tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter

TOBIAS FALK

Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter

Movie
ActionSpy Movie

[58/100]   

Lumire
31/07/2014, Didier BECU

EN

There’s some good news for those who are keen on crime series as Belgian toplabel Lumière has just started a brand new series named Lumière Crime Films on where you can find both classics like Millenium and some new faces like this Agent Hamilton. There are two films made about him and they’re all based upon the books by Swedish author Jan Guillou.


Secret Agent Carl Hamilton (Mikael Persbrandt) can be described as the Swedish James Bond. Not only does he look a bit like Daniel Craig (we said a bit, ladies!), he also is constantly involved in thrilling, dangerous situations. The Säpo (that’s the Swedish MI6) is alert when in Stockholm a conference about the Middle East takes place. It’s more than just some paranoia as the feared Suleiman Al-Obeid who already has murdered a politician has been signaled in town. This time it seems a Palestinian politician is the new target. Along with his colleague Ewa Tanguy (Frida Hallgren), Carl Hamilton tries to find out where Suleiman is located. They find him, but they can’t prevent that the wanted terrorist is shot down. A delicate matter, especially because Ewa Tanguy makes the stupid mistake to do an interview and makes some political remarks that upset the Moslims. The day after her young daughter Nathalie is kidnapped. The young girl is forced to tell that she has become a Moslim. Yeah indeed, something we heard before.


But Not If It Concerns Your Daughter (that’s the name of the movie) is not on the same high level as the one we know from other Scandinavian top series, but it’s nonetheless a tip for those who are into thrilling (sometimes brainless) action flicks. It’s all clear that the makers took their inspiration from 007, but it never gets ridiculous. That’s probably due to the fine acting from Mikael Persbrandt. There are lots of clichés in here, that’s true and it sounds indeed a bit ridiculous that one man can beat a whole army. But they have a name for something like that: entertainment!


But Not If It Concerns Your Daughter is out on DVD on Lumière.

Didier BECU
31/07/2014


NL

Goed nieuws voor kijkers die verzot zijn op crimeseries, want Lumière is met een nieuwe labelreeks begonnen: nl. de Lumière Crime Films waarop je naast enkele heruitgaven van klassiekers zoals Millenium tevens enkele gezichten kan aantreffen zoals deze agent Hamilton. De films (in totaal zijn er twee gemaakt) zijn gebaseerd op de boeken van de Zweedse auteur Jan Guillou.


Geheim agent Carl Hamilton (Mikael Persbrandt) zou je het best kunnen omschrijven als de Zweedse James Bond. Hij lijkt niet alleen een beetje op Daniel Craig (een beetje maar, dames!), ook komt hij om de haverklap in spannende situaties terecht waarin er niet op een kogel meer of minder wordt gekeken. De Säpo (dat is de Zweedse geheime dienst) is uiterst alert wanneer in Stockholm een Midden-Oostenconferentie plaatsvindt. De gevreesde Suleiman Al-Obeid die eerder al een politicus neerschoot is immers in de stad gesignaleerd en deze keer zou hij zijn zinnen op een Palestijnse politicus hebben gezet. Samen met zijn collega Ewa Tanguy (Frida Hallgren) probeert Carl Hamilton uit te zoeken waar Suleiman uithangt. Dat lukt hun, toch kunnen de twee niet verhinderen dat Suleiman wordt doodgeschoten. Een delicate zaak, zeker als Ewa Tanguy een paar dagen later in een interview enkele uitspraken doet die de moslimgemeenschap woedend maakt. Het gevolg is dat haar dochtertje Nathalie wordt ontvoerd. Via een videoboodschap moet het kind de wereld vertellen dat zij zich tot de Islam heeft bekeerd. Klinkt inderdaad zeer bekend in de oren!


But Not If It Concerns Your Daughter (want zo heet deze film) bezit helaas niet de uitmuntende kwaliteit zoals we dat bij Scandinavische toppers gewoon zijn, desalniettemin blijft het een aanrader voor wie van spannende (hersenloze) actie houdt. Het is overduidelijk dat de makers zich meer dan eens door de lotgevallen van 007 hebben laten inspireren, gelukkig wordt het nooit belachelijk. Iets wat wellicht door de knappe acteerprestatie van Mikael Persbrandt komt. Af en toe sluipen er wel net iets te veel clichés het verhaal binnen om origineel te zijn, qua amusement heeft deze actiethriller zeker zijn waarde. En dat het soms wat ongeloofwaardig klinkt dat één man een heel leger de baas kan? Tja, daarom noemt men het ook entertainment!


But Not If It Concerns Your Daughter is vanaf nu op dvd uit in de de Lumière Crime Films-reeks.

Didier BECU
31/07/2014


31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter 31/07/2014 : TOBIAS FALK - Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel