tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : URN - Epiphany

URN

Epiphany

MusicCD
FolkProg RockRock

[75/100]   
17/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

Urn can be described as a perfect mixture of Celtic/folk and progressive rock/metal. The album starts with the superb and energetic Autumnal Sunrise. That level is continued on the ballad (with a harder end) Cast In Amber and Black Widow that becomes in the second part a death metal anthem.

And it’s here that we discover the weak point of Urn, as it feels like the vocals are overruling, a fact that surely becomes clear on Thyself Be True. Sometimes the song is too thin, technically. But no worries, you don’t hear that on When The Rain Has Fallen or the versatile My Chosen Path, in which progressive and solid rock meets death metal.

Fortunately, the band knows itsr limits too, and Epiphany has a lot of danceable and faster songs like Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick's and Silently I'm Still Screaming (in which the progressive start is taken over by the Celtic rock influences). At the end of the day Epiphany is a fine (progressive) rock/folk album.

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


NL

Urn maakt een geslaagde mix tussen celtic/folk en progressieve rock/metal. De plaat start lekker voortvarend met het springerige, feestelijke Autumnal Sunrise. Dat niveau wordt voortgezet in de ballad (met een harder einde) Cast In Amber en de statige start van Black Widow, dat in deel twee omslaat in een deathmetalanthem. Wel komt dan langzaam naar voren waar het soms nog net een beetje aan schort bij Urn. De zang wil soms net iets te veel. Dat hoorde je al op Cast In Amber, maar het wordt nog duidelijker in Thyself Be True. Soms klinkt het zangtechnisch op die twee nummers net te dun en ontbreekt de kracht om de goede noot te vinden.

In opzwepende nummers zoals When The Rain Has Fallen of het veelzijdige My Chosen Path, waarin progressieve statige rock en death metal elkaar ontmoeten, is daar echter geen sprake van.

Gelukkig weet de band dat ook, waardoor Epiphany vooral gevuld is met dansbare en snellere nummers, zoals Brisk Snowfall, The Road To St Patrick’s en Silently I’m Still Screaming (waarin het progressieve begin wordt overgenomen door de celticrockinvloeden). Epiphany is op dat hele kleine smetje na gewoon een prima (progressieve) rock-/folkplaat.


http://www.urncentral.com/

Ron SCHOONWATER
17/11/2015


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith