tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2011 : TUNES OF DAWN - Goodbye cruel world

TUNES OF DAWN

Goodbye cruel world

MusicCD
GothicMetalRock

[62/100]   

Echozone
22/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Some bands never seem to give up and why should they if the strong self belief never fades away?

This quartet from Berlin can already look back on a catalogue that counts three records with their latest offering, this “Goodbye cruel world”, being released on Echozone.

Is it dark rock, metal rock or just gothic rock? With some bands it’s always difficult to tell, but as they decided to cover “Cupola” by Zeromancer, it makes it easy to say they have fine taste.

If you think that a song named “Suicide Challenge” can only be sprung from the brain of the likes of Him, then you’re right. Even more: it definitely sounds like those Finnish gothrockers.

So yes, some will adore this type of stuff while others will seek the direction of the toilet, as this is indeed the type of gothrock in where epic anthems (“With the moon comes the end” almost clocks 8 minutes) and poppy melodies (“Open my grave” could be a hit) go hand in hand.

At the end of this album, devoted fans are treated with two extra acoustic tracks (“Divine” and “If I die today”) which are lifted from their debut.

People who are not afraid of bombastic, (sometimes) too neatly produced dark gothpop will like this, others do better avoid.

Didier BECU
22/06/2011


NL

Sommige groepen zijn het strijden blijkbaar nooit moe. Weinig of geen hanen die kraaien naar hun verdiensten maar toch is het zelfgeloof nog steeds volop aanwezig.

Dit geldt ook voor dit Berlijnse kwartet die op een dikke tien jaar tijd al drie albums hebben uitgebracht en waarvan de kersverse “Goodbye cruel world” op Echozone te vinden is.

Wie deze plaat beluistert zal niet meteen weten hoe dit te gaan categoriseren want je kan er zowel het etiket Dark rock, metal rock of Gothic rock gaan opkleven.

Wat het antwoord ook moge wezen, is het toch zo dat hun cover van Zeromancer’s “Cupola” getuigt van goede smaak.

En zij die denken dat een titel als “Suicide challenge” perfect geschapen is voor een "Him plaat" heeft ook gelijk. Meer zelfs, muzikaal gaat dit ook de richting uit van deze Finse goth rockers.

Met zulke referenties heb je al gauw door dat dit sommige mensen zal doen likkebaarden maar er zullen evenveel mensen zijn die naar het bekende kleine kamertje vluchten want het betreft hier inderdaad gladde gothrock die noch de bombast, het poppy geluid of de overproductie schuwt.

Zo is “With the moon comes the end” een lekker episch nummer van 8 minuten lang terwijl ons inziens iets als “Open my grave” best een hitje kan zijn.

Te nemen of te laten deze Tunes of Dawn, maar oppassen blijft de boodschap.

Didier BECU
22/06/2011


 

Next reviews
HYDRONE • Confusion
THE SPIRITUAL BAT • Cruel machine
ICEHOUSE • Flowers
DOWNSTAIRS LEFT • Nothing but memories
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
RETRIEVER • The Rattle and the Hiss
ARCTIC MONKEYS • Suck it and see
JEWELS OF THE NILE • Pleasure
THE FEELIES • Here before
HAUJOBB • Dead Market EP

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + METAL + ROCK
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
THE MIST OF AVALON • Dinya

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire