tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers

TRAVIS ZARIWNY

Scavengers

Movie
Science Fiction

[40/100]   

Image Entertainment
15/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It's not always that easy to write something about some movies. You can of course say it's our job, but still it happens that at the end we have the feeling that we were enjoying ourselves, the only thing that's left is to pen down something decent on paper. Anyway, what is clear is from the start is the fact that it has never been the intention from director Travis Zariwny to create art. All he wants to do is to make with a minimum of costs his own effort to the already immense sciencefiction-area. It's no wonder though that Scavengers was send straight to the DVD-market. There's nothing wrong with that as this is after all the destiny of most B-movies. With that word we probably reveal the weakness of Scavengers as it has never the charm of a film as such. Zariwny just tries to hard to compete with the big brothers from the expensive studio's and if you have a weak script then you're doomed to fail....

In the future mankind has suceed in making space into a garbage dump as well. The whole space is filled with wreckages from spaceships that are destroyed in wars. To clean up the mess, people have invented the so called scavengers. One of these ships is the Revelator that is under command by Wake (Roark Critchlow). The protocol forbids that scavengers are entering the area during a fight, but the stubborn Wake refuses to obey. In the distance another ship is awaiting. It soon gets clear that the scavenger is owned by Jekel (Sean Patrick Flanery), Wake's enemy.

It's a pity that the movie soon develops in an ordinary action movie in where nothing happens. The script and the dialogues are so weak that most of the viewers already will loose their attention after 20 minutes. The actors are doing what they can, but nonetheless they can't avoid the worst. Anyway, the other truth is that Scavengers is perfect food for scifi-fans who swallow everything as this picture isn't worser (no better either) as the usual SyFy-fodder you see on telly.

Scavengers is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
15/01/2014


NL

Het blijft een moeilijke opdracht om sommige films te bespreken. Scavengers is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van. Na anderhalf uur heb je wel het gevoel dat je je enigszins hebt vermaakt, de enige hamvraag die rest is wat je er zinnigs over kan vertellen. Vanaf de eerste seconde is het duidelijk dat het niet de intentie is van Travis Zariwny om filmkunst te maken. De man springt gewoon op de SyFy-kar en tracht met de goedkoopste middelen zijn steentje bij te dragen aan het immense sciencefiction-universum. Het zal wellicht ook geen mens verwonderen dat deze film rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt belandde, zonder ook maar één bioscoopzaal te hebben gezien. Nu goed, erg is dat niet, per slot van rekening is dat het lot van de meeste B-films. Hiermee gooien we eigenlijk het bekende zout in de wonde. Scavengers bezit op geen enkel ogenblik de charme van zo'n B-film (op de hilarische special effects na) en probeert veel te veel mee te spelen met de grote broertjes. Op zich is daar niks mee, alleen lukt zoiets niet als je geen goed script hebt.

De mensheid is er ondertussen in geslaagd om ook van het heelal een vuilnisbelt te maken. Het hele heelal zit boordevol wrakstukken van ruimteschepen die verloren zijn gegaan tijdens één of ander gevecht. Daarom worden er straatvegers (scavengers dus) ingezet. Een van zo'n straatveger is de Revelator die onder leiding staat van Wake (Roark Critchlow). De straatvegers mogen nooit de rommel opruimen tijdens een gevecht, maar daar trekt de koppige Wake zich niks van aan. Er is immers een andere straatveger in de buurt die wordt bestuurd door Jekel (Sean Patrick Flanery), de eeuwenoude vijand van Wake.

De rest van de film is niet meer dan een ordinaire (om niet te zeggen slechte) actiefilm die zich in de ruimte afspeelt. Het verhaal is net als de dialogen zo slap dat je na 20 minuten al gauw de aandacht verliest. De acteurs doen wel inspanningen om er het beste uit te krijgen, maar echt slagen doen ze daar niet in. Scavengers is niet slechter (maar ook niet beter) dan de meeste producties die je op SyFy kan bekijken, doch is het een beter idee om gewoon nog eens je box van Star Trek, The Next Generation uit de rekken te halen. Voer voor scifi-fans die gewoon alles vreten dus!

Scavengers is op DVD en Blu-ray uitgebracht via het Britse Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
15/01/2014


15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers 15/01/2014 : TRAVIS ZARIWNY - Scavengers

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus