tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : URN - Epiphany

URN

Epiphany

MusicCD
FolkProg RockRock

[75/100]   
17/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

Urn can be described as a perfect mixture of Celtic/folk and progressive rock/metal. The album starts with the superb and energetic Autumnal Sunrise. That level is continued on the ballad (with a harder end) Cast In Amber and Black Widow that becomes in the second part a death metal anthem.

And it’s here that we discover the weak point of Urn, as it feels like the vocals are overruling, a fact that surely becomes clear on Thyself Be True. Sometimes the song is too thin, technically. But no worries, you don’t hear that on When The Rain Has Fallen or the versatile My Chosen Path, in which progressive and solid rock meets death metal.

Fortunately, the band knows itsr limits too, and Epiphany has a lot of danceable and faster songs like Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick's and Silently I'm Still Screaming (in which the progressive start is taken over by the Celtic rock influences). At the end of the day Epiphany is a fine (progressive) rock/folk album.

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


NL

Urn maakt een geslaagde mix tussen celtic/folk en progressieve rock/metal. De plaat start lekker voortvarend met het springerige, feestelijke Autumnal Sunrise. Dat niveau wordt voortgezet in de ballad (met een harder einde) Cast In Amber en de statige start van Black Widow, dat in deel twee omslaat in een deathmetalanthem. Wel komt dan langzaam naar voren waar het soms nog net een beetje aan schort bij Urn. De zang wil soms net iets te veel. Dat hoorde je al op Cast In Amber, maar het wordt nog duidelijker in Thyself Be True. Soms klinkt het zangtechnisch op die twee nummers net te dun en ontbreekt de kracht om de goede noot te vinden.

In opzwepende nummers zoals When The Rain Has Fallen of het veelzijdige My Chosen Path, waarin progressieve statige rock en death metal elkaar ontmoeten, is daar echter geen sprake van.

Gelukkig weet de band dat ook, waardoor Epiphany vooral gevuld is met dansbare en snellere nummers, zoals Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick’s en Silently I’m Still Screaming (waarin het progressieve begin wordt overgenomen door de celticrockinvloeden). Epiphany is op dat hele kleine smetje na gewoon een prima (progressieve) rock-/folkplaat.


http://www.urncentral.com/

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis