tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Identify Yourself

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Identify Yourself

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsMinimalNew wave
Daft Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Belgium and football is not the golden combination. It is even very difficult to think of something that Belgians are good at if you forget beer and chocolate. If you do, you automatically arrive at music, especially electro.

The connoisseurs of the genre know the project by Jurgen De Winter for a while, because he made two cassettes on Wool-E Tapes: Remedy For Melancholy and Dissociative Identity, of which a cd compilation is released on Daft Records now. After listening to this electronic masterpiece, it is no coincidence that the choice fell on the label by Dirk Ivens. Just as his examples, Jurgen goes back to the 80s, but time does not stand still for him. He does something special with it (gives it a specific face).

When reviewing Dissociative Identity we warned you that the band’s name may mislead some people. You hear some influences of Geography, but ultimately Unidentified Man is not very EBM-like.

Identify Yourself is a delicious combination of accessible experimental music (what Kraftwerk did on Radioactivity) and irresistible electro (we can only think of Absolute Body Control, although Jurgen won’t mourn about that).

You hear a lot on this album, but it is mainly pop that goes through your ears! Devoid would fit perfectly on a record by The Human League and Rhythm Machine is like Visage, and Separate Minds (with the vocals of Els Van Herck) is irresistible minimal synthpop.

However, there are many dark tracks on this disc too. Darker Days sounds like the name, and No Emotion is dark electro that has echoes (here we go again!) of The Klinik. No lack of name dropping here, and saying Unidentified Man has a very distinctive sound itself! Recommended, but be quick, because there are only 200 copies available!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Voetballen kunnen de Belgen nog niet. Het is zelfs bijzonder moeilijk om iets te bedenken waarin ze wel uitblinken als je bier en pralines achterwege laat. Doe je dat, kom je automatisch bij de muziek terecht, en dan vooral electro.

De fijnproevers van het genre kennen het project van Jurgen De Winter al een tijdje, want deze Antwerpenaar bracht op Wool-E Tapes al twee tapes uit: Remedy For Melancholy en Dissociative Identity. Van die twee werd een soort van cd-compilatie op Daft Records uitgebracht. Na beluistering van dit elektronisch meesterwerkje, merken we dat het geen toeval is dat het op het label van Dirk Ivens verscheen.

Jurgen grijpt net als zijn voorbeeld naar de jaren 80 terug; wel is de tijd voor hem niet blijven stilstaan. Hij doet er iets aparts mee (een eigen gezicht geven dus). Toen we destijds Dissociative Identity bespraken, haalden we al aan dat de groepsnaam sommige mensen op het verkeerde been kon zetten. Je hoort wel de invloeden van Geography, uiteindelijk heeft Unidentified Man niet zo veel met EBM te maken.

Identify Yourself is een heerlijke combinatie van toegankelijk experiment (denk aan wat Kraftwerk op Radioactivity deed) en onweerstaanbare elektropop (we kunnen niet anders dan Absolute Body Control aanhalen, hoewel Jurgen daar niet om zal treuren).

Je hoort veel op deze cd, maar het is vooral pop die door je oren gaat! Zo zou Devoid niet misstaan op een plaat van The Human League en is Rhythm Machine bijna pure Visage, of is Separate Minds (met de vocalen van Els Van Herck) onweerstaanbare minimal synthpop.

Er staan echter ook heel wat donkere tracks op dit schijfje. Darker Days heeft zijn naam niet gestolen, en No Emotion is dark electro die wel wat weg heeft van (hier zijn we weer!) The Klinik.

Geen gebrek aan namedropping dus, en zeggen dat Unidentified Man een zeer eigen geluid heeft! Kopen, en vlug, want er zijn er maar 200 exemplaren van geperst!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity

 

Same genre: EBM
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
BHPL • II
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
ULTRA SUNN • Kill Your Idols

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 37 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
EVA X Drops Her 'Dopamine Blind' Video; A Nighttime Escape Story

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.

PHOTOS

20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison
20
05
VENUS FLY TRAP
Rocket USA
19
05
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Should I Look Above
18
05
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
17
05
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
16
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
15
05
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)