tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night

TZE CHUN

Cold comes the night

Movie


[62/100]   

SONY SPHE
08/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Now that the final curtain has fallen over Breaking Bad, the remaining question is that if there’s life for Bryan Cranston after Walter White. The answer to such questions mostly lies in the fact whether those actors choose good movies or not. With Cold Comes The Night (even if he already appeared in Godzilla) it seems like the celebrity better thinks twice before sign a contract as this neo noir thriller was immediately rejected to the feared DVD-market. No worries though as Cold Comes The Night might be predictable , still entertaining though.

Chloe (Alice Eve) has difficulties to survive with her young daughter Sophia (Ursula Parker). She lives and works in a motel. One day she gets the complaint from the social services who are warning the young mother that a place where prostitution and drug delicts take place is not exactly where you raise a kid. Chloe gets two weeks to find another place, but of course she hasn’t the cash for that. At this difficult moment the blind Topo (Bryan Cranston) and his chauffeur arrives at the motel. Some hours later, Topo’s help got stabbed to death by a prostitute. His jeep got confiscated by the local authorities. In the vehicle is a large sum of money hidden, Topo forces Chloe with brutal force to find the money back.

You don’t have to own that much imagination to guess the rest, but Cold Comes The Night is better than most of the movies in this genre. That’s of course mainly because of the magnificent role from Bryan Cranston as a violent East-European gangster. The Breaking Bad-star deserves better than this, but the truth is that his charisma saves this picture. Alice Eve who most Trekkies know as Carol in Star Trek: Into Darkness plays on safe and does what she’s asked for. The weak link however is director Tze Chun who has a lot to learn. It’s not because you’re a copycat of the Coen-brothers that you’re a genius. So in a way Cold Comes The Night left us with some mixed feelings, but good enough if you want to spend your evening in the company of a brutal popcorn thriller.

Cold Comes The Night is now out on DVD on Sony Pictures Home Entertainment.

Didier BECU
08/06/2014


NL

Nu het doek definitief over Breaking Bad is gevallen, blijft het voor Bryan Cranston bang afwachten of er leven is na Walter White. Het antwoord op zo’n vragen vind je meestal in het soort films dat televisieacteurs aannemen terug. Met Cold Comes The Night (ofschoon hij ook in Godzilla te zien is) lijkt zijn keuze weinig doordacht, want deze neo noir-thriller verscheen regelrecht op de dvd-markt. Maar niet getreurd deze gewelddadige nagelbijter is weliswaar routineus en voorspelbaar, wel onderhoudend.
 

Chloe (Alice Eve) kan met haar jonge dochtertje Sophia (Ursula Parker) met moeite de eindjes aan elkaar knopen met het motel dat ze runt en waar ze ook inwoont. Bovendien vindt de kinderbescherming het allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend dat zo’n jong meisje in een plaats waar prostitutie en druggebruik welig tiert opgroeit. Chloe krijgt welgeteld twee weken om een andere woonplaats te zoeken, maar natuurlijk ontbreekt haar hiervoor het nodige geld. Op dat moment arriveert de blinde Topo (Bryan Cranston) en zijn chauffeur in het motel. Het lot is Chloe allesbehalve goed gezind want een paar uur later wordt Topos hulpje door een prostituee neergestoken. Zijn jeep wordt door de politie in beslag genomen waarin tevens een pak met daarin een grote som geld zit. Topo dwingt de arme moeder met bruut geweld om de poen terug te krijgen.


Je moet niet over veel fantasie beschikken om de rest van dit mager verhaaltje te bedenken, tocht overstijgt Cold Comes The Night ondanks zijn slappe regie de middelmaat en dat is natuurlijk grotendeels (om niet te zeggen volledig) te danken aan Bryan Cranston. De Breaking Bad-ster verdient wel beter dan dit, maar hij straalt als hondsbrutale Oost-Europese gangster genoeg charisma uit om je aandacht anderhalf uur gaande te houden. Zijn tegenspeelster Alice Eve die Trekkies zullen kennen als Carol uit Star Trek: Into Darkness speelt gewoon op veilig, maar doet wat ze moet doen. Het is vooral Tze Chun die nog heel wat te leren heeft. In zijn eerste langspeelfilm kopieert hij wel gretig de Coen-kunstjes, maar overstijgt niet het niveau van een doordeweekse televisiethriller. Dus tja, Cold Comes The Night laat je wel met een dubbel gevoel achter, maar is zeker de moeite waard als je gewoon een brutale popcornthriller in huis wil.

Cold Comes The Night is nu uit op dvd via Sony Pictures Home Entertainment.

Didier BECU
08/06/2014


08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night 08/06/2014 : TZE CHUN - Cold comes the night

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design