tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland

THE VIEW ELECTRICAL

Roseland

MusicCD
AmbientFolkRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

Hummus Records
25/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Frédérick Aellen (ex Sonograph) and Raul Bartolotti (Kruger, No Sun in San Francisco) made a number of demos in 2012 and worked those out in the next two years with the assistance of members of Abraham, Jeniferever, Cortez and Khelvin. The result is the album Roseland, in which they gather all the influences of their musical career: hip hop, folk, ambient, metal, new wave and indie rock from the 90s.

The album begins with the quiet ballad Haunted by a Dream, a singer-songwriter-like composition with quiet guitars and percussion, complemented with melodic and multiple vocals. At All Cost floats on humming electronics, but again a voice takes the lead, entwined by bell-like guitars, calm and relaxed. Life in Every Breath sounds louder and rougher, a rock ballad with a calm verse and beautiful chorus, melodious guitars and a nice drum pace. It Was Time gets a dreamy acoustic guitar and vocals, brittle and fragile, and then electric guitars and extensive and beautiful vocals. Rosland floats on a fuller sound with electric guitars, bass and drums, but again it is the velvet voice that guarantees a dreamy and relaxed atmosphere, with in the second half high woman's voices like a distant echo. Five in a row.

Protect Us begins with distorted male voices, a French narration and then dark, sleepy synths, drones, Pink Floyd-like guitars and reverb, while Black Veil is a quiet country-rock ballad in which a choir takes the lead. The second half of the song sounds more dangerous and more emphatical, but it always stays within calculated and melodic boundaries. In My Defence is of the same type, with cautious guitar strumming, echoing percussion and a nice sounding voice which brings the melody to fruition, halfway assisted by a female voice. Beautiful. Death and the Young Man is a ballad in the best singer-songwriter tradition with multiple guitars, angular percussion and meshed vocals. In Treasures we hear bell-like and buzzing guitars on which fragile vocals, choral music and lots of echoes are spread, as if the singer is floating through a cathedral.

A Voice of My Own, with multiple drums and good sounding guitars, gentle harmonies and fierce accents afterwards, unfolds like a dreamy ballad for a sunny day, while the folkrock-like We Will not Stay completes the album in a calm and restrained way.

We delete hip hop, metal and new wave from the list, because what we hear on Rosland is very much a cross between folk, folk-rock, singer-songwriting and beautiful atmospheric keys. Fans of the genre need not doubt.

Tracklisting :
1. Haunted by a Dream 
2. At All Costs
3. Life in Every Breath
4. It Was Time 
5. Roseland
6. Protect Us
7. Black Veil
8. In My Defense
9. Death and the Young Man
0. Treasures
1. A Voice of My Own
2. We Won’t Stay

Website: http://theviewelectrical.com/
Shop: http://hummusrecords.bigcartel.com/products
Bandcamp: https://dominomediaagency.wordpress.com/2015/04/08/the-view-electrical-debutalbum-roseland-out-now-streaming-available/

William LIÉNARD
25/07/2015


NL

Frédérick Aellen (ex-Sonograph) en Raul Bartolotti (Kruger, No sun in San Francisco) namen in 2012 een aantal demo’s op, die ze in de volgende twee jaar uitwerken met de hulp van leden van Abraham, Jeniferever, Cortez en Khelvin. Het resultaat is het album Roseland, waarop ze onder de naam The View Electrical alle invloeden bijeenbrengen uit hun muzikale carrière: hiphop, folk ambient, metal, new wave en indierock uit de jaren 90.

Het album begint met de rustige ballade Haunted by a Dream, een singer-songwriterachtige compositie met rustig gitaarspel en slagwerk, aangevuld met melodieuze en meervoudige vocalen. At All Cost dobbert op zoemende elektro, maar opnieuw neemt de stem het voortouw, omstrengeld door belachtige gitaren, rustig en ontspannen. Life in Every Breath klinkt luider en ruiger, een rockballade met een rustige strofe en een prachtig refrein, welluidende gitaren en een leuk drumtempo. It Was Time krijgt een akoestische gitaar en een dromerige zangpartij, breekbaar en fragiel, en vervolgens elektrische gitaren en een uitgebreidere en prachtige samenzang. Rosland krijgt een voller geluid met elektrische gitaren, bas en slagwerk, maar het is opnieuw de fluwelen stem die garant staat voor een dromerige en ontspannen sfeer, met in de tweede helft een hoge vrouwenstem als een verre echo. Meteen vijf op een rij.

Protect Us begint met distorted mannenstemmen, een Franstalige vertelstem en dan donkere, slaperige synths, dronesaccenten, Pink Floyd-achtige gitaren en galm, terwijl Black Veil is uitgewerkt als een rustig voortkabbelende rockballade waarin een koortje het refrein voor z’n rekening neemt. In de tweede helft klinkt de song gevaarlijker en nadrukkelijker, maar het blijft allemaal binnen berekende en melodieuze grenzen. In My Defence is opnieuw rustiger, met voorzichtig gitaargetokkel, echoënde percussie en een mooi klinkende stem die de melodie helemaal tot bloei laat komen en die halfweg assistentie krijgt van een vrouwenstem. Mooi. Death and the Young Man is een ballade in de beste singer-songwritertraditie met meervoudig gitaarspel, hoekige percussie en fijnmazige vocalen. In Treasures horen we klokachtige en zoemende gitaren waarover een fragiele zanglijn en koormuziek zijn uitgespreid en heel veel echo alsof de zanger door een kathedraal zweeft.

A Voice of My Own, met meervoudig slagwerk en goed klinkende gitaren, voorzichtige vocalen en felle uithalen naderhand, ontvouwt zich als een dromerige ballade voor een zonnige dag die het beste laat vermoeden, terwijl het folkrockachtige We Won’t Stay het album op een rustige en ingetogen wijze afrondt.

Hiphop, metal en new wave schrappen we uit het lijstje, want wat The View Electrical op Roseland ten gehore brengt, is veel meer een kruising tussen folk, folkrock en singer-songwriting met prachtige ambiente toetsen. Liefhebbers van het genre hoeven niet te twijfelen.

William LIÉNARD
25/07/2015


25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland 25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland 25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland

 

Next reviews
ORGANIC • Empty Century
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
CLINT EASTWOOD • American Sniper
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND PYROLATOR • Con-struct
SAM CLAEYS (DER KLINKE, ELEMENTS, MASK) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EZRA FURMAN • Perpetual Motion People
BANCO DE GAIA • Last Train To Lhasa (deluxe)
GOSPEL • EMPR (PKRP RE-EQ)
CATE SHORTLAND • LORE
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Other reviews from THE VIEW ELECTRICAL
THE VIEW ELECTRICAL • Roseland

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver