tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VAGUE - In The Meantime

VAGUE

In The Meantime

MusicCD
Indie

[84/100]   

Siluh Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Do you still associate Vienna with Mozart pralines and coffee houses, and not with indie rock? Maybe the Austrian quintet Vague can change this with its debut In The Meantime.

You can’t think of a better start than Vacation: a beautiful indie song that brings you back to the days when The Church released its majestic Starfish. Brilliant! On Death Of Ivan you notice again how Gabriel Hyden’s voice is similar to the one of Steve Kilbey, and if you add the overwhelming bass by Juan Marhl, then musical fireworks is the result.

Sweet Stranger is so intensely beautiful that you feel the sadness after the very first seconds. The melancholic love songs Comeback and Park also refer to the '80s, at least if you remember The Felt. If you do, then you know exactly what we mean. If Alan McGee would still manage Creation today, we’re sure he would get in touch with the Austrians!

Not that Vague only makes sugar-sweet indie pop, Untitled sounds psychedelic... even a bit dirty. But look, just when we thought we had no other eighties band to come up with, Head pops out of the speakers. Did we mention Creation earlier? Well, this track could have been on the legendary Flying Nun. New Zealand indie pop made in Vienna! You Know It's There impresses too, melancholy indie rock that’ll move you to tears.

You've probably never heard of them before, but In The Meantime deserves your attention.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn