tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury

TSZ MING WONG

Badges Of Fury

Movie


[45/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
24/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Have you also thought that Jet Li looks rather old when watching The Expendables? Agreed, that can be said about the whole cast but we have to have a starting point to tell you that Jet Li is not the man he used to be. Today you can see him in pictures from which you can be sure that he would refuse them in his glory days. We’re afraid that Badges Of Fury is such an example.


The weak link in Badges Of Fury is both its script and the boring directing, but let’s kick off with the story. Hong Kong is terrorized by a serial killer who marks his victims with a smile on their face. Nobody knows his motives, the sole link that detectives Wang Bu’er (Wen Zhang) and Huang Feihong (Jet Li) find is that all the victims have shared their bed with beauty Liu Jingshui (Cecilia Liu Shishi). The young rookie that Wang is has the ideal plan to catch the murderer: pretending to be Liu’s newest boyfriend.


A rather thin story. But that’s not such a big problem as no one expects an ingenious script. The performances aren’t even that bad as Li and newcomer Zhang already proved in previous (over here unknown) productions like Ocean Heaven and The Sorcerer and the White Snake that they work as a duo.It’s the directing from Wong Tsz Ming that destroys the efforts as he’s drowning in stupid CG-effects. Nothing in this movie looks real, not even the fighting scenes and at the end of the day it just looks like a failed attempt to try out all the newest techniques.


The result is that Badges Of Fury has no real target audience, and if there’s one then it must be fans from the later Jackie Chan-films that are overruled by slapstick.


Badges Of Fury is now out on Dutch Film Works, on both Blu-ray and DVD. 

Didier BECU
24/03/2014


NL

Had jij ook zo’n gevoel bij het bekijken van The Expendables dat Jet Li een tamelijk verouderde indruk maakte? Juist, je kon dat over de hele cast zeggen, maar we moeten nu eenmaal een aanknopingspunt vinden om je er op te wijzen dat de hoogdagen van deze vechtlegende al lang voorbij zijn. Tegenwoordig vind je hem terug in prenten waar hij vroeger zijn neus zou voor ophalen. Wellicht is Badges Of Fury zo eentje, want zelfs fans die niet veel van deze actiekomedie verwachten weten toch maar beter dat je deze productie niet als een echte Jet Li-film kan beschouwen.


In deze film loopt het zowel met het slappe verhaal als met de zoutloze regie spaak, maar laten we het eerst toch maar over het script hebben. Hong Kong wordt geteisterd door een seriemoordenaar die al zijn slachtoffers met een glimlach op de mond achterlaat. Niemand kent zijn motieven, de enige link die rechercheurs Wang Bu’er (Wen Zhang) en Huang Feihong (Jet Li) vinden is dat alle pineuten het bed met Liu Jingshui (Cecilia Liu Shishi) hebben gedeeld. De jonge waaghals Wang heeft het ideale plan gevonden om de dader bij de lurven te pakken: zich uitgeven voor Liu’s nieuwste vriendje.


Een niemendalletje dus. Maar dat is op zich niet zo’n groot probleem, geen kat immers die een ingenieus script bij zo’n soort prent verwacht. Er is zelfs (ook al is er van enige diepgang totaal geen sprake) niks mis met de vertolkingen, want zowel ervaren rot Li als nieuwkomer Zhang hebben in vorige (hier onbekende) producties Ocean Heaven en The Sorcerer and the White Snake al reeds met elkaar gespeeld. Neen, de grote boosdoener is regisseur Wong Tsz Ming die met zijn debuut in onnozele CG-effecten verzuipt. Niks lijkt echt, zelfs de gevechten niet en het eindresultaat oogt gewoon als een mislukte oefening van een filmmaker die alle nieuwste snufjes wil uitproberen.


Het gevolg is dan ook dat Badges Of Fury geen doelpubliek heeft, en mocht het dat hebben dan zal dat waarschijnlijk de fans van de latere Jackie Chan-films zijn waarin slapstick zegeviert. Wie dus Rush Hour in een hypermodern (maar tevens afschuwelijk) jasje wil zien kan bij deze nieuwe Li terecht.


Badges Of Fury is nu uit op Dutch Film Works, en dit zowel op Blu-ray als dvd.

Didier BECU
24/03/2014


24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury 24/03/2014 : TSZ MING WONG - Badges Of Fury

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire