tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming

TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU

The Second Coming

Movie
Horror

[55/100]   

A-Film
08/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The boom of Asian horror films seems to be over, although (just as in other countries), this kind of releases is still made. Needless to say that they (at least in Europe) only appear on the DVD market. The Second Coming by Ti Chi Ng and Herman Yau (the director of the Ip Man-movies) shows nothing new, but does what it is supposed to do (read: scare the viewer, although you already saw it in films like Ju -On).

Nobody believes Lucy as she claims to see ghosts. Even on her birthday she sees worms in the cake. And it goes further: when she opens the refrigerator, then she notices some strange creepy creature. Lucy is the only one who sees them, her parents and brother think that the poor girl is fodder for the psychiatrist. However, everything has to do with an abortion, because Lucy was an unwanted child.

The scenario is quite nice, even if it seems like a summary of popular Asian horror films, because believe us, even if you are not an expert, you have seen it all before. The horror effects are bloody, but often too cheap and so a lot of fun is lost. As for the performances, the cast does what is expected: they run for their life.

Fans who can’t get enough of Asian horror will probably be able to digest this movie. This is a double disc release with the 2D and 3D version (though we do not really see the value of that). Now out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


NL

De boom van Aziatische horrorfilms is ondertussen al volledig voorbij, toch blijft men (net zoals in andere landen) dit soort releases nog gretig uitbrengen. Onnodig te zeggen dat ze bijna stuk voor stuk (althans in Europa toch) alleen maar op de dvd-markt verschijnen. The Second Coming van Ti Chi Ng en Herman Yau (de regisseur van de Ip Man-films) toont niks nieuws, maar doet wat hij moet doen (lees: de kijker de stuipen op het lijf jagen, ofschoon je het al in films zoals Ju-On hebt gezien).

Niemand gelooft Lucy, die beweert dat ze geesten ziet. Zelfs op haar verjaardagsfeestje ziet ze wormen in de taart waardoor ze haar vader met een mes bewerkt. En het gaat maar door: opent ze de ijskast dan bemerkt ze één of ander vreemde creatuur. Lucy is echter de enige die het ziet, waardoor haar ouders en broer denken dat het arme wicht voer is voor de psychiater. Alles heeft echter te maken met een abortus, want in slechtere tijden was Lucy ooit een ongewild kind.

Het scenario is best aardig, ook al lijkt het een samenvatting van populaire Aziatische horrorfilms, want geloof ons: zelfs al ben je geen expert, heb je het toch allemaal al eens gezien. De horroreffecten zijn bloederig, maar vaak wat te goedkoop, waardoor er heel wat plezier verloren gaat. En wat de acteerprestaties betreft, ook hier doet de cast wat wordt verwacht: men rent voor z'n leven.

Fans die maar niet genoeg krijg van Aziatische bibberprenten zullen wellicht deze brok huiver kunnen verteren. De release is uitgebracht op een dubbeldisk waarop zowel de 2D- als de 3D-versie te zien is (alhoewel we de meerwaarde daarvan niet echt hebben begrepen). Nu uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott