tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Concert
Jazz 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

I haven't got the slightest idea what to expect tonight, and I think the band doesn't know what it is going to play neither, Lejo Vanhaelen, founding father of Jazzzolder Mechelen said, giving the perfect definition of free jazz. That friday night, juli 22th, Seppe Gebruers, Eric Thielemans and Hugo Antunes played a grand set, creating the music on the spot. A wonderful musical journey it was.

Improvisation, creation and passion were the key words of the evening. Free jazz is like going on a journey without knowing the destination or which road to take. The only conventions were respect for the break and curfew.

Pianist Seppe Gebruers had to improvise only a few hours before the gig, seeking a replacement for sax player John Dikeman who was ill. After a phone call, percussionist Eric Thielemans was happy to help out. Thielemans and Gebruers were joined by Hugo Antunes on contrabass.

The trio took the audience on a adventurous musical journey, discovering the path and destination together, whilst creating wonderous music. Seppe Gebruers manically unleashed all of his demons on both black and white keys and piano strings, with Hugo Antunes attacked his contrabass vigourously and furiously as if it was his last day on earth. Percussionist Eric Thielemans played on everything he could lay his hand on and was cleary enjoying every single second of it.

Truly amazing how this trio created wonderful tunes on the spot, sometimes in a very chaotic and hectic way but mostly very subtle and always full of melody. And strange as it might sound: the composition came to a perfectly structured cohesion.

Although each composition came to life during the concert itself, one would have sworn that some of those compositions were very well prepared. All pieces fell into place swiftly.

Thielemans, Gebruers and Antunes created wonderful tunes on the spot. The trio succeeded in offering a beautiful and memorabele musical experience that friday. Thanks, Guys!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Wat de muzikanten vanavond precies gaan brengen, weet ik niet, dat weten ze trouwens zelf ook niet, en dat is de bedoeling, aldus Jazzzolderbezieler Lejo Vanhaelen, niet alleen perfect het concert inleidend op vrijdagavond 22 juli 2016 in Jazzzolder Mechelen, maar meteen ook een mooie definitie gevend van freejazz.

Intelligente improvisaties waren ons deel die vrijdagavond. Merkwaardig en fascinerend was het om vast te stellen hoe drie topmuzikanten vanuit het absolute niets tot mooie composities kwamen en dat zonder een plan en met als enige afspraak dat die er niet was, of misschien toch: het respecteren van de pauze en de eindtijd.

Behalve het muzikale improviseren, had pianist Seppe Gebruers nog een extra improvisatietaak uit te voeren, luttele uren voor het optreden; saxofonist John Dikeman bleek ziek te bed. Gelukkig vond Gebruers percussionist Eric Thielemans bereid om in te springen. Tel daar contrabassist Hugo Antunes bij en je had het wondertrio dat ons meenam op de muzikale reis waarvan ze zelf, samen met ons, op het moment zelf beginpunt, parcours en eindhalte ontdekten.

In totaal kregen we zes spannende en frisse composities te horen, soms minimaal, meanderend en ingetogen, dan in een hels en hectisch tempo, een tikkeltje chaotisch en experimenteel, dan weer heel toegankelijk en, hoe contradictorisch het ook mag klinken, vaak met een heel erg sterke en logische opbouw.

Drie muzikanten die ter plaatse de muziek uitvinden en die dan ook nog fantastisch laten klinken en weten te beroeren en te emotioneren. Ondergetekende geniet nog na, ik beken!

Seppe Gebruers ontbond al zijn duivels op zowel toetsen als pianosnaren, Hugo Antunes beheerste de contrabas als geen ander, speelde alsof zijn leven ervan afhing en percussionist Eric Thielemans ging tekeer op alles wat met percussie te maken heeft en genoot zichtbaar van elk moment. Wat dat genieten betreft: dat geldt zeker voor álle muzikanten en voor wie net als ik het geluk had deze masterclass in instant componeren bij te wonen.

De drie muzikanten voelden elkaar perfect aan en je zou haast hebben gezworen dat de composities wél 'op papier' stonden of ingeoefend waren omdat het zo consistent en coherent klonk, al was niets minder waar natuurlijk.

Hoe het had geklonken met saxofonist John Dikeman weten we niet, ongetwijfeld krijgt die man wel eens een herkansing in de Jazzzolder of op een ander podium. Wat we wel weten is dat het trio Gebruers-Antunes-Thieleman menig Mechels melomaan een bijzonder aangename en memorabele muzikale ervaring bezorgde, dat is klaar als een klontje!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom