tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

14/01/2016 : ULTRAVOX - Vienna

ULTRAVOX

Vienna

MusicAlbum Classics
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[88/100]   

Chrysalis
14/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Today it’s hard to imagine, but in the early 80's many Ultravox fans were disappointed when Vienna was released. The raw post-punk that was a trademark of the first three Ultravox records was completely gone. Like Bryan Ferry dealt with the Emo-era Roxy Music, Midge Ure created a complete new Ultravox that has nothing todo with the former sound of the John Foxx periode. Meanwhile, Robin Simon left the band, and on the first album with the new line-up you could hardly hear a guitar. It took a while before the audience appreciated the specific style of Midge Ure, although a lot of synth pop fans already knew him from Visage. One thing was clear though: the new Ultravox sound was unique.

 

 

 

 

It is a great mistake to think that Vienna is the album with that one big hit, because their icy synthpop is a lot more than that. In the instrumental opener Astradyne you hear references to Tangerine Dream, and it is certainly no coincidence that the producer was Krautrock legend Conny Plank. He did it before with DAF, and on the previous Ultravox lp Systems Of Romance too.

 

On New Europeans we hear for the first time the new Ultravox-voice. It took a while, but soon Midge Ure would become one of the many 80s icons. And in some way, that’s weird as Ultravox was more than just charts synth pop. Their texts were for some controversial, and they were miles away from the New Romantics scene that was dominated by pretty boys like Simon LeBon. Midge Ure didn’t wear a neon coloured suit, but a simple white raincoat that made him look more as an ice cold German than a hip Brit. The timeless sounds of Ultravox perfectly fitted the Cold War, even though some morons thought they were fascists.

Vienna dominated the LP, but there is also a track like Mr. X in which traditional synth pop is perfectly linked to the Kraftwerk sound. The song evokes strange, even anxious feelings. Mr. X was recorded in German (Herr X) as a B-side for the German release of the single Vienna.

Western Promise has paranoid electronic sounds, until Vienna starts. Perhaps you heard this song a thousand times, but it’s still brilliant. Vienna was a world hit and the LP was a bestseller. However, this album became a phenomenal milestone because of the unforgettable (innovating) synth pop tracks like Passionate Reply or Private Lives.

Vienna is a timeless classic that belongs in every record collection, and it is without doubt one of the best synth pop records ever.

Didier BECU
14/01/2016


NL

Nu kunnen we het ons nauwelijks voorstellen, maar in het begin van de jaren 80 waren heel wat Ultravox-fans ontgoocheld toen het album Vienna werd uitgebracht. Van de rauwe postpunk die de eerste drie platen van Ultravox (toen nog met het uitroepteken achteraan) kenmerkten was geen sprake meer. Net zoals Bryan Ferry het Eno-tijdperk van Roxy Music liet verdwijnen, zorgde ook Midge Ure ervoor dat het Ultravox-geluid met de vorige frontman (John Foxx) tot de verleden tijd behoorde. Ondertussen had ook Robin Simon de band verlaten, en op de eerste lp met de nieuwe line-up kwam er nauwelijks nog een gitaar aan bod. Het duurde een tijdje vooraleer het publiek de aparte zangstijl van Midge Ure wist te appreciëren, ofschoon heel wat synthpopfans hem van Visage kenden. Een ding was overduidelijk: het nieuwe Ultravox-geluid was uniek.

De grootste fout die je als muziekfan kan maken is denken dat Vienna de lp is met die ene monsterhit, want hun ijskoude synthpop is toch heel wat meer dan dat. In de instrumentale opener Astradyne hoor je meteen verwijzingen naar Tangerine Dream, en het is zeker geen toeval dat Krautrocklegende Conny Plank achter de knoppen zat. Hij deed dat eerder met DAF, alsook op de vorige Ultravox-lp Systems Of Romance.

Op New Europeans maken we voor het eerst kennis met de nieuwe Ultravox-stem die (ook al duurde het een tijdje) de jaren 80 zou bepalen. Ultravox was meer dan zo maar wat synthpop. Door hun (soms controversiële) teksten stonden ze mijlenver af van de New Romantics-beweging die werd gedomineerd door knappe jongens zoals Simon LeBon. Midge Ure droeg geen pakje in neonkleuren, maar gewoon een eenvoudige witte regenjas waardoor hij eerder op een ijskoude Duitser leek dan op een hippe Brit. De tijdloze klanken van Ultravox pasten perfect in de sfeer van de Koude Oorlog, ook al waren er randdebielen die er fascisme in zagen.

Vienna overheerst de plaat, toch is er ook een track als Mr.X waarin traditionele synthpop perfect aan het Kraftwerk-geluid wordt gekoppeld. Het is een nummer waarvan je angstig wordt, een track die je met een onbeschrijfelijk vreemd gevoel opzadelt. Mr.X werd trouwens ook in het Duits opgenomen (Herr X) en diende als B-kantje voor de Duitse release van de single Vienna.

De paranoïde elektronische klanken worden op Western Promise voortgezet, tot het moment waarop Vienna begint. Het is een (bijna klassieke) toon. Wellicht heb je dit nummer al duizend keer gehoord, toch blijft het even briljant. Ondanks het feit dat Vienna een wereldhit werd die ervoor zorgde dat de lp een bestseller werd, blijft dit album in de eerste plaats fenomenaal door de beklemmende synthpopnummers zoals Passionate Reply of Private Lives.

Vienna is een tijdloze klassieker die in iedere platencollectie thuishoort, en het is zonder twijfel één van de beste synthpopplaten ooit. 

Didier BECU
14/01/2016


 

Next reviews
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • VERSAILLES
ETHAN FAWKES • Evil In Veins
AROMA DI AMORE • Zin
ANVIL FX • Prova De Biologia
DIE FORM MUSIQUE CONCRETE • Cinema Obscura
ATMOSPHERES • The Departure
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS

 

Other reviews from ULTRAVOX
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
ULTRAVOX • Brilliant

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation