tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : TRAUMTAENZER - Der Weisse Raum

TRAUMTAENZER

Der Weisse Raum

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectroGothicMetal

[76/100]   

Echozone
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Once you hear Traumtaenzer, the band founded by Tom O'Connell, you immediately understand why Garden Of Delight had no future. Whereas Artaud followed the psychedelic gothrock with Merciful Nuns, Tom created along with Marco B., Sandra S. (ex-Le Cri Du Mort) and Eva P. (ex-Anubiz and Unrein) a band that is picking up lots of elements from recent Teutonic players.

After gigging for two years, the band is ready to launch their debut "Der weisse raum" and immediately it's clear that this band isn't afraid of danceable beats.

"Fremdes land" immediately sets the tone of this record and the best we can think of is Blutengel, simply as just like them Traumtaenzer are able to transform melancholic songs into something like a club hit. Talking about club hits, with a bit of luck "Stigmata" should storm the alternative dance floors and should certainly please fans from the later Unheilig.

"Der weisse raum" has a a very varied record, where there's even place for some excellent darkwave ("Eisprinzessin") or even typical German theatrical wave like we know from Illuminate or Diorama ("Monolith").

This debut won't be a classic but it's certainly an offering from a band who can mean something on the dark firmament of black stars.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Eens je Traumtaenzer gehoord hebt, snap je ook meteen waarom er weinig of geen toekomst meer bleef voor Garden Of Delight.

Terwijl Artaud zich met zijn Merciful Nuns verdiepte in de psychedelische gothrock wou Tom O'Connell iets anders, iets dansbaarders zeg maar. Samen met Marco B., Sandra S. (ex-Le Cri Du Mort) en Eva P. (ex-Anubiz and Unrein) richtte hij een groep op die duidelijk zijn pijlen gericht heeft naar andere Teutonische hoofdrolspelers van de zwarte scene.

Na twee jaar te hebben gespeeld, werd het tijd voor het debuut "Der weisse raum" en meteen bij opener "Fremdes land" horen we dat dit een plaat is die geenszins de dansbeats schuwt. Integendeel, we zouden zelfs durven beweren dat deze Traumtaenzer het dichtst in de buurt komt van Blutengel, simpel omdat zij net als de engelen van bloed melancholische liederen in clubhits weten om te zetten.

Over clubhits gesproken, "Stigmata" is een nummer die het fantastisch zou kunnen doen op de alternatieve dansvloer en is een nummer die zeker fans van Unheilig zal bekoren.

Goede lezers hebben inderdaad reeds verstaan dat "Der weisse raum" een zeer gevarieerde cd geworden is waar zelfs plaats gemaakt wordt voor uitstekende darkwave of zelfs die typische Duitse theatrale wave zoals we die kennen van Illuminate of Diorama ("Monolith").

Een klassieker in het genre is dit zeker niet maar wel een aangename verrassing van een band die een lichtpunt is in het firmanent van de donkere sterren.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


 

Next reviews
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
5 F-X • Flight recorder 5.0
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn
AUSTRA • Feel It Break
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
MOTOR!K • 4
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DER KLINKE • Facing Fate
NFD • Trinity
THE MARS MODEL • Primal Urge
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

16
11
THE WEATHERMEN
PIAS 40
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
PIAS40
28
10
SKINNY PUPPY
PIAS 40
27
10
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Blue Screens 1995 -2009
25
10
BHPL
II
24
10
PARTIKUL
Having Gone

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
53 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 43 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
42 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 42 years ago!
26
11
41 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
32 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
11
THE ESSENCE
I wanted to write a song that was more poppy, with a flamenco riff. The result, 'A Mirage', became a huge hit.
30
10
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
There are worse things in life than being called the Pink Floyd of gothic rock. I can certainly live with that.
26
10
PLACEBO EFFECT
What does art mean? Something that we humans carry within us. An unexplored spot that may never be properly clarified “scientifically”
25
10
SUCH BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS
For me there was never much difference between The Sex Pistols and Fad Gadget or Front 242. They're both punk, just with different instruments.
23
10
ALEXANDER NYM (NSK STATE IN TIME)
If you’re marching towards annihilation, you should at least do it with a happy song.

PHOTOS

29
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
De Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
29
11
UNDERVIEWER
De Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
29
11
FIX8:SED8
De Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
29
11
HONEYMOON COWBOYS
Café Café Hasselt
29
11
JE T'AIME
Fzw Dortmund
27
11
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
19
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Depot Leuven

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
30
11
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
29
11
JOHANN JOHANNSON
By the Roes, and by the Hinds of the Field
28
11
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
27
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Alone
26
11
JOHN FOXX
Underpass
25
11
SOVIET SOVIET
Ecstasy