tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Identify Yourself

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Identify Yourself

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsMinimalNew wave
Daft Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Belgium and football is not the golden combination. It is even very difficult to think of something that Belgians are good at if you forget beer and chocolate. If you do, you automatically arrive at music, especially electro.

The connoisseurs of the genre know the project by Jurgen De Winter for a while, because he made two cassettes on Wool-E Tapes: Remedy For Melancholy and Dissociative Identity, of which a cd compilation is released on Daft Records now. After listening to this electronic masterpiece, it is no coincidence that the choice fell on the label by Dirk Ivens. Just as his examples, Jurgen goes back to the 80s, but time does not stand still for him. He does something special with it (gives it a specific face).

When reviewing Dissociative Identity we warned you that the band’s name may mislead some people. You hear some influences of Geography, but ultimately Unidentified Man is not very EBM-like.

Identify Yourself is a delicious combination of accessible experimental music (what Kraftwerk did on Radioactivity) and irresistible electro (we can only think of Absolute Body Control, although Jurgen won’t mourn about that).

You hear a lot on this album, but it is mainly pop that goes through your ears! Devoid would fit perfectly on a record by The Human League and Rhythm Machine is like Visage, and Separate Minds (with the vocals of Els Van Herck) is irresistible minimal synthpop.

However, there are many dark tracks on this disc too. Darker Days sounds like the name, and No Emotion is dark electro that has echoes (here we go again!) of The Klinik. No lack of name dropping here, and saying Unidentified Man has a very distinctive sound itself! Recommended, but be quick, because there are only 200 copies available!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Voetballen kunnen de Belgen nog niet. Het is zelfs bijzonder moeilijk om iets te bedenken waarin ze wel uitblinken als je bier en pralines achterwege laat. Doe je dat, kom je automatisch bij de muziek terecht, en dan vooral electro.

De fijnproevers van het genre kennen het project van Jurgen De Winter al een tijdje, want deze Antwerpenaar bracht op Wool-E Tapes al twee tapes uit: Remedy For Melancholy en Dissociative Identity. Van die twee werd een soort van cd-compilatie op Daft Records uitgebracht. Na beluistering van dit elektronisch meesterwerkje, merken we dat het geen toeval is dat het op het label van Dirk Ivens verscheen.

Jurgen grijpt net als zijn voorbeeld naar de jaren 80 terug; wel is de tijd voor hem niet blijven stilstaan. Hij doet er iets aparts mee (een eigen gezicht geven dus). Toen we destijds Dissociative Identity bespraken, haalden we al aan dat de groepsnaam sommige mensen op het verkeerde been kon zetten. Je hoort wel de invloeden van Geography, uiteindelijk heeft Unidentified Man niet zo veel met EBM te maken.

Identify Yourself is een heerlijke combinatie van toegankelijk experiment (denk aan wat Kraftwerk op Radioactivity deed) en onweerstaanbare elektropop (we kunnen niet anders dan Absolute Body Control aanhalen, hoewel Jurgen daar niet om zal treuren).

Je hoort veel op deze cd, maar het is vooral pop die door je oren gaat! Zo zou Devoid niet misstaan op een plaat van The Human League en is Rhythm Machine bijna pure Visage, of is Separate Minds (met de vocalen van Els Van Herck) onweerstaanbare minimal synthpop.

Er staan echter ook heel wat donkere tracks op dit schijfje. Darker Days heeft zijn naam niet gestolen, en No Emotion is dark electro die wel wat weg heeft van (hier zijn we weer!) The Klinik.

Geen gebrek aan namedropping dus, en zeggen dat Unidentified Man een zeer eigen geluid heeft! Kopen, en vlug, want er zijn er maar 200 exemplaren van geperst!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity

 

Same genre: EBM
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet