tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : V.E.X. + HANTE - JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

V.E.X. + HANTE

JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Concert
ExperimentalMinimalSynth PunkSynth Wave 11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

JH Wommel is often the place for synth driven and minimal gigs. Today Waveteef and Die Blind Records invited two bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax) and the French (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X. is Roxy Monoxide and LuLu Gamma Ray. They opened the dance around ten o' clock with a mix of synthpunk, experimental, minimal and noisy sounds. Their appearance attracted attention, and hell broke loose when they started using the machinery. You can't argue on taste, but this melting pot of noise, sounds and melody was weird, and it took a lot of effort to survive the vocal performances of the two band members. But as I said: taste may differ.

So, we counted the minutes and waited for Hélène De Thoury. Hante has just released the new EP No Hard Feelings and we were excited to hear the new material. Hélène does it all on her own. At Wave and Gotik Treffen she played at the Altes Stadtbad. I wondered what she had in mind for Wommel. She opened with two songs from her latest full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs. Love and My Destruction. Her pretty deep and dark voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. The audience immediately responded and danced.

And then, for the first time live, the first song from the new EP No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Stylistically very recognizable: dark, melodic and catchy. The voice of an angel, gloomy and heavenly. The new EP was welcomed warmly.
With One More Dance and The Storm, Hante returns to Her Fall And Rise, the first album. Later in the set, the doomy song Noir and Quiet Violence of the new EP followed.

After 11 songs she played Damages, Hélène told us that this was the first song she wrote for Hante.

It was a delicate performance. Hante is not big in stature, but she's a great lady in the genre. You feel the passion, with catchy rhythms and superb melodies, her voice is made for it. I was already a fan, and it was confirmed in Wommel. Up to the next time!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

JH Wommel is regelmatig the place to be voor synthgedreven en minimal optredens. Waveteef en Die Blinden Records speelden gastheer voor twee bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax ) en de Franse (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X., bestaat uit Roxy Monoxide en LuLu Gamma Ray. Ze openden de dans om 22.15 uur met een mix van synthpunk, experimental, minimal en vlagen van noisy geluiden. Hun verschijning trok meteen de aandacht, maar de hel brak pas echt los toen de machinerie werd beroerd. Over smaak en kleur valt niet te twisten, maar je moest volharden om de vrij experimentele sound met schreeuwerige vocalen de baas te kunnen. Er was sprake van diversiteit qua, maar op mij maakte het een vrij rommelige indruk en de vocale prestaties van beide bandleden die om beurt de micro hanteerden, waren niet echt van een hoog niveau.

Dan maar de minuten aftellen voor Hélène De Thoury. Hante releaste net de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings waarover alleen maar lof te rapen valt. Ze doet het allemaal op haar eentje. Op Wave and Gotik Treffen bracht ze een zeer overtuigende set in het Altes Stadtbad, benieuwd hoe ze het in Wommel zou doen. Ze opende met twee songs van haar laatste full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs Love en My Destruction. Haar vrij diepe en donkere stem matcht perfect met de synths en drummachines. Ze pakte meteen het publiek in.

En dan, voor het eerst live, een eerste song uit de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Qua stijl heel herkenbaar: donker, melodieus en pakkend. De stem van een engel, maar somber en hemels. Aan de reactie van het publiek was duidelijk te merken dat de nieuwe ep warm werd ontvangen. Met One more Dance en het bekende The Storm grijpt Hante terug naar Her Fall And Rise, het eerste album. Later in de set volgden nog het diepe Noir en Quiet Violence uit de nieuwe ep.

Na 11 tracks vroeg en kreeg het publiek de toegift Damages, waarvan Hante vertelde dat dit de eerste song was die ze schreef voor Hante.

Het was een gevoelig optreden en het begeesterde. Hante is qua gestalte niet groot, maar het is een grote dame in een genre dat ze perfect beheerst. Je voelt de passie: het wordt goed gebracht, zonder tierlantijntjes. De aanstekelijke ritmes en melodieën, de stem die voor het genre is gemaakt, meer heeft ze niet nodig. Ik was al een fan en dat werd nu alleen maar bevestigd. Aftellen tot de volgende keer!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD • SSS
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover