tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/06/2019 : THIS CAN HURT - Worlds Apart

THIS CAN HURT

Worlds Apart

MusicCD
CrossoverIndieIndie RockIndustrial Rock

[84/100]   

Self-released
04/06/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Belgian band This Can Hurt will release their second L.P. Worlds Apart in June 2019. Some old and wise music foxes hide behind their bandname: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - and Jack Noise. They named their music style Industrial Post Wave. Why? Because they couldn't find any other name that suits their own sound influenced by so many different styles. Their first LP, Nothing Matters, was often compared in reviews to great artists such as Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack... not too bad if you would ask me.

Should we agree with this? Should we compare? I don't think so, it is just box thinking, something we refuse to do as it is pointless. We discover here very nice indie-rocksongs, with a sometimes hard base, and sometimes more intimate. Those who are into hard rock will enjoy River Runs Deep. Masterful compositions with nice tempo changes and guitars that are hunted by loads of cables and millions of pedals. Fate fits perfectly in this. The guitar parts in this song are definitely awesome. The love for guitars can be felt throughout the album. Great gothrock-80's songs like Diane or a hint of postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. And the comparison of their first L.P. with among others Type O Negative is justified when you hear the pur sang rocker The Fall Of Mark E. Smith. With some crossover passages.

In For You we discover some modesty and drawn-out guitar sounds.

This Can Hurt delivered a great second album with their magnificent industrial post wave. Sturdy rockers, some space for some electronics and synths, screaming overdrived guitars and on top of that the strong voice of Sven Vande Neste. Festivals from all over the world: book them. These guys on stage can only make of it an incredible party.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


NL

Het Belgische This Can Hurt brengt in juni 2019 hun tweede longplayer Worlds Apart uit. Achter de bandnaam schuilen een aantal oude wijze muzikale vossen die al hun strepen verdienden: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - en Jack Noise. Ze hebben hun muzikale stijl de naam Industrial Post Wave gedoopt. Waarom? Wel, omdat het niet echt al een naam had waar de door diverse stijlen beïnvloede sound die hen eigen is onder te plaatsen is. Hun eersteling, Nothing Matters, werd in menig review gelinkt aan muzikale grootheden als Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack,… een niet zo mis lijstje, als je het mij vraagt.

Moeten we dit dan beamen? Vergelijken? Ik denk het niet, want dat is hokjes-denken, iets wat wij pertinent weigeren te doen wegens zinloos. Maar we ontdekken wel leuke indie-rocksongs, met dan weer een heel stevige basis, dan weer meer ingetogen en voorzichtiger.
Wie een voorkeur heeft voor meer robuuste rockers vindt zijn gading in River Runs Deep. Vakmanschap en meesterlijke composities, met leuke tempowissels en gitaren die door meters kabels en tig pedalen worden gejaagd. Fate sluit daar perfect bij aan. De gitaarpartijen in deze laatste zijn van absolute topklasse.
De liefde voor gitaarwerk is een rode draad door dit hele album. Geweldige gothrock-achtige nummers zoals Diane of een vleugje postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. En de vergelijking bij hun eersteling met o.a. Type O Negative is niet onterecht als je de rocker pur sang The Fall Of Mark E. Smith beluisterd. En an sich zitten er passages in die crossover zijn. Geweldig om dit versmolten in heel robuuste songs te mogen ontdekken.Ingetogenheid en uitgesponnen gitaarsounds ontdekken we in For You.

De grond uit het Belgische platteland, het Meetjesland, van waaruit deze heerschappen hun magistrale industrial post wave op ons loslaten, is van oerdegelijke kwaliteit. This Can Hurt levert bij deze een tweede geweldig album af. Stevige rockers, een plaats voor wat electronica en synths, overstuurde gitaren die schreeuwen om verlossing en daarbovenop de sterke stem van Sven Vande Neste. Festivals aller landen: boeken die handel! De tapkraan open, zweetgeuren die langzaam merkbaar worden en de walmen van half-gegaard en/of gebakken junkfood die erbij horen…. Ja, een plaatje dat met deze jongens op het podium alleen maar een kan uitmonden in een ongelooflijk feest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


 

Next reviews
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut