tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : V.E.X. + HANTE - JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

V.E.X. + HANTE

JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Concert
ExperimentalMinimalSynth PunkSynth Wave 11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

JH Wommel is often the place for synth driven and minimal gigs. Today Waveteef and Die Blind Records invited two bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax) and the French (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X. is Roxy Monoxide and LuLu Gamma Ray. They opened the dance around ten o' clock with a mix of synthpunk, experimental, minimal and noisy sounds. Their appearance attracted attention, and hell broke loose when they started using the machinery. You can't argue on taste, but this melting pot of noise, sounds and melody was weird, and it took a lot of effort to survive the vocal performances of the two band members. But as I said: taste may differ.

So, we counted the minutes and waited for Hélène De Thoury. Hante has just released the new EP No Hard Feelings and we were excited to hear the new material. Hélène does it all on her own. At Wave and Gotik Treffen she played at the Altes Stadtbad. I wondered what she had in mind for Wommel. She opened with two songs from her latest full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs. Love and My Destruction. Her pretty deep and dark voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. The audience immediately responded and danced.

And then, for the first time live, the first song from the new EP No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Stylistically very recognizable: dark, melodic and catchy. The voice of an angel, gloomy and heavenly. The new EP was welcomed warmly.
With One More Dance and The Storm, Hante returns to Her Fall And Rise, the first album. Later in the set, the doomy song Noir and Quiet Violence of the new EP followed.

After 11 songs she played Damages, Hélène told us that this was the first song she wrote for Hante.

It was a delicate performance. Hante is not big in stature, but she's a great lady in the genre. You feel the passion, with catchy rhythms and superb melodies, her voice is made for it. I was already a fan, and it was confirmed in Wommel. Up to the next time!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

JH Wommel is regelmatig the place to be voor synthgedreven en minimal optredens. Waveteef en Die Blinden Records speelden gastheer voor twee bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax ) en de Franse (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X., bestaat uit Roxy Monoxide en LuLu Gamma Ray. Ze openden de dans om 22.15 uur met een mix van synthpunk, experimental, minimal en vlagen van noisy geluiden. Hun verschijning trok meteen de aandacht, maar de hel brak pas echt los toen de machinerie werd beroerd. Over smaak en kleur valt niet te twisten, maar je moest volharden om de vrij experimentele sound met schreeuwerige vocalen de baas te kunnen. Er was sprake van diversiteit qua, maar op mij maakte het een vrij rommelige indruk en de vocale prestaties van beide bandleden die om beurt de micro hanteerden, waren niet echt van een hoog niveau.

Dan maar de minuten aftellen voor Hélène De Thoury. Hante releaste net de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings waarover alleen maar lof te rapen valt. Ze doet het allemaal op haar eentje. Op Wave and Gotik Treffen bracht ze een zeer overtuigende set in het Altes Stadtbad, benieuwd hoe ze het in Wommel zou doen. Ze opende met twee songs van haar laatste full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs Love en My Destruction. Haar vrij diepe en donkere stem matcht perfect met de synths en drummachines. Ze pakte meteen het publiek in.

En dan, voor het eerst live, een eerste song uit de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Qua stijl heel herkenbaar: donker, melodieus en pakkend. De stem van een engel, maar somber en hemels. Aan de reactie van het publiek was duidelijk te merken dat de nieuwe ep warm werd ontvangen. Met One more Dance en het bekende The Storm grijpt Hante terug naar Her Fall And Rise, het eerste album. Later in de set volgden nog het diepe Noir en Quiet Violence uit de nieuwe ep.

Na 11 tracks vroeg en kreeg het publiek de toegift Damages, waarvan Hante vertelde dat dit de eerste song was die ze schreef voor Hante.

Het was een gevoelig optreden en het begeesterde. Hante is qua gestalte niet groot, maar het is een grote dame in een genre dat ze perfect beheerst. Je voelt de passie: het wordt goed gebracht, zonder tierlantijntjes. De aanstekelijke ritmes en melodieën, de stem die voor het genre is gemaakt, meer heeft ze niet nodig. Ik was al een fan en dat werd nu alleen maar bevestigd. Aftellen tot de volgende keer!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked