle is of such a high level that is an unique work.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth is het soloproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester. De muzikant is een groot voorstander van de DIY-ethiek. Het liefst doet hij alles alleen, maar omdat dit op een podium niet zo vanzelfsprekend is, wordt hij bijgestaan door een paar muzikanten zoals zijn vrouw, Frankie Franke van (de onderschatte) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer en Max James die al met Johnny Marr samenwerkte.

Ook de muziekindustrie heb je volgens hem helemaal niet nodig. The Underground Youth zit op het shoegazelabel Fuzz Club, maar Craig bewees met Mademoiselle dat je ook twee miljoen mensen kan bereiken zonder de steun van een label: de songs zijn in 2010 gecomponeerd en waren alleen via YouTube te zien en te horen.

De vraag van de fans rees om dit prachtig werk ook op cd en vinyl uit te brengen en dat is nu dus gebeurd. Zelf noemt Craig Mademoiselle een 46 minuten durende ode aan de muziek, de film, de literatuur en mensen die hem hebben geïnspireerd.

De cd bevat 11 tracks (waaronder de cover Lord Can You Hear Me? van Spacemen 3) die afwisselend op een elektrische en akoestische gitaar worden gespeeld, en het geluid verschilt van wat we van The Underground Youth kennen. Desalniettemin blijft het even prachtig en hoor je er flarden shoegaze in, maar evenveel indie (en dan denken we vooral aan Sophia).

Maar laten we vooral niet te veel vergelijkingen maken. Het is duidelijk dat Craig een voorliefde heeft voor indiebands die donker klinken. De kwaliteit op Mademoiselle is van zo’n hoog niveau dat denken in hokjes deze artiest alleen maar oneer aandoet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)