tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/02/2015 : THEN COMES SILENCE - Nyctophilian

THEN COMES SILENCE

Nyctophilian

MusicCD
Dark WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Novoton
10/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band comes from Stockholm. The theme of their newest album is death, and they want to make this theme more accessible. According to Svenson his music works as a sort of self therapy. Not exactly an easy album! And yet, it has become a very varied album with lots of styles:darkwave, cold wave, postpunk, gothic… Nothing new, but nonetheless quite good!

Strangers is a nice opener with a catchy chorus that will stick to your ears, and a very positive sign as you know this album will work! She loves The Night is a bit like The Dead Kennedys, although quite easy to digest.

Spinning Faster is their new single. Not exactly the strongest track on the album, but a fine choice. Feed The Beast is one of the best songs, with even an organ that gives the music an extra touch. The middle of the song even refers a bit to the 70s.

Everywhere and in my Head is the real pearl on this CD. A simple riff, a whispering voice and a choir of children (at least I think it is) make it sound weird. A dark, but very varied album!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJDWizc7g8

NL

Deze band heeft zijn basis in Stockholm. Het thema van hun nieuwste album is de dood en dat willen ze meer bespreekbaar maken. Volgens Svenson is muziek een vorm van zelftherapie en hij toont hoe hij met het thema dood omgaat. Je hoort het al, allesbehalve een lichtvoetig album.

Het moet worden gezegd dat ze er een zeer coherent album van hebben gemaakt met veel variatie: darkwave, cold wave, postpunk, gothic… Noem maar op, erg vernieuwend klinkt het wel niet, maar het zit wel goed in elkaar.

Strangers opent het album met een heerlijke distortion riff, een warme bass en een refrein dat snel in je hoofd zit. Na dit nummer weet je dat dit album waarschijnlijk een boeiende rit wordt. She loves The Night refereert net iets te veel naar punkbands zoals bijv. The Dead Kennedys, maar het blijft allemaal licht verteerbaar. A Living Soul Should Know is beter en origineler. De effecten geven de zang een extra sfeer.

Spinning Faster is hun nieuwe single. Niet meteen hun sterkste song, maar wel een prima keuze. Feed The Beast is één van de prijsbeesten op dit album, met zowaar een orgel dat voor extra sfeer zorgt. Vooral het middenstuk is interessant uitgewerkt en doet wat aan de jaren 70 denken. Demon’ Nest is een donkere song, Animals heeft een herkenbare baslijn en een aanstekelijke refrein. Wendy is een leuk sfeervol instrumentaal tussenstukje, maar het voegt weinig toe aan het album.

Everywhere and in my Head is het meesterwerkje van deze cd: een eenvoudig herhaalde gitaarriff, een fluisterende stem en een kinderkoor (zo lijkt het toch) zingen het refrein, wat het nog wat vreemder maakt.

Heel wat fijne nummers dus: Strangers, A Living Soul, Feed The Beast en Everywhere And In My Head… Enkele degelijke nummers zoals Spinning Faster, Animals en Death rides. She Loves The Night en Wendy had men misschien beter weggelaten, maar de eindbalans is positief: een donker, maar heel toegankelijk album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJDWizc7g8

10/02/2015 : THEN COMES SILENCE - Nyctophilian 10/02/2015 : THEN COMES SILENCE - Nyctophilian

 

Next reviews
LAST HARBOUR • Caul
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
MINNY POPS • Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
THE DECEMBERISTS • What a Beautiful World, What a Terrible World
JOHN HERZFELD • Out Of Sight
• THE CODE SEASON 1
TELLURION • Tellurion
ANNA ODELL • The Reunion (Återträffen)
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne

 

Other reviews from THEN COMES SILENCE
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
THEN COMES SILENCE • She Lies In Wait
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire