tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/12/2014 : VARIOUS ARISTS - A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure

VARIOUS ARISTS

A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure

MusicCD
ElectronicsGothicPost PunkSynthpop

[44/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
20/12/2014, Benny CALUWE

The idea for this compilation (Alfa Matrix bands covering some “dark classics”, some poppy radio hits and some rather unknown songs by The Cure) wasn’t bad, but unfortunately the result is poor. Listening to these covers I fully realize what a great singer Robert Smith is. In Lovesong Sebastian Komor succeeds in banishing all the romance with his awful distorted vocals. Cinical Existence’s Lullaby and Avarice In Audio’s Disintegration are also disturbed by the distorted voices. But even with clean voices, bands such as Diffuzion and Halo In Reverse can’t match Smith’s emotions.

The talented Mari Kattman (guest singer on Psy’aviah’s album from the Mari And The Ghost project) did a great melancholic vocal performance on Charlotte Sometimes, but unfortunately for her, Kant Kino didn’t deliver the same high standard. Kant Kino even got a second track on this album, but once again they fail to charm me. Lovelorn Dolls' version of Just Like Heaven and Star Industry’s The Walk are quite enjoyable, but a bit predictable. Aiboforcen feat. Mondtraüme did a great attempt to make something of A Strange Day with dual voices. Personally I am not fond of these voices (I can imagine other people like it), but at least something happens here. There are simply too many tracks on this compilation that lack inspiration. Others are even annoying. Technoir’s The Drowning Man for instance is simply boring.

But luckily you still can find a few good tracks on this disappointing compilation. Helalyn Flowers' version of Burn is nice, mixing guitars with electronics and with a great female voice. Metroland’s Kraftwerkian version of Close To Me with alternating male and female voices is also a winner. And I was surprised by Mari Chrome’s uplifting electronic version of A Forest.

Also Acylum and Plastic Noise Experience are recommendable. They did not really make a cover, but went totally their own way with Trust and Why Can’t I Be You?

Instead of releasing a double CD, Alfa Matrix should have been more selective and release one reasonable disc. Buying this complete compilation is a total waste, but you might visit the Alfa Matrix Bandcamp and purchase a few tracks.

If you want to hear a great cover, I can recommend A forest by Jess Mills (Abby compilation 4.2). Kriegbereit’s EBM-version of that classic is also worth checking out. Or when you like it more organic, you might try the one by Bat For Lashes.

Benny CALUWE
20/12/2014


 

Next reviews
ANNTI JOKINEN • The Resident
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • Despair, Eine Reise ins Licht/Despair, A Voyage into the Light
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
• THE VAMPIRE DIARIES SEASON 5
CALFSKIN • Historyrepeating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Insane 80's
CLINT EASTWOOD • Sudden Impact
NORTHUMBRIA • Bring Down the Sky
SWEET LITTLE MOJO • Sweet Little Mojo
PASCAL CHAUMEIL • A Long Way Down

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline