tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/12/2014 : VARIOUS ARISTS - A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure

VARIOUS ARISTS

A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure

MusicCD
ElectronicsGothicPost PunkSynthpop

[44/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
20/12/2014, Benny CALUWE

The idea for this compilation (Alfa Matrix bands covering some “dark classics”, some poppy radio hits and some rather unknown songs by The Cure) wasn’t bad, but unfortunately the result is poor. Listening to these covers I fully realize what a great singer Robert Smith is. In Lovesong Sebastian Komor succeeds in banishing all the romance with his awful distorted vocals. Cinical Existence’s Lullaby and Avarice In Audio’s Disintegration are also disturbed by the distorted voices. But even with clean voices, bands such as Diffuzion and Halo In Reverse can’t match Smith’s emotions.

The talented Mari Kattman (guest singer on Psy’aviah’s album from the Mari And The Ghost project) did a great melancholic vocal performance on Charlotte Sometimes, but unfortunately for her, Kant Kino didn’t deliver the same high standard. Kant Kino even got a second track on this album, but once again they fail to charm me. Lovelorn Dolls' version of Just Like Heaven and Star Industry’s The Walk are quite enjoyable, but a bit predictable. Aiboforcen feat. Mondtraüme did a great attempt to make something of A Strange Day with dual voices. Personally I am not fond of these voices (I can imagine other people like it), but at least something happens here. There are simply too many tracks on this compilation that lack inspiration. Others are even annoying. Technoir’s The Drowning Man for instance is simply boring.

But luckily you still can find a few good tracks on this disappointing compilation. Helalyn Flowers' version of Burn is nice, mixing guitars with electronics and with a great female voice. Metroland’s Kraftwerkian version of Close To Me with alternating male and female voices is also a winner. And I was surprised by Mari Chrome’s uplifting electronic version of A Forest.

Also Acylum and Plastic Noise Experience are recommendable. They did not really make a cover, but went totally their own way with Trust and Why Can’t I Be You?

Instead of releasing a double CD, Alfa Matrix should have been more selective and release one reasonable disc. Buying this complete compilation is a total waste, but you might visit the Alfa Matrix Bandcamp and purchase a few tracks.

If you want to hear a great cover, I can recommend A forest by Jess Mills (Abby compilation 4.2). Kriegbereit’s EBM-version of that classic is also worth checking out. Or when you like it more organic, you might try the one by Bat For Lashes.

Benny CALUWE
20/12/2014


 

Next reviews
ANNTI JOKINEN • The Resident
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • Despair, Eine Reise ins Licht/Despair, A Voyage into the Light
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
• THE VAMPIRE DIARIES SEASON 5
CALFSKIN • Historyrepeating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Insane 80's
CLINT EASTWOOD • Sudden Impact
NORTHUMBRIA • Bring Down the Sky
SWEET LITTLE MOJO • Sweet Little Mojo
PASCAL CHAUMEIL • A Long Way Down

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)