tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Concert
Jazz 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

I haven't got the slightest idea what to expect tonight, and I think the band doesn't know what it is going to play neither, Lejo Vanhaelen, founding father of Jazzzolder Mechelen said, giving the perfect definition of free jazz. That friday night, juli 22th, Seppe Gebruers, Eric Thielemans and Hugo Antunes played a grand set, creating the music on the spot. A wonderful musical journey it was.

Improvisation, creation and passion were the key words of the evening. Free jazz is like going on a journey without knowing the destination or which road to take. The only conventions were respect for the break and curfew.

Pianist Seppe Gebruers had to improvise only a few hours before the gig, seeking a replacement for sax player John Dikeman who was ill. After a phone call, percussionist Eric Thielemans was happy to help out. Thielemans and Gebruers were joined by Hugo Antunes on contrabass.

The trio took the audience on a adventurous musical journey, discovering the path and destination together, whilst creating wonderous music. Seppe Gebruers manically unleashed all of his demons on both black and white keys and piano strings, with Hugo Antunes attacked his contrabass vigourously and furiously as if it was his last day on earth. Percussionist Eric Thielemans played on everything he could lay his hand on and was cleary enjoying every single second of it.

Truly amazing how this trio created wonderful tunes on the spot, sometimes in a very chaotic and hectic way but mostly very subtle and always full of melody. And strange as it might sound: the composition came to a perfectly structured cohesion.

Although each composition came to life during the concert itself, one would have sworn that some of those compositions were very well prepared. All pieces fell into place swiftly.

Thielemans, Gebruers and Antunes created wonderful tunes on the spot. The trio succeeded in offering a beautiful and memorabele musical experience that friday. Thanks, Guys!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Wat de muzikanten vanavond precies gaan brengen, weet ik niet, dat weten ze trouwens zelf ook niet, en dat is de bedoeling, aldus Jazzzolderbezieler Lejo Vanhaelen, niet alleen perfect het concert inleidend op vrijdagavond 22 juli 2016 in Jazzzolder Mechelen, maar meteen ook een mooie definitie gevend van freejazz.

Intelligente improvisaties waren ons deel die vrijdagavond. Merkwaardig en fascinerend was het om vast te stellen hoe drie topmuzikanten vanuit het absolute niets tot mooie composities kwamen en dat zonder een plan en met als enige afspraak dat die er niet was, of misschien toch: het respecteren van de pauze en de eindtijd.

Behalve het muzikale improviseren, had pianist Seppe Gebruers nog een extra improvisatietaak uit te voeren, luttele uren voor het optreden; saxofonist John Dikeman bleek ziek te bed. Gelukkig vond Gebruers percussionist Eric Thielemans bereid om in te springen. Tel daar contrabassist Hugo Antunes bij en je had het wondertrio dat ons meenam op de muzikale reis waarvan ze zelf, samen met ons, op het moment zelf beginpunt, parcours en eindhalte ontdekten.

In totaal kregen we zes spannende en frisse composities te horen, soms minimaal, meanderend en ingetogen, dan in een hels en hectisch tempo, een tikkeltje chaotisch en experimenteel, dan weer heel toegankelijk en, hoe contradictorisch het ook mag klinken, vaak met een heel erg sterke en logische opbouw.

Drie muzikanten die ter plaatse de muziek uitvinden en die dan ook nog fantastisch laten klinken en weten te beroeren en te emotioneren. Ondergetekende geniet nog na, ik beken!

Seppe Gebruers ontbond al zijn duivels op zowel toetsen als pianosnaren, Hugo Antunes beheerste de contrabas als geen ander, speelde alsof zijn leven ervan afhing en percussionist Eric Thielemans ging tekeer op alles wat met percussie te maken heeft en genoot zichtbaar van elk moment. Wat dat genieten betreft: dat geldt zeker voor álle muzikanten en voor wie net als ik het geluk had deze masterclass in instant componeren bij te wonen.

De drie muzikanten voelden elkaar perfect aan en je zou haast hebben gezworen dat de composities wél 'op papier' stonden of ingeoefend waren omdat het zo consistent en coherent klonk, al was niets minder waar natuurlijk.

Hoe het had geklonken met saxofonist John Dikeman weten we niet, ongetwijfeld krijgt die man wel eens een herkansing in de Jazzzolder of op een ander podium. Wat we wel weten is dat het trio Gebruers-Antunes-Thieleman menig Mechels melomaan een bijzonder aangename en memorabele muzikale ervaring bezorgde, dat is klaar als een klontje!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace