tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/06/2019 : THIS CAN HURT - Worlds Apart

THIS CAN HURT

Worlds Apart

MusicCD
CrossoverIndieIndie RockIndustrial Rock

[84/100]   

Self-released
04/06/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Belgian band This Can Hurt will release their second L.P. Worlds Apart in June 2019. Some old and wise music foxes hide behind their bandname: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - and Jack Noise. They named their music style Industrial Post Wave. Why? Because they couldn't find any other name that suits their own sound influenced by so many different styles. Their first LP, Nothing Matters, was often compared in reviews to great artists such as Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack... not too bad if you would ask me.

Should we agree with this? Should we compare? I don't think so, it is just box thinking, something we refuse to do as it is pointless. We discover here very nice indie-rocksongs, with a sometimes hard base, and sometimes more intimate. Those who are into hard rock will enjoy River Runs Deep. Masterful compositions with nice tempo changes and guitars that are hunted by loads of cables and millions of pedals. Fate fits perfectly in this. The guitar parts in this song are definitely awesome. The love for guitars can be felt throughout the album. Great gothrock-80's songs like Diane or a hint of postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. And the comparison of their first L.P. with among others Type O Negative is justified when you hear the pur sang rocker The Fall Of Mark E. Smith. With some crossover passages.

In For You we discover some modesty and drawn-out guitar sounds.

This Can Hurt delivered a great second album with their magnificent industrial post wave. Sturdy rockers, some space for some electronics and synths, screaming overdrived guitars and on top of that the strong voice of Sven Vande Neste. Festivals from all over the world: book them. These guys on stage can only make of it an incredible party.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


NL

Het Belgische This Can Hurt brengt in juni 2019 hun tweede longplayer Worlds Apart uit. Achter de bandnaam schuilen een aantal oude wijze muzikale vossen die al hun strepen verdienden: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - en Jack Noise. Ze hebben hun muzikale stijl de naam Industrial Post Wave gedoopt. Waarom? Wel, omdat het niet echt al een naam had waar de door diverse stijlen beïnvloede sound die hen eigen is onder te plaatsen is. Hun eersteling, Nothing Matters, werd in menig review gelinkt aan muzikale grootheden als Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack,… een niet zo mis lijstje, als je het mij vraagt.

Moeten we dit dan beamen? Vergelijken? Ik denk het niet, want dat is hokjes-denken, iets wat wij pertinent weigeren te doen wegens zinloos. Maar we ontdekken wel leuke indie-rocksongs, met dan weer een heel stevige basis, dan weer meer ingetogen en voorzichtiger.
Wie een voorkeur heeft voor meer robuuste rockers vindt zijn gading in River Runs Deep. Vakmanschap en meesterlijke composities, met leuke tempowissels en gitaren die door meters kabels en tig pedalen worden gejaagd. Fate sluit daar perfect bij aan. De gitaarpartijen in deze laatste zijn van absolute topklasse.
De liefde voor gitaarwerk is een rode draad door dit hele album. Geweldige gothrock-achtige nummers zoals Diane of een vleugje postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. En de vergelijking bij hun eersteling met o.a. Type O Negative is niet onterecht als je de rocker pur sang The Fall Of Mark E. Smith beluisterd. En an sich zitten er passages in die crossover zijn. Geweldig om dit versmolten in heel robuuste songs te mogen ontdekken.Ingetogenheid en uitgesponnen gitaarsounds ontdekken we in For You.

De grond uit het Belgische platteland, het Meetjesland, van waaruit deze heerschappen hun magistrale industrial post wave op ons loslaten, is van oerdegelijke kwaliteit. This Can Hurt levert bij deze een tweede geweldig album af. Stevige rockers, een plaats voor wat electronica en synths, overstuurde gitaren die schreeuwen om verlossing en daarbovenop de sterke stem van Sven Vande Neste. Festivals aller landen: boeken die handel! De tapkraan open, zweetgeuren die langzaam merkbaar worden en de walmen van half-gegaard en/of gebakken junkfood die erbij horen…. Ja, een plaatje dat met deze jongens op het podium alleen maar een kan uitmonden in een ongelooflijk feest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


 

Next reviews
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo