tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/08/2015 : THE WATERBOYS - Fisherman's Blues Deluxe

THE WATERBOYS

Fisherman's Blues Deluxe

MusicCD
BluesFolkPop
Chrysalis
10/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

There's normally a feeling of dread with these sorts of things - multiple disc versions of albums that are best left as the original.

But trust me, 'Fisherman's Blues' has such a tangible history, such a depth of session-material associated with it that to miss out anything from those heady two years would be deemed as a mistake.

So 'Fisherman's Box' does what it says on the, er, box - it spreads 121 songs across six discs (more if you fork out for the deluxe version which is, admittedly, a bit of an extravagance), telling the story of how one band on the brink of success, almost ended up on the brink of collapse. Thankfully, despite spending many months in each other's company, the various ever-rotating members of The Waterboys didn't kill each other - they simply grew stronger.

As indeed did the material. Although there are a myriad of alternative versions of the same songs strewn liberally throughout, they differ enough to not jar on the nerves. There are certainly enough new, unheard and superb songs on offer to make up for it - over 50 of them, in fact, many from the pen of Mike Scott and co, as well as the likes of Hank Williams, Bob Dylan and a few traditional pieces. Oh, to have been a fly on the beer soaked studio walls.

Highlights naturally include the finished album itself - it isn't all gathered on one disc because the set is presented in chronological order of recording and location - and many of the new songs, in particular 'A Golden Age', 'Stranger To Me', ''Cept You', 'You In The Sky' and the visceral reel of 'Bo Diddley Was a Caveman'. Scott even gets uncharacteristically mucky and carnal on the 'throwaway' 'My Beautiful Baby' and, as on This Is The Sea's 'Trumpets', rather carried away vocally on the piano-driven paean 'The Ladder'. But even when overblowing things, The Waterboys can carry more emotion than the entire charts can muster nowadays. There's enough unreleased gold-dust here to compile a serious contender to the official follow-up 'Room To Roam'.

To sum up, here is a worthy collection that portrays a band enjoying itself, getting drunk and getting high on the music. Here is a timeless treasure trove well worth twenty notes of anyone's money.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/08/2015


 

Next reviews
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
DURUTTI COLUMN • A Showcase Of Durutti Column
ANGELO BERGAMINI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS • Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015
WOODY ALLEN • Irrational Man
CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE • Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation
JOHN R. MIRLAND • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas

 

Same genre: BLUES
THE HEAT INC. • EP
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain