tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Concert
Jazz 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

I haven't got the slightest idea what to expect tonight, and I think the band doesn't know what it is going to play neither, Lejo Vanhaelen, founding father of Jazzzolder Mechelen said, giving the perfect definition of free jazz. That friday night, juli 22th, Seppe Gebruers, Eric Thielemans and Hugo Antunes played a grand set, creating the music on the spot. A wonderful musical journey it was.

Improvisation, creation and passion were the key words of the evening. Free jazz is like going on a journey without knowing the destination or which road to take. The only conventions were respect for the break and curfew.

Pianist Seppe Gebruers had to improvise only a few hours before the gig, seeking a replacement for sax player John Dikeman who was ill. After a phone call, percussionist Eric Thielemans was happy to help out. Thielemans and Gebruers were joined by Hugo Antunes on contrabass.

The trio took the audience on a adventurous musical journey, discovering the path and destination together, whilst creating wonderous music. Seppe Gebruers manically unleashed all of his demons on both black and white keys and piano strings, with Hugo Antunes attacked his contrabass vigourously and furiously as if it was his last day on earth. Percussionist Eric Thielemans played on everything he could lay his hand on and was cleary enjoying every single second of it.

Truly amazing how this trio created wonderful tunes on the spot, sometimes in a very chaotic and hectic way but mostly very subtle and always full of melody. And strange as it might sound: the composition came to a perfectly structured cohesion.

Although each composition came to life during the concert itself, one would have sworn that some of those compositions were very well prepared. All pieces fell into place swiftly.

Thielemans, Gebruers and Antunes created wonderful tunes on the spot. The trio succeeded in offering a beautiful and memorabele musical experience that friday. Thanks, Guys!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Wat de muzikanten vanavond precies gaan brengen, weet ik niet, dat weten ze trouwens zelf ook niet, en dat is de bedoeling, aldus Jazzzolderbezieler Lejo Vanhaelen, niet alleen perfect het concert inleidend op vrijdagavond 22 juli 2016 in Jazzzolder Mechelen, maar meteen ook een mooie definitie gevend van freejazz.

Intelligente improvisaties waren ons deel die vrijdagavond. Merkwaardig en fascinerend was het om vast te stellen hoe drie topmuzikanten vanuit het absolute niets tot mooie composities kwamen en dat zonder een plan en met als enige afspraak dat die er niet was, of misschien toch: het respecteren van de pauze en de eindtijd.

Behalve het muzikale improviseren, had pianist Seppe Gebruers nog een extra improvisatietaak uit te voeren, luttele uren voor het optreden; saxofonist John Dikeman bleek ziek te bed. Gelukkig vond Gebruers percussionist Eric Thielemans bereid om in te springen. Tel daar contrabassist Hugo Antunes bij en je had het wondertrio dat ons meenam op de muzikale reis waarvan ze zelf, samen met ons, op het moment zelf beginpunt, parcours en eindhalte ontdekten.

In totaal kregen we zes spannende en frisse composities te horen, soms minimaal, meanderend en ingetogen, dan in een hels en hectisch tempo, een tikkeltje chaotisch en experimenteel, dan weer heel toegankelijk en, hoe contradictorisch het ook mag klinken, vaak met een heel erg sterke en logische opbouw.

Drie muzikanten die ter plaatse de muziek uitvinden en die dan ook nog fantastisch laten klinken en weten te beroeren en te emotioneren. Ondergetekende geniet nog na, ik beken!

Seppe Gebruers ontbond al zijn duivels op zowel toetsen als pianosnaren, Hugo Antunes beheerste de contrabas als geen ander, speelde alsof zijn leven ervan afhing en percussionist Eric Thielemans ging tekeer op alles wat met percussie te maken heeft en genoot zichtbaar van elk moment. Wat dat genieten betreft: dat geldt zeker voor álle muzikanten en voor wie net als ik het geluk had deze masterclass in instant componeren bij te wonen.

De drie muzikanten voelden elkaar perfect aan en je zou haast hebben gezworen dat de composities wél 'op papier' stonden of ingeoefend waren omdat het zo consistent en coherent klonk, al was niets minder waar natuurlijk.

Hoe het had geklonken met saxofonist John Dikeman weten we niet, ongetwijfeld krijgt die man wel eens een herkansing in de Jazzzolder of op een ander podium. Wat we wel weten is dat het trio Gebruers-Antunes-Thieleman menig Mechels melomaan een bijzonder aangename en memorabele muzikale ervaring bezorgde, dat is klaar als een klontje!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque