tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/02/2014 : TRAFFICJAM - Lonely Happy

TRAFFICJAM

Lonely Happy

MusicCD
Electro RockGothic RockHeavy Metal

[84/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again a band I have never heard of and nice surprise if you like heavy guitars, slashing drums mixed with some electronica and a good voice!

First conclusion is that this cd is a short one in time: only a bit more than 40 minutes, seems a bit strange in these times. So I start with 'Popsong2' and that is the worst song on this cd! The sound and the voice are not blending in, it even sounds a bit out of tune... The vocals are for most of it pretty good, but at some point they are not right. I should skip the synth and some of the electronica and keep it more basic. After this the song gets what is really in it, but somehow they added too much and it doesn't fit in and even worse: is out of tune.

Luckily the other 8 songs are real jewels and well mixed! 'Webways' for ex has a nice Rammstein versus Herrschaft sound! Love the raw metal sound mixed with stumping beats and great vocals! The adrenaline rises on this one and might even make it into club land. I sense even some Metallica sound or should I say Metallica influences? Nice grunting and guitar wrapping!

'Say no more' has a more metal minded sound and some Faith no More influences. Love the mixing on this song, it gets the right drive and love the firing guitar sound! This one will sound very good on stage and create a nice vibe, just as the lyrics!

'U' is a short title, but the song is sharp as a knife! Heavy guitars, nice shouting and a heavy sound! Once again I feel that this one will make a good impression on stage! Metal fans will absolutely love it!

'Will I Ever' just delivers another blow. Love the screaming background noise! Here I feel like a bit more of old school Sepultura approach would make this song a bigger hit, but still: it's a great one and has a fast tempo and cool drive!

'Dont ! Let Go' starts with a drum'n bass sound, throws in some guitars and some grunting. It's weird mix but this time it works! Here I actually feel some cool Sepultura vibe. The mosh pit is open! Just scream, jump, put your arm in the air, headband, crowd surf... Let yourself go!

'Shadow' bombs us with more heavy guitar riffs and nice electro, it all blends in well and give us enough excitement to jump up and down! A pure jewel!

'2many' has some kind of disco sound, really weird before exploding into a more metal sound and going for a metal kill and coming back to the disco king! This is really taking a strange turn and looking for a new crossover sound. Wandering if much people will like this try out? They have nerves, for sure! That must be also the starting point of view from the title: too many sound clones... So the least of all things I can add is that they have balls!

'Wish you were' is a more old school metal song, still mixed with some electronics and some cool screaming (almost like Sepultura)! At some point there is even a bit of a melancholic sound. It's a nice last song!

Worthwhile checking out if you are looking for something new, so why not... I tested it out and I am still alive...

http://www.trafficjam.be/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/02/2014


 

Next reviews
THE DEATH NOTES • Lost And Found
STUPID BITCH REJECT • Stupid Bitch Reject
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Erase me EP
GEORGE R. R. MARTIN • Comic : A Game Of Thrones - Boek 1
• JOHAN FALK - SEASON 2
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
PSY'AVIAH FEAT. KYOKO BAERTSOEN • Our Common Future EP
VOLKOVA • Silent Howl
LITHOS SARCOPHAGOS • Myself
KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI • Illumination

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + GOTHIC ROCK + HEAVY METAL
HELL BOULEVARD • Hangover from Hell
CREMATORY • Antiserum
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap