tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : URN - Epiphany

URN

Epiphany

MusicCD
FolkProg RockRock

[75/100]   
17/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

Urn can be described as a perfect mixture of Celtic/folk and progressive rock/metal. The album starts with the superb and energetic Autumnal Sunrise. That level is continued on the ballad (with a harder end) Cast In Amber and Black Widow that becomes in the second part a death metal anthem.

And it’s here that we discover the weak point of Urn, as it feels like the vocals are overruling, a fact that surely becomes clear on Thyself Be True. Sometimes the song is too thin, technically. But no worries, you don’t hear that on When The Rain Has Fallen or the versatile My Chosen Path, in which progressive and solid rock meets death metal.

Fortunately, the band knows itsr limits too, and Epiphany has a lot of danceable and faster songs like Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick's and Silently I'm Still Screaming (in which the progressive start is taken over by the Celtic rock influences). At the end of the day Epiphany is a fine (progressive) rock/folk album.

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


NL

Urn maakt een geslaagde mix tussen celtic/folk en progressieve rock/metal. De plaat start lekker voortvarend met het springerige, feestelijke Autumnal Sunrise. Dat niveau wordt voortgezet in de ballad (met een harder einde) Cast In Amber en de statige start van Black Widow, dat in deel twee omslaat in een deathmetalanthem. Wel komt dan langzaam naar voren waar het soms nog net een beetje aan schort bij Urn. De zang wil soms net iets te veel. Dat hoorde je al op Cast In Amber, maar het wordt nog duidelijker in Thyself Be True. Soms klinkt het zangtechnisch op die twee nummers net te dun en ontbreekt de kracht om de goede noot te vinden.

In opzwepende nummers zoals When The Rain Has Fallen of het veelzijdige My Chosen Path, waarin progressieve statige rock en death metal elkaar ontmoeten, is daar echter geen sprake van.

Gelukkig weet de band dat ook, waardoor Epiphany vooral gevuld is met dansbare en snellere nummers, zoals Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick’s en Silently I’m Still Screaming (waarin het progressieve begin wordt overgenomen door de celticrockinvloeden). Epiphany is op dat hele kleine smetje na gewoon een prima (progressieve) rock-/folkplaat.


http://www.urncentral.com/

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis