tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : USUREI YATSURA - You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

USUREI YATSURA

You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Rocket Girl
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Named after a cultish Japanese manga strip that revolved around a plot involving an alien character Lum Invader mistaking the cute Ataru Moroboshi for his wife and other crazy adventures, relentless Scots lo-fi garage-rock shoegazers Urusei Yatsura managed to attain a certain level of cult-status themselves.

A little bit Stooges, MC5, Teenage Fanclub (early), Ash, Dinosaur Jr. and Royal Trux (plus a whole bevy of other grunge and indie types to be fair), UY's eight year existence produced three studio albums, numerous desirable singles on the Ché imprint and a welter of radio sessions for the BBC and local stations. It's this material that You Are My Usurei Yatsura mops up on a limited edition pink neon vinyl pressing (with CD and download) and serves as a sort of rough 'greatest hits'.

Ear-bleeding recitals of singles such as Kewpies Like Watermelons, Slain By Elf and Plastic Ashtray are just a few of the highlights on this must-have document and despite not hitting the same commercial heights as some of their peers, UY garnered love and attention from the like of John Peel, Marc Radcliffe and a young Steve Lamacq. As well as finally capturing the imagination of the record-buying public with the Top 40 banger Hello Tiger and its attendant hit album Slain By, the band recorded FIVE Peel sessions from where much of these tracks have been culled.

Impulsive, compulsive, somewhat chaotic and yet stoned out and cathartic on the odd occasion, Urusei Yatsura put the 'go' in Glasgow during the mid to late '90s and left a trail of sweet aural destruction in their wake. It's been 15 years since the band originally folded - this sounds like it was made 15 minutes ago in just 15 minutes. And that's a compliment.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover