tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming

TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU

The Second Coming

Movie
Horror

[55/100]   

A-Film
08/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The boom of Asian horror films seems to be over, although (just as in other countries), this kind of releases is still made. Needless to say that they (at least in Europe) only appear on the DVD market. The Second Coming by Ti Chi Ng and Herman Yau (the director of the Ip Man-movies) shows nothing new, but does what it is supposed to do (read: scare the viewer, although you already saw it in films like Ju -On).

Nobody believes Lucy as she claims to see ghosts. Even on her birthday she sees worms in the cake. And it goes further: when she opens the refrigerator, then she notices some strange creepy creature. Lucy is the only one who sees them, her parents and brother think that the poor girl is fodder for the psychiatrist. However, everything has to do with an abortion, because Lucy was an unwanted child.

The scenario is quite nice, even if it seems like a summary of popular Asian horror films, because believe us, even if you are not an expert, you have seen it all before. The horror effects are bloody, but often too cheap and so a lot of fun is lost. As for the performances, the cast does what is expected: they run for their life.

Fans who can’t get enough of Asian horror will probably be able to digest this movie. This is a double disc release with the 2D and 3D version (though we do not really see the value of that). Now out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


NL

De boom van Aziatische horrorfilms is ondertussen al volledig voorbij, toch blijft men (net zoals in andere landen) dit soort releases nog gretig uitbrengen. Onnodig te zeggen dat ze bijna stuk voor stuk (althans in Europa toch) alleen maar op de dvd-markt verschijnen. The Second Coming van Ti Chi Ng en Herman Yau (de regisseur van de Ip Man-films) toont niks nieuws, maar doet wat hij moet doen (lees: de kijker de stuipen op het lijf jagen, ofschoon je het al in films zoals Ju-On hebt gezien).

Niemand gelooft Lucy, die beweert dat ze geesten ziet. Zelfs op haar verjaardagsfeestje ziet ze wormen in de taart waardoor ze haar vader met een mes bewerkt. En het gaat maar door: opent ze de ijskast dan bemerkt ze één of ander vreemde creatuur. Lucy is echter de enige die het ziet, waardoor haar ouders en broer denken dat het arme wicht voer is voor de psychiater. Alles heeft echter te maken met een abortus, want in slechtere tijden was Lucy ooit een ongewild kind.

Het scenario is best aardig, ook al lijkt het een samenvatting van populaire Aziatische horrorfilms, want geloof ons: zelfs al ben je geen expert, heb je het toch allemaal al eens gezien. De horroreffecten zijn bloederig, maar vaak wat te goedkoop, waardoor er heel wat plezier verloren gaat. En wat de acteerprestaties betreft, ook hier doet de cast wat wordt verwacht: men rent voor z'n leven.

Fans die maar niet genoeg krijg van Aziatische bibberprenten zullen wellicht deze brok huiver kunnen verteren. De release is uitgebracht op een dubbeldisk waarop zowel de 2D- als de 3D-versie te zien is (alhoewel we de meerwaarde daarvan niet echt hebben begrepen). Nu uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life