tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/10/2014 : TOM THE LION - Sleep

TOM THE LION

Sleep

MusicCD
Dark PopIndieSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Rough Trade
01/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Remember when music sounded otherworldly without being confined to dullards in bedsits wanking away unwanted songwriting weight? Let's pipe up with Mark Hollis' Talk Talk, David Sylvian's Rain Tree Crow and solo work, that first James Blake album, Radiohead's In Rainbows and anything Billy Mackenzie drenched his vocals with. I'm not saying Tom The Lion hits those heights but he's not far off on much of Sleep. Recently acclaimed by the Rough Trade shops as their album of the month and the follow-up to his double 10" E.P.s (boxed as The Adventures Of Tom The Lion), Sleep is brimming with invention, intent and intensity and straddles the void between bedsit-pop and overblown stadium-rock that taints our scene today.

Warm, resonating, slightly left of centre songs that build into something worthwhile, rather than sputtering to an abrupt halt, there is much to commend on Sleep. Beholden, Motorcade and the title-track all show Tom's ability to weave a colourful tapestry of melodies that demand repeated listening, with much of the album strong enough to warrant a knowing nod and a press of the repeat button at least once or twice. Get your head around his unusual diction that could best be described as 'affected' and you'll be seeing out the old year and welcoming in a few more with this effort.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
01/10/2014


 

Next reviews
LAKE BELL • In A World
GIUSEPPE TORNATORE • The Best Offer
VIEON • The sound of the future
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
GUS GUS • Mexico
KEVIN HEWICK • All was numbered
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold
FRANCOIS TRUFFAUT • La Peau Douce
MARTIN CARR • The Breaks
MANUEL PRADAL • Marie Baie Des Anges

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
ASTRID WILLIAMSON • Pulse

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

04
07
EIVOR NORDIC NIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside