tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland

THE VIEW ELECTRICAL

Roseland

MusicCD
AmbientFolkRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

Hummus Records
25/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Frédérick Aellen (ex Sonograph) and Raul Bartolotti (Kruger, No Sun in San Francisco) made a number of demos in 2012 and worked those out in the next two years with the assistance of members of Abraham, Jeniferever, Cortez and Khelvin. The result is the album Roseland, in which they gather all the influences of their musical career: hip hop, folk, ambient, metal, new wave and indie rock from the 90s.

The album begins with the quiet ballad Haunted by a Dream, a singer-songwriter-like composition with quiet guitars and percussion, complemented with melodic and multiple vocals. At All Cost floats on humming electronics, but again a voice takes the lead, entwined by bell-like guitars, calm and relaxed. Life in Every Breath sounds louder and rougher, a rock ballad with a calm verse and beautiful chorus, melodious guitars and a nice drum pace. It Was Time gets a dreamy acoustic guitar and vocals, brittle and fragile, and then electric guitars and extensive and beautiful vocals. Rosland floats on a fuller sound with electric guitars, bass and drums, but again it is the velvet voice that guarantees a dreamy and relaxed atmosphere, with in the second half high woman's voices like a distant echo. Five in a row.

Protect Us begins with distorted male voices, a French narration and then dark, sleepy synths, drones, Pink Floyd-like guitars and reverb, while Black Veil is a quiet country-rock ballad in which a choir takes the lead. The second half of the song sounds more dangerous and more emphatical, but it always stays within calculated and melodic boundaries. In My Defence is of the same type, with cautious guitar strumming, echoing percussion and a nice sounding voice which brings the melody to fruition, halfway assisted by a female voice. Beautiful. Death and the Young Man is a ballad in the best singer-songwriter tradition with multiple guitars, angular percussion and meshed vocals. In Treasures we hear bell-like and buzzing guitars on which fragile vocals, choral music and lots of echoes are spread, as if the singer is floating through a cathedral.

A Voice of My Own, with multiple drums and good sounding guitars, gentle harmonies and fierce accents afterwards, unfolds like a dreamy ballad for a sunny day, while the folkrock-like We Will not Stay completes the album in a calm and restrained way.

We delete hip hop, metal and new wave from the list, because what we hear on Rosland is very much a cross between folk, folk-rock, singer-songwriting and beautiful atmospheric keys. Fans of the genre need not doubt.

Tracklisting :
1. Haunted by a Dream 
2. At All Costs
3. Life in Every Breath
4. It Was Time 
5. Roseland
6. Protect Us
7. Black Veil
8. In My Defense
9. Death and the Young Man
0. Treasures
1. A Voice of My Own
2. We Won’t Stay

Website: http://theviewelectrical.com/
Shop: http://hummusrecords.bigcartel.com/products
Bandcamp: https://dominomediaagency.wordpress.com/2015/04/08/the-view-electrical-debutalbum-roseland-out-now-streaming-available/

William LIÉNARD
25/07/2015


NL

Frédérick Aellen (ex-Sonograph) en Raul Bartolotti (Kruger, No sun in San Francisco) namen in 2012 een aantal demo’s op, die ze in de volgende twee jaar uitwerken met de hulp van leden van Abraham, Jeniferever, Cortez en Khelvin. Het resultaat is het album Roseland, waarop ze onder de naam The View Electrical alle invloeden bijeenbrengen uit hun muzikale carrière: hiphop, folk ambient, metal, new wave en indierock uit de jaren 90.

Het album begint met de rustige ballade Haunted by a Dream, een singer-songwriterachtige compositie met rustig gitaarspel en slagwerk, aangevuld met melodieuze en meervoudige vocalen. At All Cost dobbert op zoemende elektro, maar opnieuw neemt de stem het voortouw, omstrengeld door belachtige gitaren, rustig en ontspannen. Life in Every Breath klinkt luider en ruiger, een rockballade met een rustige strofe en een prachtig refrein, welluidende gitaren en een leuk drumtempo. It Was Time krijgt een akoestische gitaar en een dromerige zangpartij, breekbaar en fragiel, en vervolgens elektrische gitaren en een uitgebreidere en prachtige samenzang. Rosland krijgt een voller geluid met elektrische gitaren, bas en slagwerk, maar het is opnieuw de fluwelen stem die garant staat voor een dromerige en ontspannen sfeer, met in de tweede helft een hoge vrouwenstem als een verre echo. Meteen vijf op een rij.

Protect Us begint met distorted mannenstemmen, een Franstalige vertelstem en dan donkere, slaperige synths, dronesaccenten, Pink Floyd-achtige gitaren en galm, terwijl Black Veil is uitgewerkt als een rustig voortkabbelende rockballade waarin een koortje het refrein voor z’n rekening neemt. In de tweede helft klinkt de song gevaarlijker en nadrukkelijker, maar het blijft allemaal binnen berekende en melodieuze grenzen. In My Defence is opnieuw rustiger, met voorzichtig gitaargetokkel, echoënde percussie en een mooi klinkende stem die de melodie helemaal tot bloei laat komen en die halfweg assistentie krijgt van een vrouwenstem. Mooi. Death and the Young Man is een ballade in de beste singer-songwritertraditie met meervoudig gitaarspel, hoekige percussie en fijnmazige vocalen. In Treasures horen we klokachtige en zoemende gitaren waarover een fragiele zanglijn en koormuziek zijn uitgespreid en heel veel echo alsof de zanger door een kathedraal zweeft.

A Voice of My Own, met meervoudig slagwerk en goed klinkende gitaren, voorzichtige vocalen en felle uithalen naderhand, ontvouwt zich als een dromerige ballade voor een zonnige dag die het beste laat vermoeden, terwijl het folkrockachtige We Won’t Stay het album op een rustige en ingetogen wijze afrondt.

Hiphop, metal en new wave schrappen we uit het lijstje, want wat The View Electrical op Roseland ten gehore brengt, is veel meer een kruising tussen folk, folkrock en singer-songwriting met prachtige ambiente toetsen. Liefhebbers van het genre hoeven niet te twijfelen.

William LIÉNARD
25/07/2015


25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland 25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland 25/07/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland

 

Next reviews
ORGANIC • Empty Century
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
CLINT EASTWOOD • American Sniper
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND PYROLATOR • Con-struct
SAM CLAEYS (DER KLINKE, ELEMENTS, MASK) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EZRA FURMAN • Perpetual Motion People
BANCO DE GAIA • Last Train To Lhasa (deluxe)
GOSPEL • EMPR (PKRP RE-EQ)
CATE SHORTLAND • LORE
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)

 

Other reviews from THE VIEW ELECTRICAL
THE VIEW ELECTRICAL • Roseland

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls