tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Identify Yourself

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Identify Yourself

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsMinimalNew wave
Daft Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Belgium and football is not the golden combination. It is even very difficult to think of something that Belgians are good at if you forget beer and chocolate. If you do, you automatically arrive at music, especially electro.

The connoisseurs of the genre know the project by Jurgen De Winter for a while, because he made two cassettes on Wool-E Tapes: Remedy For Melancholy and Dissociative Identity, of which a cd compilation is released on Daft Records now. After listening to this electronic masterpiece, it is no coincidence that the choice fell on the label by Dirk Ivens. Just as his examples, Jurgen goes back to the 80s, but time does not stand still for him. He does something special with it (gives it a specific face).

When reviewing Dissociative Identity we warned you that the band’s name may mislead some people. You hear some influences of Geography, but ultimately Unidentified Man is not very EBM-like.

Identify Yourself is a delicious combination of accessible experimental music (what Kraftwerk did on Radioactivity) and irresistible electro (we can only think of Absolute Body Control, although Jurgen won’t mourn about that).

You hear a lot on this album, but it is mainly pop that goes through your ears! Devoid would fit perfectly on a record by The Human League and Rhythm Machine is like Visage, and Separate Minds (with the vocals of Els Van Herck) is irresistible minimal synthpop.

However, there are many dark tracks on this disc too. Darker Days sounds like the name, and No Emotion is dark electro that has echoes (here we go again!) of The Klinik. No lack of name dropping here, and saying Unidentified Man has a very distinctive sound itself! Recommended, but be quick, because there are only 200 copies available!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Voetballen kunnen de Belgen nog niet. Het is zelfs bijzonder moeilijk om iets te bedenken waarin ze wel uitblinken als je bier en pralines achterwege laat. Doe je dat, kom je automatisch bij de muziek terecht, en dan vooral electro.

De fijnproevers van het genre kennen het project van Jurgen De Winter al een tijdje, want deze Antwerpenaar bracht op Wool-E Tapes al twee tapes uit: Remedy For Melancholy en Dissociative Identity. Van die twee werd een soort van cd-compilatie op Daft Records uitgebracht. Na beluistering van dit elektronisch meesterwerkje, merken we dat het geen toeval is dat het op het label van Dirk Ivens verscheen.

Jurgen grijpt net als zijn voorbeeld naar de jaren 80 terug; wel is de tijd voor hem niet blijven stilstaan. Hij doet er iets aparts mee (een eigen gezicht geven dus). Toen we destijds Dissociative Identity bespraken, haalden we al aan dat de groepsnaam sommige mensen op het verkeerde been kon zetten. Je hoort wel de invloeden van Geography, uiteindelijk heeft Unidentified Man niet zo veel met EBM te maken.

Identify Yourself is een heerlijke combinatie van toegankelijk experiment (denk aan wat Kraftwerk op Radioactivity deed) en onweerstaanbare elektropop (we kunnen niet anders dan Absolute Body Control aanhalen, hoewel Jurgen daar niet om zal treuren).

Je hoort veel op deze cd, maar het is vooral pop die door je oren gaat! Zo zou Devoid niet misstaan op een plaat van The Human League en is Rhythm Machine bijna pure Visage, of is Separate Minds (met de vocalen van Els Van Herck) onweerstaanbare minimal synthpop.

Er staan echter ook heel wat donkere tracks op dit schijfje. Darker Days heeft zijn naam niet gestolen, en No Emotion is dark electro die wel wat weg heeft van (hier zijn we weer!) The Klinik.

Geen gebrek aan namedropping dus, en zeggen dat Unidentified Man een zeer eigen geluid heeft! Kopen, en vlug, want er zijn er maar 200 exemplaren van geperst!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil