tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : V.E.X. + HANTE - JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

V.E.X. + HANTE

JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

Concert
ExperimentalMinimalSynth PunkSynth Wave 11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

JH Wommel is often the place for synth driven and minimal gigs. Today Waveteef and Die Blind Records invited two bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax) and the French (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X. is Roxy Monoxide and LuLu Gamma Ray. They opened the dance around ten o' clock with a mix of synthpunk, experimental, minimal and noisy sounds. Their appearance attracted attention, and hell broke loose when they started using the machinery. You can't argue on taste, but this melting pot of noise, sounds and melody was weird, and it took a lot of effort to survive the vocal performances of the two band members. But as I said: taste may differ.

So, we counted the minutes and waited for Hélène De Thoury. Hante has just released the new EP No Hard Feelings and we were excited to hear the new material. Hélène does it all on her own. At Wave and Gotik Treffen she played at the Altes Stadtbad. I wondered what she had in mind for Wommel. She opened with two songs from her latest full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs. Love and My Destruction. Her pretty deep and dark voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. The audience immediately responded and danced.

And then, for the first time live, the first song from the new EP No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Stylistically very recognizable: dark, melodic and catchy. The voice of an angel, gloomy and heavenly. The new EP was welcomed warmly.
With One More Dance and The Storm, Hante returns to Her Fall And Rise, the first album. Later in the set, the doomy song Noir and Quiet Violence of the new EP followed.

After 11 songs she played Damages, Hélène told us that this was the first song she wrote for Hante.

It was a delicate performance. Hante is not big in stature, but she's a great lady in the genre. You feel the passion, with catchy rhythms and superb melodies, her voice is made for it. I was already a fan, and it was confirmed in Wommel. Up to the next time!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

JH Wommel is regelmatig the place to be voor synthgedreven en minimal optredens. Waveteef en Die Blinden Records speelden gastheer voor twee bands: V.E.X. (Ventriloquest Ectoplasmold Xanaxax ) en de Franse (ex-Minuit Machine) Hante.

V.E.X., bestaat uit Roxy Monoxide en LuLu Gamma Ray. Ze openden de dans om 22.15 uur met een mix van synthpunk, experimental, minimal en vlagen van noisy geluiden. Hun verschijning trok meteen de aandacht, maar de hel brak pas echt los toen de machinerie werd beroerd. Over smaak en kleur valt niet te twisten, maar je moest volharden om de vrij experimentele sound met schreeuwerige vocalen de baas te kunnen. Er was sprake van diversiteit qua, maar op mij maakte het een vrij rommelige indruk en de vocale prestaties van beide bandleden die om beurt de micro hanteerden, waren niet echt van een hoog niveau.

Dan maar de minuten aftellen voor Hélène De Thoury. Hante releaste net de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings waarover alleen maar lof te rapen valt. Ze doet het allemaal op haar eentje. Op Wave and Gotik Treffen bracht ze een zeer overtuigende set in het Altes Stadtbad, benieuwd hoe ze het in Wommel zou doen. Ze opende met twee songs van haar laatste full album The Fog That Never Ends: Hate vs Love en My Destruction. Haar vrij diepe en donkere stem matcht perfect met de synths en drummachines. Ze pakte meteen het publiek in.

En dan, voor het eerst live, een eerste song uit de nieuwe ep No Hard Feelings: Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi. Qua stijl heel herkenbaar: donker, melodieus en pakkend. De stem van een engel, maar somber en hemels. Aan de reactie van het publiek was duidelijk te merken dat de nieuwe ep warm werd ontvangen. Met One more Dance en het bekende The Storm grijpt Hante terug naar Her Fall And Rise, het eerste album. Later in de set volgden nog het diepe Noir en Quiet Violence uit de nieuwe ep.

Na 11 tracks vroeg en kreeg het publiek de toegift Damages, waarvan Hante vertelde dat dit de eerste song was die ze schreef voor Hante.

Het was een gevoelig optreden en het begeesterde. Hante is qua gestalte niet groot, maar het is een grote dame in een genre dat ze perfect beheerst. Je voelt de passie: het wordt goed gebracht, zonder tierlantijntjes. De aanstekelijke ritmes en melodieën, de stem die voor het genre is gemaakt, meer heeft ze niet nodig. Ik was al een fan en dat werd nu alleen maar bevestigd. Aftellen tot de volgende keer!

Setlist Hante:
1. Hate vs Love
2. My Destruction
3. Une Nuit Avec Mon Ennemi
4. One More Dance
5. The Storm
6. Infinite Particles of Us
7. Noir
8. Living in a French Movie
9. Il n'y a qu'un Pas
10. In Cold Water
11. Quiet Violence

Encore: Damages

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag