tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : TOUCHING THE VOID - Love, Longing and Loss

TOUCHING THE VOID

Love, Longing and Loss

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Sub Culture Records
01/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Touching the Void, a project of Andy Oppenheimer (a songwriter and singer) and electronic music producer Mark Warner is indeed one touching music experience.

Being familiar with Andy's previous work, I was curious about his collaboration with another Mark this time. As I expected an excellence in electronic sound and recognizable vocals, I must say this album met my expectations, because this duo won't settle for less.

There are a lot of emotions here that give that touching feel, even though the electronic sound may produce a bit colder results sometimes, there is nothing cold about this piece of material.

The songs are blessed with flowing melodies and there is a lot of heart in them, a bit melancholic with just a touch of sadness but hope as well. The album offers some acoustic tracks as well that you won't hear in a disco, but are intended for some good home listening.

Andy's lyrics again play an important role here, as Andy is a great lyricist, so not do only they tell a tale through their supreme melodies, you have to listen and follow the lyrics.

Parallel Lives is one such track, an opening to the album, that tells you from the start what you can expect, all mentioned above: a melody, a feel, a touch of sublime emotion that hopefully lives in each of us. The acoustic feel is achieved on one more piece of pure excellence, In This Together that gives you a feeling of hope while the beauty of the melody is completed by a very emotional vocal performance by Andy.

But there is again a lot of pop in this, that you can hear in Fragment, a track with a very poppy chorus, but still a slow track though. It is surely not the kind of pop sound that will make you dance, but instead float in the fields of emotions in your own armchair.

The album is diverse and the sound differs from song to song. The guys seem to experiment a lot with their musical expression, so they dive into synth pop with a less emotional and more minimalistic and icy feel that you can hear on Inspiration. This one I would like to hear somewhere other than my home. Love, Longing and Loss is not just a title of a song or an album; it is a concept and the core idea of this album. The track that really gets under your skin as well is Then And Now. It starts really innocently, led mainly by Andy's voice and then unexpectedly blossoms into a very colorful landscape of sounds.

The album offers some very interesting remixes and my favorite is Desire remix by Digital ENERGY for their song Obsession that made a slow dancer into a dance floor track. 

Marija BULJETA
01/02/2016


NL

Touching the Void is het muzikale project van Andy Oppenheimer en producer Mark Warner. Het is een zeer ontroerende ervaring geworden.

Ik ben vertrouwd met het eerdere werk van Andy en daarom was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig naar deze samenwerking. Ik moet toegeven dat ik wel op het allerbeste had gehoopt, maar dit album overtreft toch al mijn verwachtingen. Er zijn een heleboel emoties op deze cd die je ontroeren, en ook al denk je misschien dat elektronische geluiden koud klinken, kan je dat niet over dit album zeggen. De songs hebben vloeiende melodieën, het is wat melancholisch met een vleugje verdriet, maar er zit ook hoop in. Het album heeft ook een aantal akoestische nummers die je niet in een disco hoort, maar die gewoon voor de huiskamer bedoeld zijn. De teksten van Andy spelen een belangrijke rol, gewoon omdat hij een geweldige tekstschrijver is. Jje moet dus niet alleen luisteren, maar ook de teksten volgen.

Parallel Lives is een ideale opener die je vanaf het begin vertelt wat je kan verwachten: een melodie, gevoel en emotie die hopelijk in ieder van ons leeft. In This Together geeft je een gevoel van hoop, terwijl de schoonheid van de melodie wordt aangevuld met Andy’s stem. Maar je hoort ook veel pop, zoals in Fragment: een track met een zeer poppy refrein, hoewel het een langzame song is. Het is zeker niet het soort popgeluid dat je doet dansen, maar een track waardoor je in je stoel wegzakt van de emoties.

Het album is divers en het geluid verschilt van lied tot lied. De jongens lijken met hun muzikale expressie te experimenteren, soms nemen ze een duik in de synthpop en vervolgens klinkt het weer minimalistisch, of je krijgt er een ijzig gevoel bij zoals in Inspiration. Dit nummer zou ik graag elders dan in mijn huis horen. Love, Longing And Loss is niet alleen de titel het album, het is ook het concept en de kerngedachte van dit album. Dat geldt ook voor Then And Now. Het begint onschuldig, maar Andy's stem zorgt vrij vlug voor een zeer kleurrijk landschap van geluiden.

Op het album vind je tevens een aantal zeer interessante remixen. Mijn favoriet is de Desire remix door Digital ENERGY van Obsession.

Marija BULJETA
01/02/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'
29
11
Industrial Band Silence Embrace Drops The Dystopian Cyberpunk EP, 'Meta Queer Dolls'
28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme
27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense