tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/06/2019 : THIS CAN HURT - Worlds Apart

THIS CAN HURT

Worlds Apart

MusicCD
CrossoverIndieIndie RockIndustrial Rock

[84/100]   

Self-released
04/06/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Belgian band This Can Hurt will release their second L.P. Worlds Apart in June 2019. Some old and wise music foxes hide behind their bandname: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - and Jack Noise. They named their music style Industrial Post Wave. Why? Because they couldn't find any other name that suits their own sound influenced by so many different styles. Their first LP, Nothing Matters, was often compared in reviews to great artists such as Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack... not too bad if you would ask me.

Should we agree with this? Should we compare? I don't think so, it is just box thinking, something we refuse to do as it is pointless. We discover here very nice indie-rocksongs, with a sometimes hard base, and sometimes more intimate. Those who are into hard rock will enjoy River Runs Deep. Masterful compositions with nice tempo changes and guitars that are hunted by loads of cables and millions of pedals. Fate fits perfectly in this. The guitar parts in this song are definitely awesome. The love for guitars can be felt throughout the album. Great gothrock-80's songs like Diane or a hint of postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. And the comparison of their first L.P. with among others Type O Negative is justified when you hear the pur sang rocker The Fall Of Mark E. Smith. With some crossover passages.

In For You we discover some modesty and drawn-out guitar sounds.

This Can Hurt delivered a great second album with their magnificent industrial post wave. Sturdy rockers, some space for some electronics and synths, screaming overdrived guitars and on top of that the strong voice of Sven Vande Neste. Festivals from all over the world: book them. These guys on stage can only make of it an incredible party.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


NL

Het Belgische This Can Hurt brengt in juni 2019 hun tweede longplayer Worlds Apart uit. Achter de bandnaam schuilen een aantal oude wijze muzikale vossen die al hun strepen verdienden: JP De Brabander (ex-LoopLizard / ex-DeLaVega), Sven Vande Neste (70's Tush) - en Jack Noise. Ze hebben hun muzikale stijl de naam Industrial Post Wave gedoopt. Waarom? Wel, omdat het niet echt al een naam had waar de door diverse stijlen beïnvloede sound die hen eigen is onder te plaatsen is. Hun eersteling, Nothing Matters, werd in menig review gelinkt aan muzikale grootheden als Muse, Type O Negative, Sisters Of Mercy, Massive Attack,… een niet zo mis lijstje, als je het mij vraagt.

Moeten we dit dan beamen? Vergelijken? Ik denk het niet, want dat is hokjes-denken, iets wat wij pertinent weigeren te doen wegens zinloos. Maar we ontdekken wel leuke indie-rocksongs, met dan weer een heel stevige basis, dan weer meer ingetogen en voorzichtiger.
Wie een voorkeur heeft voor meer robuuste rockers vindt zijn gading in River Runs Deep. Vakmanschap en meesterlijke composities, met leuke tempowissels en gitaren die door meters kabels en tig pedalen worden gejaagd. Fate sluit daar perfect bij aan. De gitaarpartijen in deze laatste zijn van absolute topklasse.
De liefde voor gitaarwerk is een rode draad door dit hele album. Geweldige gothrock-achtige nummers zoals Diane of een vleugje postpunk/shoegaze in Some Days. En de vergelijking bij hun eersteling met o.a. Type O Negative is niet onterecht als je de rocker pur sang The Fall Of Mark E. Smith beluisterd. En an sich zitten er passages in die crossover zijn. Geweldig om dit versmolten in heel robuuste songs te mogen ontdekken.Ingetogenheid en uitgesponnen gitaarsounds ontdekken we in For You.

De grond uit het Belgische platteland, het Meetjesland, van waaruit deze heerschappen hun magistrale industrial post wave op ons loslaten, is van oerdegelijke kwaliteit. This Can Hurt levert bij deze een tweede geweldig album af. Stevige rockers, een plaats voor wat electronica en synths, overstuurde gitaren die schreeuwen om verlossing en daarbovenop de sterke stem van Sven Vande Neste. Festivals aller landen: boeken die handel! De tapkraan open, zweetgeuren die langzaam merkbaar worden en de walmen van half-gegaard en/of gebakken junkfood die erbij horen…. Ja, een plaatje dat met deze jongens op het podium alleen maar een kan uitmonden in een ongelooflijk feest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/06/2019


 

Next reviews
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)