tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : UV POP - No Songs Tomorrow

UV POP

No Songs Tomorrow

MusicCD
IndustrialPost Punk

[95/100]   

Mannequin
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties were not just about neon lights and German pretty girls singing about balloons. There was also a crisis, and not the least in England. Most Britons still shiver when they hear the name Margaret Thatcher. John Kevin White from Sheffield was not exactly a fan of the iron lady either, and in 1983 his band Pop UV (Ultra Violent Pop) released the album No Songs Tomorrow, which reflects that feeling. Back then the record was released on Flowmotion (originally a tape label that had titles by The Legendary Pink Dots, Nocturnal Emissions and Throbbing Gristle). Although the album barely sold, it became a classic and a collector's item. But today Mannequin (in collaboration with Sacred Bones Records) re-released this gem on CD.

You can split the record into two parts. The first six songs are post-punk in troubadour style. Rarely you have heard such melancholic music, because it seems like White recorded the album with a rope around his neck. If you do not believe us, just listen to Psalm: Do not need no god. I need human beings. I need some kind of love. I need you. And then it's over, as if live has stopped. The songs sound a bit like The Durutti Column, but with a staccato guitar. Depressive, moody and withdrawn from all hope. No, this is music at its darkest and damn sublime too!

The second side (or from Sleep Don’t Talk on the CD) sounds completely different, even though you should not expect a polonaise. Sheffield is probably the reason, but the rest of the songs is industrial, although quite accessible. They can be compared to the early days of Cabaret Voltaire. Indeed, it almost feels like you’re listening to two different records, but the dark atmosphere makes it all fit beautifully together. The reissue also contains three unreleased songs (Superstition, Amsterdam and the original version of Hafunkiddies). We have only one word to conclude: buy!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De eighties bestonden niet alleen uit neonlichtreclames en Duitse mooie meisjes die over luchtballons zongen. Er was ook een crisis en niet het minst in Engeland. De meeste Britten bibberen nog als ze de naam Margaret Thatcher horen vallen. Ook John Kevin White uit Sheffield was niet bepaald een fan van the iron lady, en met zijn band UV Pop (Ultra Violent Pop) bracht hij in 1983 de lp No Songs Tomorrow uit. De plaat verscheen op Flowmotion (oorspronkelijk een tapelabel waarop ook releases van The Legendary Pink Dots, Nocturnal Emissions en Throbbing Gristle zijn uitgebracht). Ofschoon de plaat destijds nauwelijks verkocht, is zej ondertussen uitgegroeid tot een geherwaardeerde klassieker en collector waar je de nodige poen voor op tafel moet leggen. Maar er is ook een heruitgave op cd, en daar heeft Mannequin (in samenwerking met Sacred Bones Records) voor gezorgd.

Je kan de plaat mooi in twee delen opsplitsen. De eerste zes nummers zijn postpunk in troubadourstijl. Zelden heb je zo’n zwartgallige muziek als deze gehoord, het lijkt wel alsof White de plaat heeft opgenomen met een strop rond zijn nek. Als je ons niet gelooft, luister gewoon naar Psalm: Don’t need no god. I need human beings. I need some kind of love. I need you. En dan is het voorbij, net alsof ook het leven is gestopt. De songs klinken een beetje als die van The Durutti Column, maar dan wel met een staccatogitaar. Depressief, zwaarmoedig en verstoken van alle levenslust. Neen, dit is muziek op zijn donkerst en verdomme subliem ook!

De tweede kant (of vanaf Sleep Don’t Talk op de cd) klinkt volslagen anders, ook al moet je geen polonaise verwachten. Wellicht zal Sheffield er voor iets tussen zitten, maar de rest van de songs is industrial, weliswaar toegankelijk en lichtjes te vergelijken met de begindagen van Cabaret Voltaire. Het is inderdaad net alsof je naar twee verschillende platen luistert, maar door de donkere sfeer past alles toch mooi bij elkaar. Op de heruitgave vind je ook drie onuitgebrachte tracks (Superstition, Amsterdam en de originele versie van Hafunkiddies). We hebben maar één woord om af te ronden: kopen!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DAYLIGHT • One More Fight
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
ANDY OPPENHEIMER • Andy Oppenheimer on Bowie
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + POST PUNK
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
DAGEIST • 40
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
THE SOFT MOON • Deeper
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Deadfall Artist/Band Management: The Dark Secret Compilation Volume 3
HOT GUTS • Wilds
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
FACTICE FACTORY
Extinguisher
15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch