tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : UV POP - No Songs Tomorrow

UV POP

No Songs Tomorrow

MusicCD
IndustrialPost Punk

[95/100]   

Mannequin
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties were not just about neon lights and German pretty girls singing about balloons. There was also a crisis, and not the least in England. Most Britons still shiver when they hear the name Margaret Thatcher. John Kevin White from Sheffield was not exactly a fan of the iron lady either, and in 1983 his band Pop UV (Ultra Violent Pop) released the album No Songs Tomorrow, which reflects that feeling. Back then the record was released on Flowmotion (originally a tape label that had titles by The Legendary Pink Dots, Nocturnal Emissions and Throbbing Gristle). Although the album barely sold, it became a classic and a collector's item. But today Mannequin (in collaboration with Sacred Bones Records) re-released this gem on CD.

You can split the record into two parts. The first six songs are post-punk in troubadour style. Rarely you have heard such melancholic music, because it seems like White recorded the album with a rope around his neck. If you do not believe us, just listen to Psalm: Do not need no god. I need human beings. I need some kind of love. I need you. And then it's over, as if live has stopped. The songs sound a bit like The Durutti Column, but with a staccato guitar. Depressive, moody and withdrawn from all hope. No, this is music at its darkest and damn sublime too!

The second side (or from Sleep Don’t Talk on the CD) sounds completely different, even though you should not expect a polonaise. Sheffield is probably the reason, but the rest of the songs is industrial, although quite accessible. They can be compared to the early days of Cabaret Voltaire. Indeed, it almost feels like you’re listening to two different records, but the dark atmosphere makes it all fit beautifully together. The reissue also contains three unreleased songs (Superstition, Amsterdam and the original version of Hafunkiddies). We have only one word to conclude: buy!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De eighties bestonden niet alleen uit neonlichtreclames en Duitse mooie meisjes die over luchtballons zongen. Er was ook een crisis en niet het minst in Engeland. De meeste Britten bibberen nog als ze de naam Margaret Thatcher horen vallen. Ook John Kevin White uit Sheffield was niet bepaald een fan van the iron lady, en met zijn band UV Pop (Ultra Violent Pop) bracht hij in 1983 de lp No Songs Tomorrow uit. De plaat verscheen op Flowmotion (oorspronkelijk een tapelabel waarop ook releases van The Legendary Pink Dots, Nocturnal Emissions en Throbbing Gristle zijn uitgebracht). Ofschoon de plaat destijds nauwelijks verkocht, is zej ondertussen uitgegroeid tot een geherwaardeerde klassieker en collector waar je de nodige poen voor op tafel moet leggen. Maar er is ook een heruitgave op cd, en daar heeft Mannequin (in samenwerking met Sacred Bones Records) voor gezorgd.

Je kan de plaat mooi in twee delen opsplitsen. De eerste zes nummers zijn postpunk in troubadourstijl. Zelden heb je zo’n zwartgallige muziek als deze gehoord, het lijkt wel alsof White de plaat heeft opgenomen met een strop rond zijn nek. Als je ons niet gelooft, luister gewoon naar Psalm: Don’t need no god. I need human beings. I need some kind of love. I need you. En dan is het voorbij, net alsof ook het leven is gestopt. De songs klinken een beetje als die van The Durutti Column, maar dan wel met een staccatogitaar. Depressief, zwaarmoedig en verstoken van alle levenslust. Neen, dit is muziek op zijn donkerst en verdomme subliem ook!

De tweede kant (of vanaf Sleep Don’t Talk op de cd) klinkt volslagen anders, ook al moet je geen polonaise verwachten. Wellicht zal Sheffield er voor iets tussen zitten, maar de rest van de songs is industrial, weliswaar toegankelijk en lichtjes te vergelijken met de begindagen van Cabaret Voltaire. Het is inderdaad net alsof je naar twee verschillende platen luistert, maar door de donkere sfeer past alles toch mooi bij elkaar. Op de heruitgave vind je ook drie onuitgebrachte tracks (Superstition, Amsterdam en de originele versie van Hafunkiddies). We hebben maar één woord om af te ronden: kopen!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DAYLIGHT • One More Fight
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
ANDY OPPENHEIMER • Andy Oppenheimer on Bowie
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + POST PUNK
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
DAGEIST • 40
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
THE SOFT MOON • Deeper
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Deadfall Artist/Band Management: The Dark Secret Compilation Volume 3
HOT GUTS • Wilds
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus