tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming

TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU

The Second Coming

Movie
Horror

[55/100]   

A-Film
08/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The boom of Asian horror films seems to be over, although (just as in other countries), this kind of releases is still made. Needless to say that they (at least in Europe) only appear on the DVD market. The Second Coming by Ti Chi Ng and Herman Yau (the director of the Ip Man-movies) shows nothing new, but does what it is supposed to do (read: scare the viewer, although you already saw it in films like Ju -On).

Nobody believes Lucy as she claims to see ghosts. Even on her birthday she sees worms in the cake. And it goes further: when she opens the refrigerator, then she notices some strange creepy creature. Lucy is the only one who sees them, her parents and brother think that the poor girl is fodder for the psychiatrist. However, everything has to do with an abortion, because Lucy was an unwanted child.

The scenario is quite nice, even if it seems like a summary of popular Asian horror films, because believe us, even if you are not an expert, you have seen it all before. The horror effects are bloody, but often too cheap and so a lot of fun is lost. As for the performances, the cast does what is expected: they run for their life.

Fans who can’t get enough of Asian horror will probably be able to digest this movie. This is a double disc release with the 2D and 3D version (though we do not really see the value of that). Now out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


NL

De boom van Aziatische horrorfilms is ondertussen al volledig voorbij, toch blijft men (net zoals in andere landen) dit soort releases nog gretig uitbrengen. Onnodig te zeggen dat ze bijna stuk voor stuk (althans in Europa toch) alleen maar op de dvd-markt verschijnen. The Second Coming van Ti Chi Ng en Herman Yau (de regisseur van de Ip Man-films) toont niks nieuws, maar doet wat hij moet doen (lees: de kijker de stuipen op het lijf jagen, ofschoon je het al in films zoals Ju-On hebt gezien).

Niemand gelooft Lucy, die beweert dat ze geesten ziet. Zelfs op haar verjaardagsfeestje ziet ze wormen in de taart waardoor ze haar vader met een mes bewerkt. En het gaat maar door: opent ze de ijskast dan bemerkt ze één of ander vreemde creatuur. Lucy is echter de enige die het ziet, waardoor haar ouders en broer denken dat het arme wicht voer is voor de psychiater. Alles heeft echter te maken met een abortus, want in slechtere tijden was Lucy ooit een ongewild kind.

Het scenario is best aardig, ook al lijkt het een samenvatting van populaire Aziatische horrorfilms, want geloof ons: zelfs al ben je geen expert, heb je het toch allemaal al eens gezien. De horroreffecten zijn bloederig, maar vaak wat te goedkoop, waardoor er heel wat plezier verloren gaat. En wat de acteerprestaties betreft, ook hier doet de cast wat wordt verwacht: men rent voor z'n leven.

Fans die maar niet genoeg krijg van Aziatische bibberprenten zullen wellicht deze brok huiver kunnen verteren. De release is uitgebracht op een dubbeldisk waarop zowel de 2D- als de 3D-versie te zien is (alhoewel we de meerwaarde daarvan niet echt hebben begrepen). Nu uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming 08/04/2015 : TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU - The Second Coming

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation