tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life

VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS)

Ten Records That Changed My Life

Article
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Valerio Lovecchio is both label boss and musician. These are his favourite ten records of all time. Valerio is guitarist of Yabanci, and also the owner of Swiss Dark Knights one of the finest indie labels (Ash Code, Geometric Vision, Double Echo,…) of today.

1. COCTEAU TWINS – Garlands

The first time I heard this on cassette format, I decided to steal it from my friend's car (we had our own music club in late 80s – early 90s). In a few weeks the tape was completely ruined and I had to purchase my own copy.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always
I have memories of No Time To Cry coming from an italian TV show, probably some kind of broadcast. I was very young, but never forgot the tune. Later, when I bought my own copy, I read “digitally remastered” and what I heard was incoherent with my memories. That's why I think that some albums should sound as originally released. It doesn’t matter if they are vinyl pressed or CD mastered.

3. AND ALSO THE TREES - The Millpond Years
Also The Trees made my days. I've always found Justin Jones' technique a pillar for wave fans embracing guitars. His arpeggios are amazing.

4. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Dawnrazor
That's THE rock album. Wright bros changed my point of view on music. If you surf on YouTube, you find a demo version of Secrets, later included in “Genesis and Revelation”. In my opinion this masterpiece has the best lineup in the goth rock scene.

5. LAST RITES - The Many Forms
Again Wright bros. along with Guided by Light. The Many Forms is a must have. This band deserved more fortune and more chances to show its potential.

6. THE CURE – Pornography
I'm not a proper Cure fan. There's something in the band's late pop-drift that I didn't like, but Pornography is a true dark wave peak.

7. OPENED PARADISE – Tides
This is a great EP from a Greek talented goth rock band. 2016 will bring us a new release, keep an eye on it.

8. THE EDEN HOUSE - Smoke and Mirrors.
Too many great artists on a dense and complete album: Evi Vine, Tony Pettitt, Stephen Carey, Nod Wright, Peter Yates, Monica Richards…

9. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams.
I was in my cyberpunk years when I learned about coding and working with 3D. Dick, Sterling and especially Gibson became my favorite authors. Buried Dreams and Man Amplified were the soundtrack of days and nights facing wireframes and fake green monitors.

10. GEOMETRIC VISION - Dream.
This should have been Joy Division's place and probably I would have mentioned Closer. But Dream is a banner to me, pointing the moment I started pressing bands from Napoli, GV, Ash Code and Hapax (and more to come, yes). So, all glory to the new music!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Valerio Lovecchio is zowel labelbaas als muzikant. De gitarist van Yabancı is de eigenaar van het befaamde label Swiss Dark Nights dat onlangs fijne platen uitbracht van bands als Ash Code, Geometric Vision en Double Echo. Hier zijn de tien platen van Valerio!

1. COCTEAU TWINS – Garlands
De eerste keer dat ik Garlands hoorde was op een cassette. Ik besloot om de tape uit de auto van mijn vriend te pikken (we hadden samen onze muziekclub in de late jaren 80 - begin jaren 90). In enkele weken tijd werd de tape zo veel gedraaid, dat ik uiteindelijk mijn eigen exemplaar moest kopen.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always
Ik herinner mij dat ik voor het eerst No Time To Cry in een Italiaanse tv-show zag. Ik was toen nog erg jong, maar ik ben dat geluid nooit vergeten. Later kocht ik mijn exemplaar en las ik op de hoes de woorden 'digitaal geremasterd”. Wat ik hoorde klonk helemaal niet zoals het geluid van mijn herinneringen. Daarom denk ik dat de meeste albums in hun oorspronkelijke vorm moeten worden uitgebracht. Het maakt niet uit of dat op vinyl of cd is.

3. AND ALSO THE TREES - The Millpond Years
And Also The Trees, dat was het! Ik heb altijd de gitaartechniek van Justin Jones bewonderd. Zijn arpeggio's zijn geweldig.

4. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Dawnrazor
Dit is HET rockalbum. De broertjes Wright hebben echt mijn standpunt over muziek veranderd. Op YouTube kan je een demoversie van Secrets beluisteren die later werd opgenomen, en die je op Genesis And Revelation kan vinden. Naar mijn mening is dit een meesterwerk, het is de beste line-up in de gothicrockscène.

5. LAST RITES - The Many Forms
Weeral de gebroeders Wright !. Samen met Guided By Light, is The Many Forms een must. Deze band verdiende meer geluk en meer kansen om zijn potentieel te tonen.

6. THE CURE – Pornography
Ik ben geen echte Cure-fan. Ze hebben een poppy trekje dat ik niet graag hoorb, maar Pornography is echt wel een piek in de duistere muziek.

7. OPENED PARADISE – Tides
Dit is een geweldige ep van een Griekse gothrockband met veel talent. In 2016 brengen ze een nieuwe release uit, echt iets om in de gaten te houden!

8. THE EDEN HOUSE - Smoke and Mirrors.
In deze compacte plaat tref je echt te veel grote kunstenaars aan: Evi Vine, Tony Pettitt, Stephen Carey, Nod Wright, Peter Yates, Monica Richards...

9. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams.
Toen ik met 3D bezig was, zat ik echt in een cyberpunkperiode. Dick, Sterling en Gibson waren mijn favoriete auteurs. Buried Dreams en Man Amplified waren de soundtrack van dagen en nachten die ik met wireframes en groene monitoren doorbracht.

10. GEOMETRIC VISION - Dream.
Ik weet het, op deze plaats zou er iets van Joy Division moeten staan, waarschijnlijk zou ik voor Closer hebben gekozen. Maar ik ga voor Dream, dit was het moment waarop ik me voor bands uit Napoli begon te interesseren en zo terechtkwam bij Geometric Vision, Ash Code of Hapax. En ja, er komt meer. Dus, laten we ook nieuwe muziek in de kijker zetten!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty