tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along

TIM STORY

Ride Along

Movie
Comedy

[56/100]   

Universal Pictures
24/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

After having made the two movies with The Fantastic Four ,Tim Story wanted to make an old fashioned cop movie. The result is Ride Along and across the Atlantic Ocean the movie scored so well that now a sequel is already announced. Of course you saw it all before (from 48 Hours to Rush Hour) but if you’re not a crabby person then you’ll surely have a good time with this 90 minutes long comedy.

As so many told before, this is the story about two cops who don’t like each other. Well, something like that as one part of the duo isn’t even a rookie yet! James (Ice Cube) is a rough cop who chases the bad guys in pure Dirty Harry-style. He can’t stand his brother-in-law Ben (Kevin Hart). To make James’ life a complete nightmare, Ben decided to join the police academy. But the cop has a great idea, he takes Ben on his daily journey hoping that he soon changes his mind.

It’s quite clear that you don’t have to watch this movie for the story. It’s a comedy! Some can laugh with it, while others not…simply as that! The jokes might be a bit old fashioned (so no Hangover!), but they work! It’s of course a very strange thing to see rapper Ice Cube playing a Hollywood-star, but if you put him in the right role then he can act! From time to time his partner Kevin Hart is a bit too

Chris Tucker-like, but not so annoying (yet!) The finale is a bit over the top, but if you can forget all that then you surely can consider Ride Along as being one of the better Hollywood-comedies from last months.

On this Blu-ray you find some extra material. All short movies that are interesting for die-hard fans. There’s an alternate ending, a gag reel and deleted scenes. In Kev & Cube’s Wild Ride it seems like

Kevin Hart can’t believe the fact that he’s performing next to Ice Cube. Talking about respect, but for the film fan this extra is not so interesting to watch! Anyone who wants to know how to set a building on fire can watch Anatomy Of The Big Blast , while An Explosive Ride says something about the stunts.

Ride Along is now out on DVD and Blu-ray through Universal.

Didier BECU
24/08/2014


NL

Na twee keer te hebben gescoord met The Fantastic Four had Tim Story best zin in een ouderwetse copmovie. Het resultaat is Ride Along en blijkbaar heeft de film over de Atlantische Oceaan goed geboerd want er is er nu al sprake van een sequel. Deze komedie blaast je misschien niet van je stoel weg, maar wie geen zuurpruim is zal zich toch ongetwijfeld anderhalf uur vermaken met dit doldwaze flikkenverhaal.

Het is niks nieuws, maar ook in dit relaas gaat het over twee flikken die elkaar niet kunnen luchten, alhoewel het er bij dit duo iets anders aan toe gaat. James (Ice Cube) is een ruige flik die in pure Dirty Harry-stijl de boeven achterna rent. Zijn schoonbroer Ben (Kevin Hart) die James niet kan luchten heeft zich ingeschreven bij de politieacademie. James besluit om Ben mee te nemen op patrouille en er voor te zorgen dat zijn zwager het idee om flik te worden zo snel mogelijk uit zijn hoofd zet.

Nogal wiedes dat je deze schijf niet in je lader moet gooien voor het verhaal, dit is een komedie en ofwel kun je ermee lachen ofwel niet. De grapjes zijn misschien braaf, maar meestal werken ze wel. Het blijft vreemd om Ice Cube als Hollywoodster het schone weer te zien maken, maar hij doet het wel. Kevin Hart dreigt af en toe om net iets te veel in het straatje van Chris Tucker te geraken(je weet wel, Rush Hour), desalniettemin weet hij zich enigszins te beheersen. De finale is misschien net iets te veel van het goede, maar als je dat gedeelte door de vingers kan zien dan is Ride Along beslist één van de leukere Hollywoodkomedies van de afgelopen maanden.

Op de Blu-ray vind je heel wat bonusmateriaal terug, ook al gaat het hoofdzakelijk om korte filmpjes die vooral interessant zijn voor fervente fans. Er is een alternatief einde, wat weggelaten scènes en een collage bloopers. Kev & Cube’s Wild Ride is een filmpje van vijf minuten waarin Kevin Hart vertelt dat hij het maar niet kan geloven dat hij samen op de set stond met Ice Cube. Van respect gesproken dus, ook al levert dat voor de filmfan maar weinig zinnigs op. Wie wil weten hoe hij het best een gebouw in de fik kan steken kan zich laven aan Anatomy Of The Big Blast en ten slotte is er nog An Explosive Ride waarin men wat over de stunts vertelt.

Ride Along is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Universal.

Didier BECU
24/08/2014


24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along 24/08/2014 : TIM STORY - Ride Along

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)