tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Identify Yourself

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Identify Yourself

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsMinimalNew wave
Daft Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Belgium and football is not the golden combination. It is even very difficult to think of something that Belgians are good at if you forget beer and chocolate. If you do, you automatically arrive at music, especially electro.

The connoisseurs of the genre know the project by Jurgen De Winter for a while, because he made two cassettes on Wool-E Tapes: Remedy For Melancholy and Dissociative Identity, of which a cd compilation is released on Daft Records now. After listening to this electronic masterpiece, it is no coincidence that the choice fell on the label by Dirk Ivens. Just as his examples, Jurgen goes back to the 80s, but time does not stand still for him. He does something special with it (gives it a specific face).

When reviewing Dissociative Identity we warned you that the band’s name may mislead some people. You hear some influences of Geography, but ultimately Unidentified Man is not very EBM-like.

Identify Yourself is a delicious combination of accessible experimental music (what Kraftwerk did on Radioactivity) and irresistible electro (we can only think of Absolute Body Control, although Jurgen won’t mourn about that).

You hear a lot on this album, but it is mainly pop that goes through your ears! Devoid would fit perfectly on a record by The Human League and Rhythm Machine is like Visage, and Separate Minds (with the vocals of Els Van Herck) is irresistible minimal synthpop.

However, there are many dark tracks on this disc too. Darker Days sounds like the name, and No Emotion is dark electro that has echoes (here we go again!) of The Klinik. No lack of name dropping here, and saying Unidentified Man has a very distinctive sound itself! Recommended, but be quick, because there are only 200 copies available!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Voetballen kunnen de Belgen nog niet. Het is zelfs bijzonder moeilijk om iets te bedenken waarin ze wel uitblinken als je bier en pralines achterwege laat. Doe je dat, kom je automatisch bij de muziek terecht, en dan vooral electro.

De fijnproevers van het genre kennen het project van Jurgen De Winter al een tijdje, want deze Antwerpenaar bracht op Wool-E Tapes al twee tapes uit: Remedy For Melancholy en Dissociative Identity. Van die twee werd een soort van cd-compilatie op Daft Records uitgebracht. Na beluistering van dit elektronisch meesterwerkje, merken we dat het geen toeval is dat het op het label van Dirk Ivens verscheen.

Jurgen grijpt net als zijn voorbeeld naar de jaren 80 terug; wel is de tijd voor hem niet blijven stilstaan. Hij doet er iets aparts mee (een eigen gezicht geven dus). Toen we destijds Dissociative Identity bespraken, haalden we al aan dat de groepsnaam sommige mensen op het verkeerde been kon zetten. Je hoort wel de invloeden van Geography, uiteindelijk heeft Unidentified Man niet zo veel met EBM te maken.

Identify Yourself is een heerlijke combinatie van toegankelijk experiment (denk aan wat Kraftwerk op Radioactivity deed) en onweerstaanbare elektropop (we kunnen niet anders dan Absolute Body Control aanhalen, hoewel Jurgen daar niet om zal treuren).

Je hoort veel op deze cd, maar het is vooral pop die door je oren gaat! Zo zou Devoid niet misstaan op een plaat van The Human League en is Rhythm Machine bijna pure Visage, of is Separate Minds (met de vocalen van Els Van Herck) onweerstaanbare minimal synthpop.

Er staan echter ook heel wat donkere tracks op dit schijfje. Darker Days heeft zijn naam niet gestolen, en No Emotion is dark electro die wel wat weg heeft van (hier zijn we weer!) The Klinik.

Geen gebrek aan namedropping dus, en zeggen dat Unidentified Man een zeer eigen geluid heeft! Kopen, en vlug, want er zijn er maar 200 exemplaren van geperst!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi