tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : URN - Epiphany

URN

Epiphany

MusicCD
FolkProg RockRock

[75/100]   
17/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

Urn can be described as a perfect mixture of Celtic/folk and progressive rock/metal. The album starts with the superb and energetic Autumnal Sunrise. That level is continued on the ballad (with a harder end) Cast In Amber and Black Widow that becomes in the second part a death metal anthem.

And it’s here that we discover the weak point of Urn, as it feels like the vocals are overruling, a fact that surely becomes clear on Thyself Be True. Sometimes the song is too thin, technically. But no worries, you don’t hear that on When The Rain Has Fallen or the versatile My Chosen Path, in which progressive and solid rock meets death metal.

Fortunately, the band knows itsr limits too, and Epiphany has a lot of danceable and faster songs like Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick's and Silently I'm Still Screaming (in which the progressive start is taken over by the Celtic rock influences). At the end of the day Epiphany is a fine (progressive) rock/folk album.

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


NL

Urn maakt een geslaagde mix tussen celtic/folk en progressieve rock/metal. De plaat start lekker voortvarend met het springerige, feestelijke Autumnal Sunrise. Dat niveau wordt voortgezet in de ballad (met een harder einde) Cast In Amber en de statige start van Black Widow, dat in deel twee omslaat in een deathmetalanthem. Wel komt dan langzaam naar voren waar het soms nog net een beetje aan schort bij Urn. De zang wil soms net iets te veel. Dat hoorde je al op Cast In Amber, maar het wordt nog duidelijker in Thyself Be True. Soms klinkt het zangtechnisch op die twee nummers net te dun en ontbreekt de kracht om de goede noot te vinden.

In opzwepende nummers zoals When The Rain Has Fallen of het veelzijdige My Chosen Path, waarin progressieve statige rock en death metal elkaar ontmoeten, is daar echter geen sprake van.

Gelukkig weet de band dat ook, waardoor Epiphany vooral gevuld is met dansbare en snellere nummers, zoals Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick’s en Silently I’m Still Screaming (waarin het progressieve begin wordt overgenomen door de celticrockinvloeden). Epiphany is op dat hele kleine smetje na gewoon een prima (progressieve) rock-/folkplaat.


http://www.urncentral.com/

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete