tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Concert
Jazz 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

I haven't got the slightest idea what to expect tonight, and I think the band doesn't know what it is going to play neither, Lejo Vanhaelen, founding father of Jazzzolder Mechelen said, giving the perfect definition of free jazz. That friday night, juli 22th, Seppe Gebruers, Eric Thielemans and Hugo Antunes played a grand set, creating the music on the spot. A wonderful musical journey it was.

Improvisation, creation and passion were the key words of the evening. Free jazz is like going on a journey without knowing the destination or which road to take. The only conventions were respect for the break and curfew.

Pianist Seppe Gebruers had to improvise only a few hours before the gig, seeking a replacement for sax player John Dikeman who was ill. After a phone call, percussionist Eric Thielemans was happy to help out. Thielemans and Gebruers were joined by Hugo Antunes on contrabass.

The trio took the audience on a adventurous musical journey, discovering the path and destination together, whilst creating wonderous music. Seppe Gebruers manically unleashed all of his demons on both black and white keys and piano strings, with Hugo Antunes attacked his contrabass vigourously and furiously as if it was his last day on earth. Percussionist Eric Thielemans played on everything he could lay his hand on and was cleary enjoying every single second of it.

Truly amazing how this trio created wonderful tunes on the spot, sometimes in a very chaotic and hectic way but mostly very subtle and always full of melody. And strange as it might sound: the composition came to a perfectly structured cohesion.

Although each composition came to life during the concert itself, one would have sworn that some of those compositions were very well prepared. All pieces fell into place swiftly.

Thielemans, Gebruers and Antunes created wonderful tunes on the spot. The trio succeeded in offering a beautiful and memorabele musical experience that friday. Thanks, Guys!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Wat de muzikanten vanavond precies gaan brengen, weet ik niet, dat weten ze trouwens zelf ook niet, en dat is de bedoeling, aldus Jazzzolderbezieler Lejo Vanhaelen, niet alleen perfect het concert inleidend op vrijdagavond 22 juli 2016 in Jazzzolder Mechelen, maar meteen ook een mooie definitie gevend van freejazz.

Intelligente improvisaties waren ons deel die vrijdagavond. Merkwaardig en fascinerend was het om vast te stellen hoe drie topmuzikanten vanuit het absolute niets tot mooie composities kwamen en dat zonder een plan en met als enige afspraak dat die er niet was, of misschien toch: het respecteren van de pauze en de eindtijd.

Behalve het muzikale improviseren, had pianist Seppe Gebruers nog een extra improvisatietaak uit te voeren, luttele uren voor het optreden; saxofonist John Dikeman bleek ziek te bed. Gelukkig vond Gebruers percussionist Eric Thielemans bereid om in te springen. Tel daar contrabassist Hugo Antunes bij en je had het wondertrio dat ons meenam op de muzikale reis waarvan ze zelf, samen met ons, op het moment zelf beginpunt, parcours en eindhalte ontdekten.

In totaal kregen we zes spannende en frisse composities te horen, soms minimaal, meanderend en ingetogen, dan in een hels en hectisch tempo, een tikkeltje chaotisch en experimenteel, dan weer heel toegankelijk en, hoe contradictorisch het ook mag klinken, vaak met een heel erg sterke en logische opbouw.

Drie muzikanten die ter plaatse de muziek uitvinden en die dan ook nog fantastisch laten klinken en weten te beroeren en te emotioneren. Ondergetekende geniet nog na, ik beken!

Seppe Gebruers ontbond al zijn duivels op zowel toetsen als pianosnaren, Hugo Antunes beheerste de contrabas als geen ander, speelde alsof zijn leven ervan afhing en percussionist Eric Thielemans ging tekeer op alles wat met percussie te maken heeft en genoot zichtbaar van elk moment. Wat dat genieten betreft: dat geldt zeker voor álle muzikanten en voor wie net als ik het geluk had deze masterclass in instant componeren bij te wonen.

De drie muzikanten voelden elkaar perfect aan en je zou haast hebben gezworen dat de composities wél 'op papier' stonden of ingeoefend waren omdat het zo consistent en coherent klonk, al was niets minder waar natuurlijk.

Hoe het had geklonken met saxofonist John Dikeman weten we niet, ongetwijfeld krijgt die man wel eens een herkansing in de Jazzzolder of op een ander podium. Wat we wel weten is dat het trio Gebruers-Antunes-Thieleman menig Mechels melomaan een bijzonder aangename en memorabele muzikale ervaring bezorgde, dat is klaar als een klontje!

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016) 10/12/2016 : THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus