tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : V.E.X. + HANTE - JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

V.E.X. + HANTE

JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Concert
ExperimentalMinimalSynth PunkSynth Wave 11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

JH Wommel is often the place for synth driven and minimal gigs. Today Waveteef and Die Blind Records invited two bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax) and the French (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X. is Roxy Monoxide and LuLu Gamma Ray. They opened the dance around ten o' clock with a mix of synthpunk, experimental, minimal and noisy sounds. Their appearance attracted attention, and hell broke loose when they started using the machinery. You can't argue on taste, but this melting pot of noise, sounds and melody was weird, and it took a lot of effort to survive the vocal performances of the two band members. But as I said: taste may differ.

So, we counted the minutes and waited for Hélène De Thoury. Hante has just released the new EP No Hard Feelings and we were excited to hear the new material. Hélène does it all on her own. At Wave and Gotik Treffen she played at the Altes Stadtbad. I wondered what she had in mind for Wommel. She opened with two songs from her latest full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs. Love and My Destruction. Her pretty deep and dark voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. The audience immediately responded and danced.

And then, for the first time live, the first song from the new EP No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Stylistically very recognizable: dark, melodic and catchy. The voice of an angel, gloomy and heavenly. The new EP was welcomed warmly.
With One More Dance and The Storm, Hante returns to Her Fall And Rise, the first album. Later in the set, the doomy song Noir and Quiet Violence of the new EP followed.

After 11 songs she played Damages, Hélène told us that this was the first song she wrote for Hante.

It was a delicate performance. Hante is not big in stature, but she's a great lady in the genre. You feel the passion, with catchy rhythms and superb melodies, her voice is made for it. I was already a fan, and it was confirmed in Wommel. Up to the next time!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

JH Wommel is regelmatig the place to be voor synthgedreven en minimal optredens. Waveteef en Die Blinden Records speelden gastheer voor twee bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax ) en de Franse (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X., bestaat uit Roxy Monoxide en LuLu Gamma Ray. Ze openden de dans om 22.15 uur met een mix van synthpunk, experimental, minimal en vlagen van noisy geluiden. Hun verschijning trok meteen de aandacht, maar de hel brak pas echt los toen de machinerie werd beroerd. Over smaak en kleur valt niet te twisten, maar je moest volharden om de vrij experimentele sound met schreeuwerige vocalen de baas te kunnen. Er was sprake van diversiteit qua, maar op mij maakte het een vrij rommelige indruk en de vocale prestaties van beide bandleden die om beurt de micro hanteerden, waren niet echt van een hoog niveau.

Dan maar de minuten aftellen voor Hélène De Thoury. Hante releaste net de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings waarover alleen maar lof te rapen valt. Ze doet het allemaal op haar eentje. Op Wave and Gotik Treffen bracht ze een zeer overtuigende set in het Altes Stadtbad, benieuwd hoe ze het in Wommel zou doen. Ze opende met twee songs van haar laatste full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs Love en My Destruction. Haar vrij diepe en donkere stem matcht perfect met de synths en drummachines. Ze pakte meteen het publiek in.

En dan, voor het eerst live, een eerste song uit de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Qua stijl heel herkenbaar: donker, melodieus en pakkend. De stem van een engel, maar somber en hemels. Aan de reactie van het publiek was duidelijk te merken dat de nieuwe ep warm werd ontvangen. Met One more Dance en het bekende The Storm grijpt Hante terug naar Her Fall And Rise, het eerste album. Later in de set volgden nog het diepe Noir en Quiet Violence uit de nieuwe ep.

Na 11 tracks vroeg en kreeg het publiek de toegift Damages, waarvan Hante vertelde dat dit de eerste song was die ze schreef voor Hante.

Het was een gevoelig optreden en het begeesterde. Hante is qua gestalte niet groot, maar het is een grote dame in een genre dat ze perfect beheerst. Je voelt de passie: het wordt goed gebracht, zonder tierlantijntjes. De aanstekelijke ritmes en melodieën, de stem die voor het genre is gemaakt, meer heeft ze niet nodig. Ik was al een fan en dat werd nu alleen maar bevestigd. Aftellen tot de volgende keer!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
STACIAN • Person L
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)