tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

23/11/2015 : TRAILERS - Sway With The Seasons

TRAILERS

Sway With The Seasons

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Self-released
23/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A while ago, Peek-A-Boo praised their double single, and almost a year later a new EP lands on the editorial desk. And to say it right from the start: the album opens strongly. Vices is a fantastic tune: a beautiful intro, a catchy chorus and everything screams of pure joy. Hell, yeah!

There are four songs on this EP. If you compare the new one with the EP In Front Of Screens that was released early this year, then you only can conclude that their sound is much stronger now. Now the songs sound more powerful and more melodic.

Man On The Radio has a pretty groovy bass line, introvert vocals and a catchy chorus. Yeah, it feels like Kaiser Chiefs are around the corner. Slow Drive has a chorus that quickly finds a place in your head and it also has a very distinctive guitar sound. The Reach floats on a groove, but to me it is the weakest track on this EP. But I guess that it can work on stage!

This EP confirmes what I thought earlier: this band deserves airplay on the radio. A strong EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2015


NL

Een tijdje geleden kwam hun dubbele single op onze pagina’s aan bod, en bijna een jaar later wandelt een nieuwe ep onze redactie binnen. En om met de deur in huis te vallen: de plaat opent meteen sterk. Vices is een knoert van een song: een prachtig intro, een catchy refrein en alles schreeuwt levensvreugde uit. Hell, yeah!

Er staan vier songs op deze ep, en het geluid is in vergelijking met de tevens fijne ep In Front Of Screens die begin dit jaar uitkwam, ferm gegroeid. Nu klinken de songs nog meer gebald en melodieuzer dan op die vorige ep. Man On The Radio heeft een mooie groovy baslijn, een ingetogen zang en een pakkend refrein. Kaiser Chiefs komen eventjes om de hoek piepen. Slow Drive heeft een refrein dat zich vlug in je hoofd nestelt en heeft ook een heel karakteristiek gitaarspel. The Reach drijft op een groove, maar lijkt mij het minst sterke nummer. Live kan het wel wat gensters slaan, vermoed ik. De track bevat opnieuw een fijne gitaarlijn die doorheen de song loopt.

Deze ep heeft mijn eerder vermoeden bevestigd: deze band verdient airplay op de radio. Sterke ep.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque