tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Concert
Jazz 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

I haven't got the slightest idea what to expect tonight, and I think the band doesn't know what it is going to play neither, Lejo Vanhaelen, founding father of Jazzzolder Mechelen said, giving the perfect definition of free jazz. That friday night, juli 22th, Seppe Gebruers, Eric Thielemans and Hugo Antunes played a grand set, creating the music on the spot. A wonderful musical journey it was.

Improvisation, creation and passion were the key words of the evening. Free jazz is like going on a journey without knowing the destination or which road to take. The only conventions were respect for the break and curfew.

Pianist Seppe Gebruers had to improvise only a few hours before the gig, seeking a replacement for sax player John Dikeman who was ill. After a phone call, percussionist Eric Thielemans was happy to help out. Thielemans and Gebruers were joined by Hugo Antunes on contrabass.

The trio took the audience on a adventurous musical journey, discovering the path and destination together, whilst creating wonderous music. Seppe Gebruers manically unleashed all of his demons on both black and white keys and piano strings, with Hugo Antunes attacked his contrabass vigourously and furiously as if it was his last day on earth. Percussionist Eric Thielemans played on everything he could lay his hand on and was cleary enjoying every single second of it.

Truly amazing how this trio created wonderful tunes on the spot, sometimes in a very chaotic and hectic way but mostly very subtle and always full of melody. And strange as it might sound: the composition came to a perfectly structured cohesion.

Although each composition came to life during the concert itself, one would have sworn that some of those compositions were very well prepared. All pieces fell into place swiftly.

Thielemans, Gebruers and Antunes created wonderful tunes on the spot. The trio succeeded in offering a beautiful and memorabele musical experience that friday. Thanks, Guys!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Wat de muzikanten vanavond precies gaan brengen, weet ik niet, dat weten ze trouwens zelf ook niet, en dat is de bedoeling, aldus Jazzzolderbezieler Lejo Vanhaelen, niet alleen perfect het concert inleidend op vrijdagavond 22 juli 2016 in Jazzzolder Mechelen, maar meteen ook een mooie definitie gevend van freejazz.

Intelligente improvisaties waren ons deel die vrijdagavond. Merkwaardig en fascinerend was het om vast te stellen hoe drie topmuzikanten vanuit het absolute niets tot mooie composities kwamen en dat zonder een plan en met als enige afspraak dat die er niet was, of misschien toch: het respecteren van de pauze en de eindtijd.

Behalve het muzikale improviseren, had pianist Seppe Gebruers nog een extra improvisatietaak uit te voeren, luttele uren voor het optreden; saxofonist John Dikeman bleek ziek te bed. Gelukkig vond Gebruers percussionist Eric Thielemans bereid om in te springen. Tel daar contrabassist Hugo Antunes bij en je had het wondertrio dat ons meenam op de muzikale reis waarvan ze zelf, samen met ons, op het moment zelf beginpunt, parcours en eindhalte ontdekten.

In totaal kregen we zes spannende en frisse composities te horen, soms minimaal, meanderend en ingetogen, dan in een hels en hectisch tempo, een tikkeltje chaotisch en experimenteel, dan weer heel toegankelijk en, hoe contradictorisch het ook mag klinken, vaak met een heel erg sterke en logische opbouw.

Drie muzikanten die ter plaatse de muziek uitvinden en die dan ook nog fantastisch laten klinken en weten te beroeren en te emotioneren. Ondergetekende geniet nog na, ik beken!

Seppe Gebruers ontbond al zijn duivels op zowel toetsen als pianosnaren, Hugo Antunes beheerste de contrabas als geen ander, speelde alsof zijn leven ervan afhing en percussionist Eric Thielemans ging tekeer op alles wat met percussie te maken heeft en genoot zichtbaar van elk moment. Wat dat genieten betreft: dat geldt zeker voor álle muzikanten en voor wie net als ik het geluk had deze masterclass in instant componeren bij te wonen.

De drie muzikanten voelden elkaar perfect aan en je zou haast hebben gezworen dat de composities wél 'op papier' stonden of ingeoefend waren omdat het zo consistent en coherent klonk, al was niets minder waar natuurlijk.

Hoe het had geklonken met saxofonist John Dikeman weten we niet, ongetwijfeld krijgt die man wel eens een herkansing in de Jazzzolder of op een ander podium. Wat we wel weten is dat het trio Gebruers-Antunes-Thieleman menig Mechels melomaan een bijzonder aangename en memorabele muzikale ervaring bezorgde, dat is klaar als een klontje!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless