tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/02/2014 : TRAFFICJAM - Lonely Happy

TRAFFICJAM

Lonely Happy

MusicCD
Electro RockGothic RockHeavy Metal

[84/100]   

Self-released
11/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again a band I have never heard of and nice surprise if you like heavy guitars, slashing drums mixed with some electronica and a good voice!

First conclusion is that this cd is a short one in time: only a bit more than 40 minutes, seems a bit strange in these times. So I start with 'Popsong2' and that is the worst song on this cd! The sound and the voice are not blending in, it even sounds a bit out of tune... The vocals are for most of it pretty good, but at some point they are not right. I should skip the synth and some of the electronica and keep it more basic. After this the song gets what is really in it, but somehow they added too much and it doesn't fit in and even worse: is out of tune.

Luckily the other 8 songs are real jewels and well mixed! 'Webways' for ex has a nice Rammstein versus Herrschaft sound! Love the raw metal sound mixed with stumping beats and great vocals! The adrenaline rises on this one and might even make it into club land. I sense even some Metallica sound or should I say Metallica influences? Nice grunting and guitar wrapping!

'Say no more' has a more metal minded sound and some Faith no More influences. Love the mixing on this song, it gets the right drive and love the firing guitar sound! This one will sound very good on stage and create a nice vibe, just as the lyrics!

'U' is a short title, but the song is sharp as a knife! Heavy guitars, nice shouting and a heavy sound! Once again I feel that this one will make a good impression on stage! Metal fans will absolutely love it!

'Will I Ever' just delivers another blow. Love the screaming background noise! Here I feel like a bit more of old school Sepultura approach would make this song a bigger hit, but still: it's a great one and has a fast tempo and cool drive!

'Dont ! Let Go' starts with a drum'n bass sound, throws in some guitars and some grunting. It's weird mix but this time it works! Here I actually feel some cool Sepultura vibe. The mosh pit is open! Just scream, jump, put your arm in the air, headband, crowd surf... Let yourself go!

'Shadow' bombs us with more heavy guitar riffs and nice electro, it all blends in well and give us enough excitement to jump up and down! A pure jewel!

'2many' has some kind of disco sound, really weird before exploding into a more metal sound and going for a metal kill and coming back to the disco king! This is really taking a strange turn and looking for a new crossover sound. Wandering if much people will like this try out? They have nerves, for sure! That must be also the starting point of view from the title: too many sound clones... So the least of all things I can add is that they have balls!

'Wish you were' is a more old school metal song, still mixed with some electronics and some cool screaming (almost like Sepultura)! At some point there is even a bit of a melancholic sound. It's a nice last song!

Worthwhile checking out if you are looking for something new, so why not... I tested it out and I am still alive...

http://www.trafficjam.be/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/02/2014


 

Next reviews
THE DEATH NOTES • Lost And Found
STUPID BITCH REJECT • Stupid Bitch Reject
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Erase me EP
GEORGE R. R. MARTIN • Comic : A Game Of Thrones - Boek 1
• JOHAN FALK - SEASON 2
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
PSY'AVIAH FEAT. KYOKO BAERTSOEN • Our Common Future EP
VOLKOVA • Silent Howl
LITHOS SARCOPHAGOS • Myself
KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI • Illumination

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + GOTHIC ROCK + HEAVY METAL
HELL BOULEVARD • Hangover from Hell
CREMATORY • Antiserum
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room