tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : THE WATERBOYS - Fisherman's Blues Deluxe

THE WATERBOYS

Fisherman's Blues Deluxe

MusicCD
BluesFolkPop
Chrysalis
10/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

There's normally a feeling of dread with these sorts of things - multiple disc versions of albums that are best left as the original.

But trust me, 'Fisherman's Blues' has such a tangible history, such a depth of session-material associated with it that to miss out anything from those heady two years would be deemed as a mistake.

So 'Fisherman's Box' does what it says on the, er, box - it spreads 121 songs across six discs (more if you fork out for the deluxe version which is, admittedly, a bit of an extravagance), telling the story of how one band on the brink of success, almost ended up on the brink of collapse. Thankfully, despite spending many months in each other's company, the various ever-rotating members of The Waterboys didn't kill each other - they simply grew stronger.

As indeed did the material. Although there are a myriad of alternative versions of the same songs strewn liberally throughout, they differ enough to not jar on the nerves. There are certainly enough new, unheard and superb songs on offer to make up for it - over 50 of them, in fact, many from the pen of Mike Scott and co, as well as the likes of Hank Williams, Bob Dylan and a few traditional pieces. Oh, to have been a fly on the beer soaked studio walls.

Highlights naturally include the finished album itself - it isn't all gathered on one disc because the set is presented in chronological order of recording and location - and many of the new songs, in particular 'A Golden Age', 'Stranger To Me', ''Cept You', 'You In The Sky' and the visceral reel of 'Bo Diddley Was a Caveman'. Scott even gets uncharacteristically mucky and carnal on the 'throwaway' 'My Beautiful Baby' and, as on This Is The Sea's 'Trumpets', rather carried away vocally on the piano-driven paean 'The Ladder'. But even when overblowing things, The Waterboys can carry more emotion than the entire charts can muster nowadays. There's enough unreleased gold-dust here to compile a serious contender to the official follow-up 'Room To Roam'.

To sum up, here is a worthy collection that portrays a band enjoying itself, getting drunk and getting high on the music. Here is a timeless treasure trove well worth twenty notes of anyone's money.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas

 

Same genre: BLUES
THE HEAT INC. • EP
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life