tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VAGUE - In The Meantime

VAGUE

In The Meantime

MusicCD
Indie

[84/100]   

Siluh Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Do you still associate Vienna with Mozart pralines and coffee houses, and not with indie rock? Maybe the Austrian quintet Vague can change this with its debut In The Meantime.

You can’t think of a better start than Vacation: a beautiful indie song that brings you back to the days when The Church released its majestic Starfish. Brilliant! On Death Of Ivan you notice again how Gabriel Hyden’s voice is similar to the one of Steve Kilbey, and if you add the overwhelming bass by Juan Marhl, then musical fireworks is the result.

Sweet Stranger is so intensely beautiful that you feel the sadness after the very first seconds. The melancholic love songs Comeback and Park also refer to the '80s, at least if you remember The Felt. If you do, then you know exactly what we mean. If Alan McGee would still manage Creation today, we’re sure he would get in touch with the Austrians!

Not that Vague only makes sugar-sweet indie pop, Untitled sounds psychedelic... even a bit dirty. But look, just when we thought we had no other eighties band to come up with, Head pops out of the speakers. Did we mention Creation earlier? Well, this track could have been on the legendary Flying Nun. New Zealand indie pop made in Vienna! You Know It's There impresses too, melancholy indie rock that’ll move you to tears.

You've probably never heard of them before, but In The Meantime deserves your attention.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me