tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

THE YOUNG GODS

Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Concert


[90/100]   
21/11/2013, Fred GADGET

We don't have to say we were pretty exited to see The Young Gods perform especially as the band announced they would play songs from their first two albums The Young Gods (1987) and L'eau Rouge (1989). When we arrived at the cosy venue Le Nouveau Casino it was already packed to the roof, not surprisingly as the concert was sold out.

The support DJ/Artist BIT-TUNER was already halfway his set and the second half didn’t make us feel we miss out something spectacular. It was only when the stage was being prepared for the headliners of that night, the tension and cheering started to rise. And then the lights dimmed …

Only a couple of white beams penetrated the pitch black venue when singer Franz Treichler and original keyboard player and sample wizard Cesare Pizzi entered the stage. They kicked off with the dark and gloomy C.S.C.L.D.F. (As if it was the last time), a B-side from their first 12” single Envoyé! (1986). It was clear I would be a steamy night at Le Nouveau Casino. Meanwhile drummer Bernard Trontin placed himself behind the impressive drum kit and counted down for their second song of the night Jusqu’au Bout.

The live drums clearly added more energy and the front rows started to heave to the music. From then on their classic songs like Fais la Mouette, The Irrtum Boys, Á Ciel Ouvert where fired upon us, turning the floor into a whirlpool of people and leaving the audience almost no time to breathe.

The Young Gods kept building up the tension and energy toward the triple climax with Crier Les Chiens , Pas Mal and L'Amourir which set the complete venue on fire, even making a six year old (sitting on the bar next to her parents wearing ear protection) headbang wildly! Eat this Justin Bieber! They left the stage as they entered … with a more quiet song... Si Tu Gardes.

As expected the audience didn’t had enough and chanted for more or ‘Encore!’. The Young Gods came back to play three more songs, ending with their first ever and underground hit single Envoyé!. After that they left their fans totally exhausted and almost numb behind... but they didn't go before not explicitly thanking everyone present for the great night!

Conclusion: After more then 23 years The Young Gods still didn't pas their expiration date yet! Still sounding, young, godlike and angry!

The Young Gods will perform on December 21st @ BIMFEST 2013 - Trix - Antwerp, don't miss them!

Setlist: 
The Young Gods Paris - 16.11.2013

1) C.S.C.L.D.F.(As if it was the last time)
2) Jusqu’au Bout
3) Fais La Mouette
4) The Irrtum Boys
5) Jimmy
6) À Ciel Ouvert
7) L'Eau Rouge
8) Did You Miss Me
9) Percussionne
10) Crier les Chiens
11) Pas Mal
12) L'Amourir
13) Si Tu Gardes

Encores
14) La Fille de la Mort
15) Feu
16) Envoyé

Fred GADGET
21/11/2013


21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible