tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/06/2019 : THIS CAN HURT - Worlds Apart

THIS CAN HURT

Worlds Apart

MusicCD
CrossoverIndieIndie RockIndustrial Rock

[84/100]   

Self-released
04/06/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Belgian band This Can Hurt will release their second L.P. Worlds Apart in June 2019. Some old and wise music foxes hide behind their bandname: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - and Jack Noise. They named their music style Industrial Post Wave. Why? Because they couldn't find any other name that suits their own sound influenced by so many different styles. Their first LP, Nothing Matters, was often compared in reviews to great artists such as Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack... not too bad if you would ask me.

Should we agree with this? Should we compare? I don't think so, it is just box thinking, something we refuse to do as it is pointless. We discover here very nice indie-rocksongs, with a sometimes hard base, and sometimes more intimate. Those who are into hard rock will enjoy River Runs Deep. Masterful compositions with nice tempo changes and guitars that are hunted by loads of cables and millions of pedals. Fate fits perfectly in this. The guitar parts in this song are definitely awesome. The love for guitars can be felt throughout the album. Great gothrock-80's songs like Diane or a hint of postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. And the comparison of their first L.P. with among others Type O Negative is justified when you hear the pur sang rocker The Fall Of Mark E. Smith. With some crossover passages.

In For You we discover some modesty and drawn-out guitar sounds.

This Can Hurt delivered a great second album with their magnificent industrial post wave. Sturdy rockers, some space for some electronics and synths, screaming overdrived guitars and on top of that the strong voice of Sven Vande Neste. Festivals from all over the world: book them. These guys on stage can only make of it an incredible party.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


NL

Het Belgische This Can Hurt brengt in juni 2019 hun tweede longplayer Worlds Apart uit. Achter de bandnaam schuilen een aantal oude wijze muzikale vossen die al hun strepen verdienden: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - en Jack Noise. Ze hebben hun muzikale stijl de naam Industrial Post Wave gedoopt. Waarom? Wel, omdat het niet echt al een naam had waar de door diverse stijlen beïnvloede sound die hen eigen is onder te plaatsen is. Hun eersteling, Nothing Matters, werd in menig review gelinkt aan muzikale grootheden als Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack,… een niet zo mis lijstje, als je het mij vraagt.

Moeten we dit dan beamen? Vergelijken? Ik denk het niet, want dat is hokjes-denken, iets wat wij pertinent weigeren te doen wegens zinloos. Maar we ontdekken wel leuke indie-rocksongs, met dan weer een heel stevige basis, dan weer meer ingetogen en voorzichtiger.
Wie een voorkeur heeft voor meer robuuste rockers vindt zijn gading in River Runs Deep. Vakmanschap en meesterlijke composities, met leuke tempowissels en gitaren die door meters kabels en tig pedalen worden gejaagd. Fate sluit daar perfect bij aan. De gitaarpartijen in deze laatste zijn van absolute topklasse.
De liefde voor gitaarwerk is een rode draad door dit hele album. Geweldige gothrock-achtige nummers zoals Diane of een vleugje postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. En de vergelijking bij hun eersteling met o.a. Type O Negative is niet onterecht als je de rocker pur sang The Fall Of Mark E. Smith beluisterd. En an sich zitten er passages in die crossover zijn. Geweldig om dit versmolten in heel robuuste songs te mogen ontdekken.Ingetogenheid en uitgesponnen gitaarsounds ontdekken we in For You.

De grond uit het Belgische platteland, het Meetjesland, van waaruit deze heerschappen hun magistrale industrial post wave op ons loslaten, is van oerdegelijke kwaliteit. This Can Hurt levert bij deze een tweede geweldig album af. Stevige rockers, een plaats voor wat electronica en synths, overstuurde gitaren die schreeuwen om verlossing en daarbovenop de sterke stem van Sven Vande Neste. Festivals aller landen: boeken die handel! De tapkraan open, zweetgeuren die langzaam merkbaar worden en de walmen van half-gegaard en/of gebakken junkfood die erbij horen…. Ja, een plaatje dat met deze jongens op het podium alleen maar een kan uitmonden in een ongelooflijk feest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


 

Next reviews
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
FILTER • Crazy Eyes

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel