tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

THE YOUNG GODS

Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Concert


[90/100]   
21/11/2013, Fred GADGET

We don't have to say we were pretty exited to see The Young Gods perform especially as the band announced they would play songs from their first two albums The Young Gods (1987) and L'eau Rouge (1989). When we arrived at the cosy venue Le Nouveau Casino it was already packed to the roof, not surprisingly as the concert was sold out.

The support DJ/Artist BIT-TUNER was already halfway his set and the second half didn’t make us feel we miss out something spectacular. It was only when the stage was being prepared for the headliners of that night, the tension and cheering started to rise. And then the lights dimmed …

Only a couple of white beams penetrated the pitch black venue when singer Franz Treichler and original keyboard player and sample wizard Cesare Pizzi entered the stage. They kicked off with the dark and gloomy C.S.C.L.D.F. (As if it was the last time), a B-side from their first 12” single Envoyé! (1986). It was clear I would be a steamy night at Le Nouveau Casino. Meanwhile drummer Bernard Trontin placed himself behind the impressive drum kit and counted down for their second song of the night Jusqu’au Bout.

The live drums clearly added more energy and the front rows started to heave to the music. From then on their classic songs like Fais la Mouette, The Irrtum Boys, Á Ciel Ouvert where fired upon us, turning the floor into a whirlpool of people and leaving the audience almost no time to breathe.

The Young Gods kept building up the tension and energy toward the triple climax with Crier Les Chiens , Pas Mal and L'Amourir which set the complete venue on fire, even making a six year old (sitting on the bar next to her parents wearing ear protection) headbang wildly! Eat this Justin Bieber! They left the stage as they entered … with a more quiet song... Si Tu Gardes.

As expected the audience didn’t had enough and chanted for more or ‘Encore!’. The Young Gods came back to play three more songs, ending with their first ever and underground hit single Envoyé!. After that they left their fans totally exhausted and almost numb behind... but they didn't go before not explicitly thanking everyone present for the great night!

Conclusion: After more then 23 years The Young Gods still didn't pas their expiration date yet! Still sounding, young, godlike and angry!

The Young Gods will perform on December 21st @ BIMFEST 2013 - Trix - Antwerp, don't miss them!

Setlist: 
The Young Gods Paris - 16.11.2013

1) C.S.C.L.D.F.(As if it was the last time)
2) Jusqu’au Bout
3) Fais La Mouette
4) The Irrtum Boys
5) Jimmy
6) À Ciel Ouvert
7) L'Eau Rouge
8) Did You Miss Me
9) Percussionne
10) Crier les Chiens
11) Pas Mal
12) L'Amourir
13) Si Tu Gardes

Encores
14) La Fille de la Mort
15) Feu
16) Envoyé

Fred GADGET
21/11/2013


21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
SCHATTENMANN
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
CHROM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
QANTAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
AMBASSADOR 21
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles