tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/02/2015 : THEN COMES SILENCE - Nyctophilian

THEN COMES SILENCE

Nyctophilian

MusicCD
Dark WaveDeath Rock / BatcavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Novoton
10/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band comes from Stockholm. The theme of their newest album is death, and they want to make this theme more accessible. According to Svenson his music works as a sort of self therapy. Not exactly an easy album! And yet, it has become a very varied album with lots of styles:darkwave, cold wave, postpunk, gothic… Nothing new, but nonetheless quite good!

Strangers is a nice opener with a catchy chorus that will stick to your ears, and a very positive sign as you know this album will work! She loves The Night is a bit like The Dead Kennedys, although quite easy to digest.

Spinning Faster is their new single. Not exactly the strongest track on the album, but a fine choice. Feed The Beast is one of the best songs, with even an organ that gives the music an extra touch. The middle of the song even refers a bit to the 70s.

Everywhere and in my Head is the real pearl on this CD. A simple riff, a whispering voice and a choir of children (at least I think it is) make it sound weird. A dark, but very varied album!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJDWizc7g8

NL

Deze band heeft zijn basis in Stockholm. Het thema van hun nieuwste album is de dood en dat willen ze meer bespreekbaar maken. Volgens Svenson is muziek een vorm van zelftherapie en hij toont hoe hij met het thema dood omgaat. Je hoort het al, allesbehalve een lichtvoetig album.

Het moet worden gezegd dat ze er een zeer coherent album van hebben gemaakt met veel variatie: darkwave, cold wave, postpunk, gothic… Noem maar op, erg vernieuwend klinkt het wel niet, maar het zit wel goed in elkaar.

Strangers opent het album met een heerlijke distortion riff, een warme bass en een refrein dat snel in je hoofd zit. Na dit nummer weet je dat dit album waarschijnlijk een boeiende rit wordt. She loves The Night refereert net iets te veel naar punkbands zoals bijv. The Dead Kennedys, maar het blijft allemaal licht verteerbaar. A Living Soul Should Know is beter en origineler. De effecten geven de zang een extra sfeer.

Spinning Faster is hun nieuwe single. Niet meteen hun sterkste song, maar wel een prima keuze. Feed The Beast is één van de prijsbeesten op dit album, met zowaar een orgel dat voor extra sfeer zorgt. Vooral het middenstuk is interessant uitgewerkt en doet wat aan de jaren 70 denken. Demon’ Nest is een donkere song, Animals heeft een herkenbare baslijn en een aanstekelijke refrein. Wendy is een leuk sfeervol instrumentaal tussenstukje, maar het voegt weinig toe aan het album.

Everywhere and in my Head is het meesterwerkje van deze cd: een eenvoudig herhaalde gitaarriff, een fluisterende stem en een kinderkoor (zo lijkt het toch) zingen het refrein, wat het nog wat vreemder maakt.

Heel wat fijne nummers dus: Strangers, A Living Soul, Feed The Beast en Everywhere And In My Head… Enkele degelijke nummers zoals Spinning Faster, Animals en Death rides. She Loves The Night en Wendy had men misschien beter weggelaten, maar de eindbalans is positief: een donker, maar heel toegankelijk album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJDWizc7g8

10/02/2015 : THEN COMES SILENCE - Nyctophilian 10/02/2015 : THEN COMES SILENCE - Nyctophilian

 

Next reviews
LAST HARBOUR • Caul
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
MINNY POPS • Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
THE DECEMBERISTS • What a Beautiful World, What a Terrible World
JOHN HERZFELD • Out Of Sight
• THE CODE SEASON 1
TELLURION • Tellurion
ANNA ODELL • The Reunion (Återträffen)
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne

 

Other reviews from THEN COMES SILENCE
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
THEN COMES SILENCE • She Lies In Wait
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights