tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

THE YOUNG GODS

Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Concert


[90/100]   
21/11/2013, Fred GADGET

We don't have to say we were pretty exited to see The Young Gods perform especially as the band announced they would play songs from their first two albums The Young Gods (1987) and L'eau Rouge (1989). When we arrived at the cosy venue Le Nouveau Casino it was already packed to the roof, not surprisingly as the concert was sold out.

The support DJ/Artist BIT-TUNER was already halfway his set and the second half didn’t make us feel we miss out something spectacular. It was only when the stage was being prepared for the headliners of that night, the tension and cheering started to rise. And then the lights dimmed …

Only a couple of white beams penetrated the pitch black venue when singer Franz Treichler and original keyboard player and sample wizard Cesare Pizzi entered the stage. They kicked off with the dark and gloomy C.S.C.L.D.F. (As if it was the last time), a B-side from their first 12” single Envoyé! (1986). It was clear I would be a steamy night at Le Nouveau Casino. Meanwhile drummer Bernard Trontin placed himself behind the impressive drum kit and counted down for their second song of the night Jusqu’au Bout.

The live drums clearly added more energy and the front rows started to heave to the music. From then on their classic songs like Fais la Mouette, The Irrtum Boys, Á Ciel Ouvert where fired upon us, turning the floor into a whirlpool of people and leaving the audience almost no time to breathe.

The Young Gods kept building up the tension and energy toward the triple climax with Crier Les Chiens , Pas Mal and L'Amourir which set the complete venue on fire, even making a six year old (sitting on the bar next to her parents wearing ear protection) headbang wildly! Eat this Justin Bieber! They left the stage as they entered … with a more quiet song... Si Tu Gardes.

As expected the audience didn’t had enough and chanted for more or ‘Encore!’. The Young Gods came back to play three more songs, ending with their first ever and underground hit single Envoyé!. After that they left their fans totally exhausted and almost numb behind... but they didn't go before not explicitly thanking everyone present for the great night!

Conclusion: After more then 23 years The Young Gods still didn't pas their expiration date yet! Still sounding, young, godlike and angry!

The Young Gods will perform on December 21st @ BIMFEST 2013 - Trix - Antwerp, don't miss them!

Setlist: 
The Young Gods Paris - 16.11.2013

1) C.S.C.L.D.F.(As if it was the last time)
2) Jusqu’au Bout
3) Fais La Mouette
4) The Irrtum Boys
5) Jimmy
6) À Ciel Ouvert
7) L'Eau Rouge
8) Did You Miss Me
9) Percussionne
10) Crier les Chiens
11) Pas Mal
12) L'Amourir
13) Si Tu Gardes

Encores
14) La Fille de la Mort
15) Feu
16) Envoyé

Fred GADGET
21/11/2013


21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection