tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life

VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS)

Ten Records That Changed My Life

Article
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Valerio Lovecchio is both label boss and musician. These are his favourite ten records of all time. Valerio is guitarist of Yabanci, and also the owner of Swiss Dark Knights one of the finest indie labels (Ash Code, Geometric Vision, Double Echo,…) of today.

1. COCTEAU TWINS – Garlands

The first time I heard this on cassette format, I decided to steal it from my friend's car (we had our own music club in late 80s – early 90s). In a few weeks the tape was completely ruined and I had to purchase my own copy.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always
I have memories of No Time To Cry coming from an italian TV show, probably some kind of broadcast. I was very young, but never forgot the tune. Later, when I bought my own copy, I read “digitally remastered” and what I heard was incoherent with my memories. That's why I think that some albums should sound as originally released. It doesn’t matter if they are vinyl pressed or CD mastered.

3. AND ALSO THE TREES - The Millpond Years
Also The Trees made my days. I've always found Justin Jones' technique a pillar for wave fans embracing guitars. His arpeggios are amazing.

4. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Dawnrazor
That's THE rock album. Wright bros changed my point of view on music. If you surf on YouTube, you find a demo version of Secrets, later included in “Genesis and Revelation”. In my opinion this masterpiece has the best lineup in the goth rock scene.

5. LAST RITES - The Many Forms
Again Wright bros. along with Guided by Light. The Many Forms is a must have. This band deserved more fortune and more chances to show its potential.

6. THE CURE – Pornography
I'm not a proper Cure fan. There's something in the band's late pop-drift that I didn't like, but Pornography is a true dark wave peak.

7. OPENED PARADISE – Tides
This is a great EP from a Greek talented goth rock band. 2016 will bring us a new release, keep an eye on it.

8. THE EDEN HOUSE - Smoke and Mirrors.
Too many great artists on a dense and complete album: Evi Vine, Tony Pettitt, Stephen Carey, Nod Wright, Peter Yates, Monica Richards…

9. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams.
I was in my cyberpunk years when I learned about coding and working with 3D. Dick, Sterling and especially Gibson became my favorite authors. Buried Dreams and Man Amplified were the soundtrack of days and nights facing wireframes and fake green monitors.

10. GEOMETRIC VISION - Dream.
This should have been Joy Division's place and probably I would have mentioned Closer. But Dream is a banner to me, pointing the moment I started pressing bands from Napoli, GV, Ash Code and Hapax (and more to come, yes). So, all glory to the new music!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Valerio Lovecchio is zowel labelbaas als muzikant. De gitarist van Yabancı is de eigenaar van het befaamde label Swiss Dark Nights dat onlangs fijne platen uitbracht van bands als Ash Code, Geometric Vision en Double Echo. Hier zijn de tien platen van Valerio!

1. COCTEAU TWINS – Garlands
De eerste keer dat ik Garlands hoorde was op een cassette. Ik besloot om de tape uit de auto van mijn vriend te pikken (we hadden samen onze muziekclub in de late jaren 80 - begin jaren 90). In enkele weken tijd werd de tape zo veel gedraaid, dat ik uiteindelijk mijn eigen exemplaar moest kopen.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always
Ik herinner mij dat ik voor het eerst No Time To Cry in een Italiaanse tv-show zag. Ik was toen nog erg jong, maar ik ben dat geluid nooit vergeten. Later kocht ik mijn exemplaar en las ik op de hoes de woorden 'digitaal geremasterd”. Wat ik hoorde klonk helemaal niet zoals het geluid van mijn herinneringen. Daarom denk ik dat de meeste albums in hun oorspronkelijke vorm moeten worden uitgebracht. Het maakt niet uit of dat op vinyl of cd is.

3. AND ALSO THE TREES - The Millpond Years
And Also The Trees, dat was het! Ik heb altijd de gitaartechniek van Justin Jones bewonderd. Zijn arpeggio's zijn geweldig.

4. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Dawnrazor
Dit is HET rockalbum. De broertjes Wright hebben echt mijn standpunt over muziek veranderd. Op YouTube kan je een demoversie van Secrets beluisteren die later werd opgenomen, en die je op Genesis And Revelation kan vinden. Naar mijn mening is dit een meesterwerk, het is de beste line-up in de gothicrockscène.

5. LAST RITES - The Many Forms
Weeral de gebroeders Wright !. Samen met Guided By Light, is The Many Forms een must. Deze band verdiende meer geluk en meer kansen om zijn potentieel te tonen.

6. THE CURE – Pornography
Ik ben geen echte Cure-fan. Ze hebben een poppy trekje dat ik niet graag hoorb, maar Pornography is echt wel een piek in de duistere muziek.

7. OPENED PARADISE – Tides
Dit is een geweldige ep van een Griekse gothrockband met veel talent. In 2016 brengen ze een nieuwe release uit, echt iets om in de gaten te houden!

8. THE EDEN HOUSE - Smoke and Mirrors.
In deze compacte plaat tref je echt te veel grote kunstenaars aan: Evi Vine, Tony Pettitt, Stephen Carey, Nod Wright, Peter Yates, Monica Richards...

9. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams.
Toen ik met 3D bezig was, zat ik echt in een cyberpunkperiode. Dick, Sterling en Gibson waren mijn favoriete auteurs. Buried Dreams en Man Amplified waren de soundtrack van dagen en nachten die ik met wireframes en groene monitoren doorbracht.

10. GEOMETRIC VISION - Dream.
Ik weet het, op deze plaats zou er iets van Joy Division moeten staan, waarschijnlijk zou ik voor Closer hebben gekozen. Maar ik ga voor Dream, dit was het moment waarop ik me voor bands uit Napoli begon te interesseren en zo terechtkwam bij Geometric Vision, Ash Code of Hapax. En ja, er komt meer. Dus, laten we ook nieuwe muziek in de kijker zetten!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life 27/01/2016 : VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) - Ten Records That Changed My Life

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart