tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Identify Yourself

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Identify Yourself

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsMinimalNew wave
Daft Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Belgium and football is not the golden combination. It is even very difficult to think of something that Belgians are good at if you forget beer and chocolate. If you do, you automatically arrive at music, especially electro.

The connoisseurs of the genre know the project by Jurgen De Winter for a while, because he made two cassettes on Wool-E Tapes: Remedy For Melancholy and Dissociative Identity, of which a cd compilation is released on Daft Records now. After listening to this electronic masterpiece, it is no coincidence that the choice fell on the label by Dirk Ivens. Just as his examples, Jurgen goes back to the 80s, but time does not stand still for him. He does something special with it (gives it a specific face).

When reviewing Dissociative Identity we warned you that the band’s name may mislead some people. You hear some influences of Geography, but ultimately Unidentified Man is not very EBM-like.

Identify Yourself is a delicious combination of accessible experimental music (what Kraftwerk did on Radioactivity) and irresistible electro (we can only think of Absolute Body Control, although Jurgen won’t mourn about that).

You hear a lot on this album, but it is mainly pop that goes through your ears! Devoid would fit perfectly on a record by The Human League and Rhythm Machine is like Visage, and Separate Minds (with the vocals of Els Van Herck) is irresistible minimal synthpop.

However, there are many dark tracks on this disc too. Darker Days sounds like the name, and No Emotion is dark electro that has echoes (here we go again!) of The Klinik. No lack of name dropping here, and saying Unidentified Man has a very distinctive sound itself! Recommended, but be quick, because there are only 200 copies available!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Voetballen kunnen de Belgen nog niet. Het is zelfs bijzonder moeilijk om iets te bedenken waarin ze wel uitblinken als je bier en pralines achterwege laat. Doe je dat, kom je automatisch bij de muziek terecht, en dan vooral electro.

De fijnproevers van het genre kennen het project van Jurgen De Winter al een tijdje, want deze Antwerpenaar bracht op Wool-E Tapes al twee tapes uit: Remedy For Melancholy en Dissociative Identity. Van die twee werd een soort van cd-compilatie op Daft Records uitgebracht. Na beluistering van dit elektronisch meesterwerkje, merken we dat het geen toeval is dat het op het label van Dirk Ivens verscheen.

Jurgen grijpt net als zijn voorbeeld naar de jaren 80 terug; wel is de tijd voor hem niet blijven stilstaan. Hij doet er iets aparts mee (een eigen gezicht geven dus). Toen we destijds Dissociative Identity bespraken, haalden we al aan dat de groepsnaam sommige mensen op het verkeerde been kon zetten. Je hoort wel de invloeden van Geography, uiteindelijk heeft Unidentified Man niet zo veel met EBM te maken.

Identify Yourself is een heerlijke combinatie van toegankelijk experiment (denk aan wat Kraftwerk op Radioactivity deed) en onweerstaanbare elektropop (we kunnen niet anders dan Absolute Body Control aanhalen, hoewel Jurgen daar niet om zal treuren).

Je hoort veel op deze cd, maar het is vooral pop die door je oren gaat! Zo zou Devoid niet misstaan op een plaat van The Human League en is Rhythm Machine bijna pure Visage, of is Separate Minds (met de vocalen van Els Van Herck) onweerstaanbare minimal synthpop.

Er staan echter ook heel wat donkere tracks op dit schijfje. Darker Days heeft zijn naam niet gestolen, en No Emotion is dark electro die wel wat weg heeft van (hier zijn we weer!) The Klinik.

Geen gebrek aan namedropping dus, en zeggen dat Unidentified Man een zeer eigen geluid heeft! Kopen, en vlug, want er zijn er maar 200 exemplaren van geperst!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
INDOCHINE
Tes Yeux Noirs
21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O