tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life

VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS)

Ten Records That Changed My Life

Article
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Valerio Lovecchio is both label boss and musician. These are his favourite ten records of all time. Valerio is guitarist of Yabanci, and also the owner of Swiss Dark Knights one of the finest indie labels (Ash Code, Geometric Vision, Double Echo,…) of today.

1. COCTEAU TWINS – Garlands

The first time I heard this on cassette format, I decided to steal it from my friend's car (we had our own music club in late 80s – early 90s). In a few weeks the tape was completely ruined and I had to purchase my own copy.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always
I have memories of No Time To Cry coming from an italian TV show, probably some kind of broadcast. I was very young, but never forgot the tune. Later, when I bought my own copy, I read “digitally remastered” and what I heard was incoherent with my memories. That's why I think that some albums should sound as originally released. It doesn’t matter if they are vinyl pressed or CD mastered.

3. AND ALSO THE TREES - The Millpond Years
Also The Trees made my days. I've always found Justin Jones' technique a pillar for wave fans embracing guitars. His arpeggios are amazing.

4. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Dawnrazor
That's THE rock album. Wright bros changed my point of view on music. If you surf on YouTube, you find a demo version of Secrets, later included in “Genesis and Revelation”. In my opinion this masterpiece has the best lineup in the goth rock scene.

5. LAST RITES - The Many Forms
Again Wright bros. along with Guided by Light. The Many Forms is a must have. This band deserved more fortune and more chances to show its potential.

6. THE CURE – Pornography
I'm not a proper Cure fan. There's something in the band's late pop-drift that I didn't like, but Pornography is a true dark wave peak.

7. OPENED PARADISE – Tides
This is a great EP from a Greek talented goth rock band. 2016 will bring us a new release, keep an eye on it.

8. THE EDEN HOUSE - Smoke and Mirrors.
Too many great artists on a dense and complete album: Evi Vine, Tony Pettitt, Stephen Carey, Nod Wright, Peter Yates, Monica Richards…

9. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams.
I was in my cyberpunk years when I learned about coding and working with 3D. Dick, Sterling and especially Gibson became my favorite authors. Buried Dreams and Man Amplified were the soundtrack of days and nights facing wireframes and fake green monitors.

10. GEOMETRIC VISION - Dream.
This should have been Joy Division's place and probably I would have mentioned Closer. But Dream is a banner to me, pointing the moment I started pressing bands from Napoli, GV, Ash Code and Hapax (and more to come, yes). So, all glory to the new music!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Valerio Lovecchio is zowel labelbaas als muzikant. De gitarist van Yabancı is de eigenaar van het befaamde label Swiss Dark Nights dat onlangs fijne platen uitbracht van bands als Ash Code, Geometric Vision en Double Echo. Hier zijn de tien platen van Valerio!

1. COCTEAU TWINS – Garlands
De eerste keer dat ik Garlands hoorde was op een cassette. Ik besloot om de tape uit de auto van mijn vriend te pikken (we hadden samen onze muziekclub in de late jaren 80 - begin jaren 90). In enkele weken tijd werd de tape zo veel gedraaid, dat ik uiteindelijk mijn eigen exemplaar moest kopen.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always
Ik herinner mij dat ik voor het eerst No Time To Cry in een Italiaanse tv-show zag. Ik was toen nog erg jong, maar ik ben dat geluid nooit vergeten. Later kocht ik mijn exemplaar en las ik op de hoes de woorden 'digitaal geremasterd”. Wat ik hoorde klonk helemaal niet zoals het geluid van mijn herinneringen. Daarom denk ik dat de meeste albums in hun oorspronkelijke vorm moeten worden uitgebracht. Het maakt niet uit of dat op vinyl of cd is.

3. AND ALSO THE TREES - The Millpond Years
And Also The Trees, dat was het! Ik heb altijd de gitaartechniek van Justin Jones bewonderd. Zijn arpeggio's zijn geweldig.

4. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Dawnrazor
Dit is HET rockalbum. De broertjes Wright hebben echt mijn standpunt over muziek veranderd. Op YouTube kan je een demoversie van Secrets beluisteren die later werd opgenomen, en die je op Genesis And Revelation kan vinden. Naar mijn mening is dit een meesterwerk, het is de beste line-up in de gothicrockscène.

5. LAST RITES - The Many Forms
Weeral de gebroeders Wright !. Samen met Guided By Light, is The Many Forms een must. Deze band verdiende meer geluk en meer kansen om zijn potentieel te tonen.

6. THE CURE – Pornography
Ik ben geen echte Cure-fan. Ze hebben een poppy trekje dat ik niet graag hoorb, maar Pornography is echt wel een piek in de duistere muziek.

7. OPENED PARADISE – Tides
Dit is een geweldige ep van een Griekse gothrockband met veel talent. In 2016 brengen ze een nieuwe release uit, echt iets om in de gaten te houden!

8. THE EDEN HOUSE - Smoke and Mirrors.
In deze compacte plaat tref je echt te veel grote kunstenaars aan: Evi Vine, Tony Pettitt, Stephen Carey, Nod Wright, Peter Yates, Monica Richards...

9. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams.
Toen ik met 3D bezig was, zat ik echt in een cyberpunkperiode. Dick, Sterling en Gibson waren mijn favoriete auteurs. Buried Dreams en Man Amplified waren de soundtrack van dagen en nachten die ik met wireframes en groene monitoren doorbracht.

10. GEOMETRIC VISION - Dream.
Ik weet het, op deze plaats zou er iets van Joy Division moeten staan, waarschijnlijk zou ik voor Closer hebben gekozen. Maar ik ga voor Dream, dit was het moment waarop ik me voor bands uit Napoli begon te interesseren en zo terechtkwam bij Geometric Vision, Ash Code of Hapax. En ja, er komt meer. Dus, laten we ook nieuwe muziek in de kijker zetten!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face