tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : V.E.X. + HANTE - JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

V.E.X. + HANTE

JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Concert
ExperimentalMinimalSynth PunkSynth Wave 11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

JH Wommel is often the place for synth driven and minimal gigs. Today Waveteef and Die Blind Records invited two bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax) and the French (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X. is Roxy Monoxide and LuLu Gamma Ray. They opened the dance around ten o' clock with a mix of synthpunk, experimental, minimal and noisy sounds. Their appearance attracted attention, and hell broke loose when they started using the machinery. You can't argue on taste, but this melting pot of noise, sounds and melody was weird, and it took a lot of effort to survive the vocal performances of the two band members. But as I said: taste may differ.

So, we counted the minutes and waited for Hélène De Thoury. Hante has just released the new EP No Hard Feelings and we were excited to hear the new material. Hélène does it all on her own. At Wave and Gotik Treffen she played at the Altes Stadtbad. I wondered what she had in mind for Wommel. She opened with two songs from her latest full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs. Love and My Destruction. Her pretty deep and dark voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. The audience immediately responded and danced.

And then, for the first time live, the first song from the new EP No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Stylistically very recognizable: dark, melodic and catchy. The voice of an angel, gloomy and heavenly. The new EP was welcomed warmly.
With One More Dance and The Storm, Hante returns to Her Fall And Rise, the first album. Later in the set, the doomy song Noir and Quiet Violence of the new EP followed.

After 11 songs she played Damages, Hélène told us that this was the first song she wrote for Hante.

It was a delicate performance. Hante is not big in stature, but she's a great lady in the genre. You feel the passion, with catchy rhythms and superb melodies, her voice is made for it. I was already a fan, and it was confirmed in Wommel. Up to the next time!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

JH Wommel is regelmatig the place to be voor synthgedreven en minimal optredens. Waveteef en Die Blinden Records speelden gastheer voor twee bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax ) en de Franse (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X., bestaat uit Roxy Monoxide en LuLu Gamma Ray. Ze openden de dans om 22.15 uur met een mix van synthpunk, experimental, minimal en vlagen van noisy geluiden. Hun verschijning trok meteen de aandacht, maar de hel brak pas echt los toen de machinerie werd beroerd. Over smaak en kleur valt niet te twisten, maar je moest volharden om de vrij experimentele sound met schreeuwerige vocalen de baas te kunnen. Er was sprake van diversiteit qua, maar op mij maakte het een vrij rommelige indruk en de vocale prestaties van beide bandleden die om beurt de micro hanteerden, waren niet echt van een hoog niveau.

Dan maar de minuten aftellen voor Hélène De Thoury. Hante releaste net de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings waarover alleen maar lof te rapen valt. Ze doet het allemaal op haar eentje. Op Wave and Gotik Treffen bracht ze een zeer overtuigende set in het Altes Stadtbad, benieuwd hoe ze het in Wommel zou doen. Ze opende met twee songs van haar laatste full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs Love en My Destruction. Haar vrij diepe en donkere stem matcht perfect met de synths en drummachines. Ze pakte meteen het publiek in.

En dan, voor het eerst live, een eerste song uit de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Qua stijl heel herkenbaar: donker, melodieus en pakkend. De stem van een engel, maar somber en hemels. Aan de reactie van het publiek was duidelijk te merken dat de nieuwe ep warm werd ontvangen. Met One more Dance en het bekende The Storm grijpt Hante terug naar Her Fall And Rise, het eerste album. Later in de set volgden nog het diepe Noir en Quiet Violence uit de nieuwe ep.

Na 11 tracks vroeg en kreeg het publiek de toegift Damages, waarvan Hante vertelde dat dit de eerste song was die ze schreef voor Hante.

Het was een gevoelig optreden en het begeesterde. Hante is qua gestalte niet groot, maar het is een grote dame in een genre dat ze perfect beheerst. Je voelt de passie: het wordt goed gebracht, zonder tierlantijntjes. De aanstekelijke ritmes en melodieën, de stem die voor het genre is gemaakt, meer heeft ze niet nodig. Ik was al een fan en dat werd nu alleen maar bevestigd. Aftellen tot de volgende keer!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring