tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : UV POP - No Songs Tomorrow

UV POP

No Songs Tomorrow

MusicCD
IndustrialPost Punk

[95/100]   

Mannequin
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties were not just about neon lights and German pretty girls singing about balloons. There was also a crisis, and not the least in England. Most Britons still shiver when they hear the name Margaret Thatcher. John Kevin White from Sheffield was not exactly a fan of the iron lady either, and in 1983 his band Pop UV (Ultra Violent Pop) released the album No Songs Tomorrow, which reflects that feeling. Back then the record was released on Flowmotion (originally a tape label that had titles by The Legendary Pink Dots, Nocturnal Emissions and Throbbing Gristle). Although the album barely sold, it became a classic and a collector's item. But today Mannequin (in collaboration with Sacred Bones Records) re-released this gem on CD.

You can split the record into two parts. The first six songs are post-punk in troubadour style. Rarely you have heard such melancholic music, because it seems like White recorded the album with a rope around his neck. If you do not believe us, just listen to Psalm: Do not need no god. I need human beings. I need some kind of love. I need you. And then it's over, as if live has stopped. The songs sound a bit like The Durutti Column, but with a staccato guitar. Depressive, moody and withdrawn from all hope. No, this is music at its darkest and damn sublime too!

The second side (or from Sleep Don’t Talk on the CD) sounds completely different, even though you should not expect a polonaise. Sheffield is probably the reason, but the rest of the songs is industrial, although quite accessible. They can be compared to the early days of Cabaret Voltaire. Indeed, it almost feels like you’re listening to two different records, but the dark atmosphere makes it all fit beautifully together. The reissue also contains three unreleased songs (Superstition, Amsterdam and the original version of Hafunkiddies). We have only one word to conclude: buy!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De eighties bestonden niet alleen uit neonlichtreclames en Duitse mooie meisjes die over luchtballons zongen. Er was ook een crisis en niet het minst in Engeland. De meeste Britten bibberen nog als ze de naam Margaret Thatcher horen vallen. Ook John Kevin White uit Sheffield was niet bepaald een fan van the iron lady, en met zijn band UV Pop (Ultra Violent Pop) bracht hij in 1983 de lp No Songs Tomorrow uit. De plaat verscheen op Flowmotion (oorspronkelijk een tapelabel waarop ook releases van The Legendary Pink Dots, Nocturnal Emissions en Throbbing Gristle zijn uitgebracht). Ofschoon de plaat destijds nauwelijks verkocht, is zej ondertussen uitgegroeid tot een geherwaardeerde klassieker en collector waar je de nodige poen voor op tafel moet leggen. Maar er is ook een heruitgave op cd, en daar heeft Mannequin (in samenwerking met Sacred Bones Records) voor gezorgd.

Je kan de plaat mooi in twee delen opsplitsen. De eerste zes nummers zijn postpunk in troubadourstijl. Zelden heb je zo’n zwartgallige muziek als deze gehoord, het lijkt wel alsof White de plaat heeft opgenomen met een strop rond zijn nek. Als je ons niet gelooft, luister gewoon naar Psalm: Don’t need no god. I need human beings. I need some kind of love. I need you. En dan is het voorbij, net alsof ook het leven is gestopt. De songs klinken een beetje als die van The Durutti Column, maar dan wel met een staccatogitaar. Depressief, zwaarmoedig en verstoken van alle levenslust. Neen, dit is muziek op zijn donkerst en verdomme subliem ook!

De tweede kant (of vanaf Sleep Don’t Talk op de cd) klinkt volslagen anders, ook al moet je geen polonaise verwachten. Wellicht zal Sheffield er voor iets tussen zitten, maar de rest van de songs is industrial, weliswaar toegankelijk en lichtjes te vergelijken met de begindagen van Cabaret Voltaire. Het is inderdaad net alsof je naar twee verschillende platen luistert, maar door de donkere sfeer past alles toch mooi bij elkaar. Op de heruitgave vind je ook drie onuitgebrachte tracks (Superstition, Amsterdam en de originele versie van Hafunkiddies). We hebben maar één woord om af te ronden: kopen!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still