tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - Mademoiselle

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

Mademoiselle

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth is the solo project of Craig Dyer from Manchester. The musician strongly believes in the DIY ethic, and he likes to do all things by himself. Of course that’s not such an obvious thing to do on stage, where he is assisted by a few musicians such as his wife, Frankie Franke of (the underrated) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer and Max James, who has collaborated with Johnny Marr.

According to Dyer, you don’t need the music industry. The Underground Youth is on the shoegaze label Fuzz Club now, but Craig proved with Mademoiselle that you can reach two million people without the support of a label: a collection of songs, composed in 2010 and only available on YouTube.

The fans kept on asking to release this wonderful work on CD and vinyl and that has happened now. Craig describes Mademoiselle as a 46-minute ode to music, film, literature and people who have inspired him.

The CD contains 11 tracks (including the cover Lord Can You Hear Me? By Spacemen 3), alternately played on an electric and acoustic guitar, and it all sounds a tad different from the current The Underground Youth. Nevertheless, it remains beautiful and you’ll hear shreds of shoegaze, but also indie (especially Sophia).

But let's not make too many comparisons. It is clear that Craig has a passion for indie bands with a dark atmosphere. The quality of Mademoiselle is of such a high level that is an unique work.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth is het soloproject van Craig Dyer uit Manchester. De muzikant is een groot voorstander van de DIY-ethiek. Het liefst doet hij alles alleen, maar omdat dit op een podium niet zo vanzelfsprekend is, wordt hij bijgestaan door een paar muzikanten zoals zijn vrouw, Frankie Franke van (de onderschatte) Throw Down Bones, Olya Dyer en Max James die al met Johnny Marr samenwerkte.

Ook de muziekindustrie heb je volgens hem helemaal niet nodig. The Underground Youth zit op het shoegazelabel Fuzz Club, maar Craig bewees met Mademoiselle dat je ook twee miljoen mensen kan bereiken zonder de steun van een label: de songs zijn in 2010 gecomponeerd en waren alleen via YouTube te zien en te horen.

De vraag van de fans rees om dit prachtig werk ook op cd en vinyl uit te brengen en dat is nu dus gebeurd. Zelf noemt Craig Mademoiselle een 46 minuten durende ode aan de muziek, de film, de literatuur en mensen die hem hebben geïnspireerd.

De cd bevat 11 tracks (waaronder de cover Lord Can You Hear Me? van Spacemen 3) die afwisselend op een elektrische en akoestische gitaar worden gespeeld, en het geluid verschilt van wat we van The Underground Youth kennen. Desalniettemin blijft het even prachtig en hoor je er flarden shoegaze in, maar evenveel indie (en dan denken we vooral aan Sophia).

Maar laten we vooral niet te veel vergelijkingen maken. Het is duidelijk dat Craig een voorliefde heeft voor indiebands die donker klinken. De kwaliteit op Mademoiselle is van zo’n hoog niveau dat denken in hokjes deze artiest alleen maar oneer aandoet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song