tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : TOUCHING THE VOID - Love, Longing and Loss

TOUCHING THE VOID

Love, Longing and Loss

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Sub Culture Records
01/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Touching the Void, a project of Andy Oppenheimer (a songwriter and singer) and electronic music producer Mark Warner is indeed one touching music experience.

Being familiar with Andy's previous work, I was curious about his collaboration with another Mark this time. As I expected an excellence in electronic sound and recognizable vocals, I must say this album met my expectations, because this duo won't settle for less.

There are a lot of emotions here that give that touching feel, even though the electronic sound may produce a bit colder results sometimes, there is nothing cold about this piece of material.

The songs are blessed with flowing melodies and there is a lot of heart in them, a bit melancholic with just a touch of sadness but hope as well. The album offers some acoustic tracks as well that you won't hear in a disco, but are intended for some good home listening.

Andy's lyrics again play an important role here, as Andy is a great lyricist, so not do only they tell a tale through their supreme melodies, you have to listen and follow the lyrics.

Parallel Lives is one such track, an opening to the album, that tells you from the start what you can expect, all mentioned above: a melody, a feel, a touch of sublime emotion that hopefully lives in each of us. The acoustic feel is achieved on one more piece of pure excellence, In This Together that gives you a feeling of hope while the beauty of the melody is completed by a very emotional vocal performance by Andy.

But there is again a lot of pop in this, that you can hear in Fragment, a track with a very poppy chorus, but still a slow track though. It is surely not the kind of pop sound that will make you dance, but instead float in the fields of emotions in your own armchair.

The album is diverse and the sound differs from song to song. The guys seem to experiment a lot with their musical expression, so they dive into synth pop with a less emotional and more minimalistic and icy feel that you can hear on Inspiration. This one I would like to hear somewhere other than my home. Love, Longing and Loss is not just a title of a song or an album; it is a concept and the core idea of this album. The track that really gets under your skin as well is Then And Now. It starts really innocently, led mainly by Andy's voice and then unexpectedly blossoms into a very colorful landscape of sounds.

The album offers some very interesting remixes and my favorite is Desire remix by Digital ENERGY for their song Obsession that made a slow dancer into a dance floor track. 

Marija BULJETA
01/02/2016


NL

Touching the Void is het muzikale project van Andy Oppenheimer en producer Mark Warner. Het is een zeer ontroerende ervaring geworden.

Ik ben vertrouwd met het eerdere werk van Andy en daarom was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig naar deze samenwerking. Ik moet toegeven dat ik wel op het allerbeste had gehoopt, maar dit album overtreft toch al mijn verwachtingen. Er zijn een heleboel emoties op deze cd die je ontroeren, en ook al denk je misschien dat elektronische geluiden koud klinken, kan je dat niet over dit album zeggen. De songs hebben vloeiende melodieën, het is wat melancholisch met een vleugje verdriet, maar er zit ook hoop in. Het album heeft ook een aantal akoestische nummers die je niet in een disco hoort, maar die gewoon voor de huiskamer bedoeld zijn. De teksten van Andy spelen een belangrijke rol, gewoon omdat hij een geweldige tekstschrijver is. Jje moet dus niet alleen luisteren, maar ook de teksten volgen.

Parallel Lives is een ideale opener die je vanaf het begin vertelt wat je kan verwachten: een melodie, gevoel en emotie die hopelijk in ieder van ons leeft. In This Together geeft je een gevoel van hoop, terwijl de schoonheid van de melodie wordt aangevuld met Andy’s stem. Maar je hoort ook veel pop, zoals in Fragment: een track met een zeer poppy refrein, hoewel het een langzame song is. Het is zeker niet het soort popgeluid dat je doet dansen, maar een track waardoor je in je stoel wegzakt van de emoties.

Het album is divers en het geluid verschilt van lied tot lied. De jongens lijken met hun muzikale expressie te experimenteren, soms nemen ze een duik in de synthpop en vervolgens klinkt het weer minimalistisch, of je krijgt er een ijzig gevoel bij zoals in Inspiration. Dit nummer zou ik graag elders dan in mijn huis horen. Love, Longing And Loss is niet alleen de titel het album, het is ook het concept en de kerngedachte van dit album. Dat geldt ook voor Then And Now. Het begint onschuldig, maar Andy's stem zorgt vrij vlug voor een zeer kleurrijk landschap van geluiden.

Op het album vind je tevens een aantal zeer interessante remixen. Mijn favoriet is de Desire remix door Digital ENERGY van Obsession.

Marija BULJETA
01/02/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego
28
11
Today it's exactly 39 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat
29
11
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela