tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

UMUT DAG

Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Coming Of AgeCrime
Filmfest Gent
18/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We admit it. Before FilmFest Ghent 2014 we could only come up with the name of Michael Haneke if someone has asked our opinion about Austrian cinema, but this has changed now. After the fantastic Macondo,  Risse Im Beton (Cracks In Concrete) gives another vision from the otherwise so majestic Vienna. Forget those clowns who are dressed like Mozart and invite you for Ein Kleine Nachtmusik because filmmaker Umut Dag drags you to the sewers of the Austrian capital city where drugs and prostitution rule.

We follow two individuals. Ertan (Murathan Muslu) is 35 and released from prison. He served time because he committed manslaughter and was in possession of drugs. Now that he’s free he decides to change his life. At the other end we find the young crook Mikail (Alechan Tagaev) who is trapped in a spiral of endless violence. Even if at first sight the two have no connection with each other, the two have a bound.

Risse Im Beton is a very violent film. There’s no respect for a human life and all the characters seem to end their life in jail. Director Umut Dag who made his first steps in moviemaking as the production assistant from Die Fälscher doesn’t use cheap tricks. He never blames anyone or something, the desperate situation is just the logic cause from today’s time spirit. After 100 minutes of pure nihilism you surely won’t feel any better, but you surely have reached a cinematographic orgasm as this contemporary crime drama is a must see!

Didier BECU
18/10/2014


NL

Tot voor kort konden we alleen maar de naam van Michael Haneke prevelen toen iemand onze mening naar de Oostenrijkse cinema vroeg, maar sinds FilmFest 2014 Gent is dat toch een beetje verandert. Na het fantastische Macondo is Risse Im Beton (Kraken In Het Beton) de tweede film die een heel andere blik op het anders zo mondaine Wenen toont. Vergeet de als Mozart geklede clowns die jou een avondje Ein Kleine Nachtmusik willen aansmeren, want regisseur Umut Dag sleurt je in zijn tweede film mee naar de criminele wijken van Wenen die worden overspoeld door prostitutie en druggebruik.

We volgen er twee individuen. Ertan (Murathan Muslu) is een 35-jarige man die vroegtijdig uit de gevangenis is ontslagen. Hij zat vast voor moord en drugbezit en wil een andere weg inslaan. Aan de andere kant zien we het tienerboefje Mikail (Alechan Tagaev) die in een spiraal van uitzichtloos geweld is terechtgekomen. Alhoewel de twee elkaar op het eerste gezicht niet kennen, bestaat er toch een band.

Risse Im Beton is een film die bol staat van geweld. Voor een mensenleven is er nog nauwelijks respect en alle protagonisten verkeren in een situatie die gedoemd is om in een eenzame gevangeniscel te belanden. Regisseur Umut Dag die als productie-assistent van Die Fälscher zijn eerste stappen in de filmwereld zette maakt geen gebruik van goedkope trucs. De enige schuldige van deze verloedering is gewoon de tijdsgeest waarin we leven. Niets of niemand is nog iets waard. Na anderhalf uur nihilisme ben je er als kijker zeker niet beter van geworden, maar een cinefiel orgasme is het wel. Als dit misdaaddrama ooit in je buurt speelt (ook al is er nog niet meteen een Belgische distributeur gevonden) moet je hem beslist zien.

Didier BECU
18/10/2014


18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness