tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Mademoiselle

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Mademoiselle

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth is the solo project of Craig Dyer from Manchester. The musician strongly believes in the DIY ethic, and he likes to do all things by himself. Of course that’s not such an obvious thing to do on stage, where he is assisted by a few musicians such as his wife, Frankie Franke of (the underrated) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer and Max James, who has collaborated with Johnny Marr.

According to Dyer, you don’t need the music industry. The Underground Youth is on the shoegaze label Fuzz Club now, but Craig proved with Mademoiselle that you can reach two million people without the support of a label: a collection of songs, composed in 2010 and only available on YouTube.

The fans kept on asking to release this wonderful work on CD and vinyl and that has happened now. Craig describes Mademoiselle as a 46-minute ode to music, film, literature and people who have inspired him.

The CD contains 11 tracks (including the cover Lord Can You Hear Me? By Spacemen 3), alternately played on an electric and acoustic guitar, and it all sounds a tad different from the current The Underground Youth. Nevertheless, it remains beautiful and you’ll hear shreds of shoegaze, but also indie (especially Sophia).

But let's not make too many comparisons. It is clear that Craig has a passion for indie bands with a dark atmosphere. The quality of Mademoiselle is of such a high level that is an unique work.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth is het soloproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester. De muzikant is een groot voorstander van de DIY-ethiek. Het liefst doet hij alles alleen, maar omdat dit op een podium niet zo vanzelfsprekend is, wordt hij bijgestaan door een paar muzikanten zoals zijn vrouw, Frankie Franke van (de onderschatte) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer en Max James die al met Johnny Marr samenwerkte.

Ook de muziekindustrie heb je volgens hem helemaal niet nodig. The Underground Youth zit op het shoegazelabel Fuzz Club, maar Craig bewees met Mademoiselle dat je ook twee miljoen mensen kan bereiken zonder de steun van een label: de songs zijn in 2010 gecomponeerd en waren alleen via YouTube te zien en te horen.

De vraag van de fans rees om dit prachtig werk ook op cd en vinyl uit te brengen en dat is nu dus gebeurd. Zelf noemt Craig Mademoiselle een 46 minuten durende ode aan de muziek, de film, de literatuur en mensen die hem hebben geïnspireerd.

De cd bevat 11 tracks (waaronder de cover Lord Can You Hear Me? van Spacemen 3) die afwisselend op een elektrische en akoestische gitaar worden gespeeld, en het geluid verschilt van wat we van The Underground Youth kennen. Desalniettemin blijft het even prachtig en hoor je er flarden shoegaze in, maar evenveel indie (en dan denken we vooral aan Sophia).

Maar laten we vooral niet te veel vergelijkingen maken. Het is duidelijk dat Craig een voorliefde heeft voor indiebands die donker klinken. De kwaliteit op Mademoiselle is van zo’n hoog niveau dat denken in hokjes deze artiest alleen maar oneer aandoet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart