tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Mademoiselle

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Mademoiselle

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth is the solo project of Craig Dyer from Manchester. The musician strongly believes in the DIY ethic, and he likes to do all things by himself. Of course that’s not such an obvious thing to do on stage, where he is assisted by a few musicians such as his wife, Frankie Franke of (the underrated) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer and Max James, who has collaborated with Johnny Marr.

According to Dyer, you don’t need the music industry. The Underground Youth is on the shoegaze label Fuzz Club now, but Craig proved with Mademoiselle that you can reach two million people without the support of a label: a collection of songs, composed in 2010 and only available on YouTube.

The fans kept on asking to release this wonderful work on CD and vinyl and that has happened now. Craig describes Mademoiselle as a 46-minute ode to music, film, literature and people who have inspired him.

The CD contains 11 tracks (including the cover Lord Can You Hear Me? By Spacemen 3), alternately played on an electric and acoustic guitar, and it all sounds a tad different from the current The Underground Youth. Nevertheless, it remains beautiful and you’ll hear shreds of shoegaze, but also indie (especially Sophia).

But let's not make too many comparisons. It is clear that Craig has a passion for indie bands with a dark atmosphere. The quality of Mademoiselle is of such a high level that is an unique work.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth is het soloproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester. De muzikant is een groot voorstander van de DIY-ethiek. Het liefst doet hij alles alleen, maar omdat dit op een podium niet zo vanzelfsprekend is, wordt hij bijgestaan door een paar muzikanten zoals zijn vrouw, Frankie Franke van (de onderschatte) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer en Max James die al met Johnny Marr samenwerkte.

Ook de muziekindustrie heb je volgens hem helemaal niet nodig. The Underground Youth zit op het shoegazelabel Fuzz Club, maar Craig bewees met Mademoiselle dat je ook twee miljoen mensen kan bereiken zonder de steun van een label: de songs zijn in 2010 gecomponeerd en waren alleen via YouTube te zien en te horen.

De vraag van de fans rees om dit prachtig werk ook op cd en vinyl uit te brengen en dat is nu dus gebeurd. Zelf noemt Craig Mademoiselle een 46 minuten durende ode aan de muziek, de film, de literatuur en mensen die hem hebben geïnspireerd.

De cd bevat 11 tracks (waaronder de cover Lord Can You Hear Me? van Spacemen 3) die afwisselend op een elektrische en akoestische gitaar worden gespeeld, en het geluid verschilt van wat we van The Underground Youth kennen. Desalniettemin blijft het even prachtig en hoor je er flarden shoegaze in, maar evenveel indie (en dan denken we vooral aan Sophia).

Maar laten we vooral niet te veel vergelijkingen maken. Het is duidelijk dat Craig een voorliefde heeft voor indiebands die donker klinken. De kwaliteit op Mademoiselle is van zo’n hoog niveau dat denken in hokjes deze artiest alleen maar oneer aandoet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap